Google+

Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary review

Back to Article

45 comments

  • Zepaw - November 14, 2011 12:44 p.m.

    I want this just for another dose of the multiplayer. Won't be as good for me though. I always played Shotguns no shield lobbies on the Mac version.
  • Gibsonsg527 - November 14, 2011 11:22 a.m.

    Great score. I will pick up the game on Christmas, which is about the same time I got the original. Not only will the game be fun but I will also relive the found memories I had playing the original.
  • Subtank - November 14, 2011 11:10 a.m.

    So, essentially an overpriced 10-year old game with a graphics mod... I'll just stick to my PC copy, thank you. Plus, those maps will be available to Reach players sooner than you think.
  • Crabhand - November 19, 2011 3:46 p.m.

    It is only $40, and it's not meant to be a high profile release. It's just a way to acknowledge the tenth anniversary of the reason the Xbox brand even exists.
  • GamesRadarCharlieBarratt - November 14, 2011 10:15 a.m.

    I've corrected the part about Hunters to better reflect my true criticism - their overbearing repetition - and less my obviously hazy memory of Halo's weapon encyclopedia. Apologies for the error!
  • LordZarlon - November 15, 2011 3:49 p.m.

    Your gonna pay Barratt! 8 ain't great. For your sins you must play through Halo Reach again! Bwa ha haha ha hahaha hah ahaha aha ha. Ownage.
  • mothbanquet - November 14, 2011 9:50 a.m.

    Happy with the review score, didn't really expect to be more or less. If anyone missed out on Halo:CE first time around then I'd heartily recommend this. It's still my favourite one of the series.
  • Darkhawk - November 14, 2011 9:20 a.m.

    Rayman review? Rayman review?
  • GAYMER - November 14, 2011 8:48 a.m.

    Wow biased much! How much did Sony pay you to give this game such a terrible score? Gamesradar has no foundation anymore!!! Just kidding, good review Charlie.
  • FOZ - November 14, 2011 8:41 a.m.

    You could never get the Hunters' weapons, and Reach had a similar health system. Halo 1 had the wimpiest hunters of all. One shot to the stomach or kidney with a pistol or sniper and they're gone. But the level design was always horribly repetitive. Every interior of The Control Room is identical, same with 343 Guilty Spark. Even I noticed that when the game came out and I was 12 or so (nobody pretend you weren't playing Halo long before you were 17). Would it have been possible to make an optional mode with assassinations, new weapons thrown in, all that good stuff? I know people who have been modding weapons, textures and enemies into the original Halo for years, but this big remake is just a professionally-developed texture pack?
  • ObliqueZombie - November 14, 2011 8:07 a.m.

    I'm still too busy with Skyrim and school. The only shooter I'll play for a while is my Bounty Hunter in SWTOR come this December. BUT! I asked for this and Battlefield 3 and Modern Warefare 3 for Christmas. I'll get my shooter fix soon enough. Definitely looking forwards to playing this if and when I get it, though.
  • Spybreak8 - November 14, 2011 7:33 a.m.

    Ahh look who's reviewing another Halo game lol.
  • Burdmayn - November 14, 2011 7:15 a.m.

    They changed the "Scooters are for squirts" poster? 0/10 But seriously, this seems like exactly what I expected it to be. My Amazon order already shipped out but I won't be playing the game anytime soon, Asscreed comes first.
  • Mezolitik - November 14, 2011 7:03 a.m.

    The term 'HD re-release' chills me to the bone. While playing old games that have largely been lost to time is great, it just screams 'purchase for the gullible'. It's also £30. That's robbery, considering it's the same game in different clothes. Still, the Halo series is something I've missed out on, so I'd love to give it a go one day.
  • ObliqueZombie - November 14, 2011 8:06 a.m.

    But didn't you read? It's not merely an HD coat of paint--it's a whole overhaul. They didn't just trim the edges, they made entirely new people and places.
  • swagger hound - November 14, 2011 6:56 a.m.

    This was the first fps I ever played on the original xbox, i'm all over this updated version.
  • Hobogonigal - November 14, 2011 6:48 a.m.

    About what I expected for this game. I wasn't too big into Halo when it first released (I had a PS2) but I don't mind Halo 3 so I am slightly tempted to give this a try now.
  • DLSemen - November 14, 2011 6:48 a.m.

    This is the most bullshit review of a game i have EVER read! GO SUCK SONY'S DICK! BITCH!
  • Sjoeki - November 14, 2011 6:48 a.m.

    Halo's getting another 8? I see alot of pissed off comments in the future!
  • Laland - November 14, 2011 6:47 a.m.

    Could we wield the Hunter's weapons in Halo 2, 3 or Reach? I can't remember ever doing that.. Also, I'm a Halo-geek to the bone, so I'm really looking forward to this.

Showing 21-40 of 45 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Franchise: Halo