Google+

Halo Wars review

Back to Article

67 comments

  • Hiimad - September 20, 2009 8:20 a.m.

    Halo Wars got a 7,ive been playing it since launch and still havent really scratched the surface. Its an amazing game, i love it to death. GR has no credibility after this and the catastrophe of the Infamous review.
  • fastrak - August 20, 2009 4:32 p.m.

    40buks?saywhat?Still60atmy local walmart.
  • thatonekid1995 - June 22, 2009 8:11 a.m.

    i never liked RTS games but since halo wars i do now im addicted to this game and all the units Oh for those who say "you can't play as anyone" you're wrong/ when playing Arbiter you get to use his Rage specail which lets you control him in a 3rd personish style. the units are great the skull are awesome and hilarious and the games overall deserves a 9 out of 10 Cons: the fact that most of the units are only used in this game and not any other Halo games.
  • UNSC2009 - May 22, 2009 10:13 p.m.

    I think Halo Wars was a very good game, because it was the second RTS on Xbox 360, so it is a great advancement, what i think Microsoft Should do is to adapt the console for other generes,they should add accesories that adapt the 360 for RTS ands RPGs, Oblivion did a pretty job, but still, Microsoft can improve this, although Sony and Nintendo are damn shit against Microsoft with the 360, Microsoft will soon announce the Portable Xbox a
  • waterwraith2 - March 11, 2009 2:09 a.m.

    I have the game and i thought it was pretty cool. the controls are simple enough so that people who dont even play RTS can get into it. Besides any halo game is awesome.
  • Coolbeans69 - March 9, 2009 11:08 p.m.

    Actually to volrath i got it because it looked pretty fun. When I played it it wasn't as bad as gamesradar said it would be
  • Crossleft501 - March 6, 2009 6 a.m.

    I just got this and its actually a lot better than I thought itd be...they really did a good job in making an RTS work on a console and the story is pretty good too and besides all that its just a whole lot of fun blowin shit up...Id deff recomend it to anyone that likes Halo even if you arent a big fan of RTS's
  • Muchomexicano - March 4, 2009 12:43 a.m.

    The great age of Halo is over by the way just thought you might wanna know
  • Blackbird1156 - February 27, 2009 1:26 a.m.

    I get GI, and it gave Halo Wars a high rating, and i've played the demo many times over, and I really enjoy it. Not to mention you get the Mythic Map Pack with the LE version. Ive already ordered my game, a i am eager to play it.
  • lappy123456 - February 25, 2009 8:34 p.m.

    Trust me ull like it.. i tried the demo.. and i freaked out.. i know i sound like a game fan.. well i am... but this game wont let u down.. truet me.. this one is a big turn around for 360 stradige games.. trust me ull like it....
  • lappy123456 - February 25, 2009 2:04 a.m.

    Anyone here getting the special addition.. Its when u get extra maps and I THINK u get more veoicles and new tec.... idk... iis anyone gettin it????
  • Sebastian16 - February 24, 2009 6:02 a.m.

    This game fucking sucked...
  • drewcconley - February 23, 2009 11:24 p.m.

    i'm a rts + halo fan so i decided to buy the game for the mythic maps.haha. played the demo, not great, but better than nothing. i enjoy strategy games, and with a halo spin, why not? i'm bored of playing WaW already and pretty much waiting for halo ODST and Modern warfare 2. if i can get a decent solid campaign out of this i'll be happy.
  • charley235 - February 23, 2009 9:41 p.m.

    wow theyre criticizing the game controls, i think theyre good, and almost all other game review sights agree
  • noobeater - February 23, 2009 7:43 p.m.

    i played the demo and dont get me wrong halo 3 was a massive let down for me as i loved the first 2. i have played good rts games my favourite being 'rise and fall: civilisations at war' and know they are not good on consoles. however i do think the demo does make it loo worth buying. your right about the not being able to seperate it takes too long to do it but it may be fun with mates and a change from all my shooting games.
  • Sash - February 23, 2009 4:56 p.m.

    The only reason why people are going to buy it not only because of "Halo" it also what comes with the legendary edition. Who wouldn't want the mystic maps or a flame painted warthog? evertyone wants that, so just waste $60 for extras...so stupid, This game is only good for one thing and that is for computers. 1. Buy Game 2. Use Code 3. Return Game 4. Win
  • FriendlyFire - February 22, 2009 6:14 a.m.

    With GameSpot giving this a 6.5, I think my initial feeling has been confirmed. This game is really just milking the name with something pretty generic and lackluster. I hope M$ (and everyone else, for that matters) understands that RTS games belong to the PC, final. But since M$ seemingly wants to kill PC gaming, I'm guessing they'll be pushing again soon...
  • Defguru7777 - February 22, 2009 3:16 a.m.

    Some games I play for fun, and some I play for the story. Halo is one of those games I play for the story. And before anyone calls me a fanboy, go ahead. I really don't give a crap.
  • Akiira - February 21, 2009 9:12 p.m.

    yea red alert 3 sucked
  • Deathic - February 21, 2009 8:08 p.m.

    so i'm a definite huge Command & Conquer fan. have been since the first on PC when it was developed by Westwood. I played the demo for halo wars and it is a total C&C ripoff. I wasnt too impressed with it. It wasnt a bad game, but definitly nothing special. Though i did like it better than the latest C&C Red Alert 3. But that one is the biggest let down of the C&C franchise.

Showing 41-60 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 03 2009 - Xbox 360 (US)
Feb 27 2009 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Strategy
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Ensemble Studios
Franchise: Halo
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Violence, Mild Language, Mild Blood
PEGI Rating:
16+: Violence