Google+

Halo 4 review

Excellent
Back to Article

94 comments

  • GuiltyAir - November 1, 2012 7:22 p.m.

    These definitely help modernize the Halo experience, even if they only have it falling in line with the modern era of shooters, instead of actually speeding past them. Multiplayer has also been given context, tying into the lore that the >>>UNITED NATIONS SECURITY COUNCIL<<< has partially revived the Spartan project in Master Chief’s absence. Can't tell if bad comical reference, or just plain ignorance. I didn't edit, straight quote from 3rd to last paragraph. Any true Halo fan knows UNSC is the UNITED NATIONS SPACE COMMAND, not the United Nations Security Council. They don't have a Spartan project to revive, or do they? O.o
  • GR HollanderCooper - November 2, 2012 12:16 a.m.

    Fixed, bro--it's all good ;)
  • igothitwithabulb - November 1, 2012 3:54 p.m.

    This review seems short to me. I think more definitely could have been said, I dunno.
  • FOZ - November 1, 2012 3:15 p.m.

    Did you really criticize Halo for not having iron sights? As nice as it would be for them to add a physical "look into sight" animation for the scoped weapons, Halo was never meant to have iron sights. That wouldn't be an "evolution," it would be a fundamental change to how the series plays.
  • GR HollanderCooper - November 1, 2012 6 p.m.

    The same could be said about sprinting and loadouts in multiplayer, both of which help the game.
  • FOZ - November 1, 2012 7:27 p.m.

    Moving faster for a couple of seconds is a change equal to completely altering the fundamental shooting aspects? It makes more sense in the written part of the review, that they aren't necessary but might be appreciated. But in the video, not having them makes the game "feel dated?" Halo is never a game where I've wished I had iron sights. As goofy as the telescope vision is, the circular zoom crosshair is a vital part of using the pistol. I'd rather have what feels right than an unnecessary change for the sake of a shallow sense of "evolving" gameplay. I really don't like the idea that iron sights need to be incorporated into shooters outside of deliberate military FPS (including Crysis), especially since Halo was conceived and has repeatedly evolved without them.
  • GR HollanderCooper - November 2, 2012 1:41 p.m.

    Sprinting does make a big difference, when you factor in the game's focus on one-hit melee kills and vehicles. Again, not necessary, but I feel like from-the-hip shooting sometimes makes it feel a bit dated, since the full-screen zoom doesn't make much sense with weapons that lack a scope. They made a reason for it, but that doesn't actually help unless you dig deep into lore.
  • IMMRST - November 1, 2012 2:50 p.m.

    HALO 4 GOTY and AC3 too :D!
  • Robx - November 1, 2012 1:54 p.m.

    Oh, a nine. Was hoping for another eight to keep on trolling.
  • Thedigitalg - November 1, 2012 1:34 p.m.

    This is going to be so good. It has to be, since my tattooist (also a heavy Halo fan) just finished a forerunner on my arm. I haven't gotten a bad gaming tattoo yet, I hope this doesn't end the streak.
  • profile0000 - November 1, 2012 12:23 p.m.

    Good review, and I just preordered the game on my way home. Definitely looking forward to it. I'm surprised the review embargo ended today, on a Thursday before the Tuesday release. Seems a bit weird, but hey, I'm not complaining.
  • Telekinesis - November 1, 2012 12:18 p.m.

    Why are you IGN and Gamespot all using the same video clips, did you nto take your own footage for your reviews rather then using stock footage? Vlearly if you played the game you could have taken your own footage: -The turret sequence is used in all three videos. It's at 4:10 in the IGN video, 4:16 of the Gamespot video, and 2:40 of the Gamesradar video. -The rolling attack to behind the back melee at 3:29 in the IGN video is at 4:10 in the Gamespot video. -The sniping shot at 4:15 of the IGN video is 2:55 of the Gamespot video and 2:10 of the Gamesradar video. -Behind the back melee kill at 4:44 of the IGN video is at 3:05 of the Gamespot video and is at 1:58 of the Gamesradar video. -Jumping rocket launcher shot from 3:30 of Gamespot video is the same as Gamesradar's video at :53. Courtesy HonorableJudgeIto from reddit --- I encourage everyone to check them out themselves and see the footage is identical.
  • ninjaemperor - November 1, 2012 12:59 p.m.

    ZOMFG CORRUPTION! Thank you for this enlightening look at the seedy underbelly of professional garmz jarnalism. Seriously though, brilliant logic there. Clearly Hollander never played this game, that is literally the only reason that 2 writers could have used the same footage.
  • Thedigitalg - November 1, 2012 1:31 p.m.

    Perhaps, since they already had pre-cut footage, it was more time-economical to just use the footage given? What would be the point in re-recording the game, unless it's a Let's Play! style video?
  • D0CCON - November 1, 2012 3:30 p.m.

    Several of these reviews use footage I remember seeing in trailers. It's not that crazy and happens a lot in video reviews. This isn't corruption and this isn't a sign that the reviewers didn't play the game. Shut up.
  • Thequestion 121 - November 1, 2012 10:42 a.m.

    That was a great review
  • GameManiac - November 1, 2012 9:31 a.m.

    I'm more of a fan of Halo's SOUNDTRACKS rather than the games themselves. I need to change that, and I should begin by hunting down each and evey game in the series.
  • Divine Paladin - November 5, 2012 1:07 a.m.

    You can get all of them except for 2 incredibly easy, even both versions of CE (the original and Anniversary). 2 might take some work, and now that I think about it, Halo Wars could be a bit tougher depending on where you live as well. (I thoroughly enjoyed Wars, so I do recommend it even though many people don't count it as a true Halo.)
  • archnite - November 1, 2012 6:40 a.m.

    Starting at the tagline before the jump I went from flat zero meh for this game, thinking it was just another flashy marketing campaign for an alright shooter but if your being honest with this review and not Reach bias (lol) than I am pumped for this game. Yeah thought that sentence would never end.

Showing 41-60 of 94 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Nov 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: 343 Industries
Franchise: Halo
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+: Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.