Google+

Halo 4 review

Excellent
Back to Article

94 comments

  • Divine Paladin - November 5, 2012 12:49 a.m.

    So wait, it's the best Halo yet, and yet it has a lower score than Halo 3? C'mon, don't make bold statements when this very site contradicts your claim. (Also, because I'm sure somebody will, don't try to justify the lower score by saying that reviews have gotten harder, because scores as a whole have been higher than ever in the past few years.)
  • Burdmayn - November 5, 2012 6:47 a.m.

    The difference is in the reviewer, not the site. If Cooper had written the review for Halo 3 AND Halo 4 you might have a valid argument, but you're trying to compare apples to oranges here.
  • Divine Paladin - November 6, 2012 4:16 p.m.

    When they both fall from the same tree, are they really different fruit?
  • GR HollanderCooper - November 5, 2012 2:51 p.m.

    Different reviewer (me!), different time. Reviews haven't gotten harder, standards have.
  • Divine Paladin - November 6, 2012 4:19 p.m.

    I'd argue the second sentence, but aside from my above joke to Burdmayn, I can't disagree with the first.
  • masterjoe123 - November 5, 2012 4:08 p.m.

    I seriously only read this to see if you reviewed it better than Reach. And because you did, here is the obligatory... So you're saying this game is better than Halo Reach?
  • Viron - November 7, 2012 7:18 a.m.

    Too bad Microsoft doesn't sell it on Xbox live because apparently there are no copies left in my half of the frigging State. Just goes to show I pay them money to disappoint me on a monthly basis when I turn on my Xbox.
  • Satchurated - November 9, 2012 7:03 p.m.

    (SPOILER ALERT) Just finished playing through the campaign and it is officially the worst halo campaign ever made. I hate to say it, but 343 industries has helped completely ruin what made halo, halo, period. Even before the game came out, there were a few signs such as the dubstep commercials and the "double xp" program with Mountain Dew and Doritos. It makes Halo seem like it has been completely swallowed by a corporation. In this case, Microsoft is that particular corporation. The game itself has been completely changed from being a sci-fi themed shooter to a sci-fi dominated shooter. In the past games, sci-fi was just a basis for the game, but with the latest installment, the game is completely sci-fi fantasy with many things that make no sense at all with very very little explanation. At least in the previous games, modern human elements were employed to make the game somewhat logical. Now, that is completely removed. Take for example the Prometheans and their weapons like the incineration cannon. The disintegration is probaly the worst thing that could have happened to death animations. If completely takes away the amount of realism that was previously integrated into halo games. Without it, Halo just seems sci-fi. Nothing else. The campaign also annoyed me with how irrelevant your allies are in the game. I cannot remember a shooter relying on one person to make miracles more than Halo 4. It's as if allies are non-existant and it is just Master Chief versus the world. This once again plays into the realism element of the gmae. Although previous halo's had the Master Chief pulling out miracles, at least it did not feel like it was a constant theme. I swear, the only time that you even have an ai ally was so minimal that it didn't feel like anyone else was even there. And after that throw i the fact that 343 decided to ditch Cortana. She was shown sooo much in Halo 4that you'd almost expect her to remain in the game. They pretty much overkilled Cortana with the amount of interaction she had in the game. I mean c'mon, after you guys get found out, you gotta have at least a reasonable amount of communication with the others. Pretty low I gotta say. The campaign also did a terrible job at introducing the weapons. I'm not sure if that's only because I was playing normal mode rather than easy, but you were pretty much introduced to the heaviest of weapons, that were usually rare to find (and much more of a joy), almost instantly in the game. The only reason why I felt good about the weapons was that I'd learned about them before the game came out, which I feel gave me a very basic understanding. The promethean weapons, in my opinion, are a disliked addition to the game. They just throw out the nice balance already held between human and Covenant weapons already. It would have been nice to just add a few new human/Covenant weapons, but now with the addition of a new class, everything seems out of order. Man overall, I gotta disagree with gamesradar's rating. This game should get a 7/10 at very very best because f the multiplayer. Everything about the campaign just leaves me with a sick feeling in my mouth. Hopfully Spartan Ops and the multiplayer, wich heavily rely on Call of Duty's style, don't suck as bad.
  • kyleander95 - November 17, 2012 6:48 p.m.

    I do not mean to argue to heavily against this as I would not say that this is the best halo but it certainly deserves what it has been given, although the story was short and maybe did not explain as much about certain story elements as it should have they still covered those elements of the story and you only had to listen to get a good understanding of the events that led up to or occurred within the story. I also think that the balancing of the weapons is fine within the game and that the games more sci-fi heavy experience makes sense with the story, you are facing against a race of beings that have technology far beyond anything even the covenant can produce and with such advanced weaponry it's not hard to believe that a person could be disintegrated by them, the forerunners have been talked about since the very first game you have seen the technology they could produce through the entire first trilogy a massive ring that could destroy every sentient being in the galaxy you can handle but someone being turned to ash is suddenly too far, and as for the weapon balancing its just a matter of choice and how you use each weapon as each races weapons have similar variants in another weapon set e.g. assault rifle/storm rifle/suppressor and binary rifle/sniper rifle/beam rifle so its just a matter of choice as the weapons within each set do not differ greatly from their counterparts in another set. Finally on the subject of the chief being alone or chief versus the world as you said and how they overkilled cortana I believe that everything they did was very well done, this story took a much more personal route then the original trilogy where the original trilogy did not show as much of the chiefs personality and focused much more on the overall effect on the galaxy and the dangers of the flood and the halo rings this story forces out some more emotion and character from the chief and really highlights the bond between him and cortana it was not overkill in this respect as much as it was a heavy focal point for the story and as for the chiefs lack of allies or the importance of them a majority of the game is pretty much the chief on his own anyway the first few missions where he crashes on requiem alone, deciding to stay behind to fight the didact instead of following orders to return to earth on the infinity and then on the science station where the forces are pretty much overwhelmed and most of the people there are scientists not soldiers the story explains the lack of allies and when you get them they are not useless its just the game does not dwell on these moments for very long and chief has pulled off miracles before and survived through a lot worse at least this time he was helped by the librarian with the changes to his body and by cortana in the final fight which makes quite a bit more sense then the chief just getting lucky overall I agree with the review and out of 10 I would give it a nine.
  • FOZ - November 22, 2012 5:07 p.m.

    The Forerunners can teleport, some of them are telepathic, they can convert organic beings into data, they created weapons that can destroy all sentient life in an entire galaxy without causing any harm to the planets, they can build entire worlds... but a weapon that causes its targets to disintegrate? WHOA THERE. TOO SCI-FI, THIS IS BULLSHIT.
  • Cwf2008 - December 2, 2012 12:28 a.m.

    Nice to see your wall of text is the first comment. First of all, the multiplayer is broken and not as fun as Halo 3. But while there are problems with the storyline...really? You think that ships that can travel faster than light and humanity lasting more than 10 minutes against a vastly alien foe is realistic? Or the fact that humanity is still using gas powered firearms 500 years in the future? Jeez if you're gonna whine at least make some valid points

Showing 81-94 of 94 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Nov 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: 343 Industries
Franchise: Halo
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+: Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.