Google+

Halo 3: ODST review

Back to Article

82 comments

  • jar-head - September 21, 2009 3:15 a.m.

    Gr ranked it a 7 because it's bungies Favorite number, duh
  • Amatarasu - September 21, 2009 2:19 a.m.

    there are some games,i don't give a dam about the rating,mostly mercs, halo and luigi games, because i have been phyced for this game since it was announced, preorderd it too, i LIVE for the rush modes,most of my life is eaten up by natzi zombies, survival mode and versions of infection, i will love this game
  • TheWebSwinger - September 20, 2009 8:44 p.m.

    OOOH snap a 7. Based on what I've seen, that seems like an appropriate score, but it's been getting great reviews elsewhere so I foresee a flamewar.
  • Centros - September 20, 2009 7:31 p.m.

    Halo: Combat Evolved is the only Halo game I actually like, and this article seems to suggest that my opinion on the series won't change too soon.
  • allthegoodnameswheretaken - September 20, 2009 5:32 p.m.

    Ok first things first great review like all other super reviews. Second thing and many people will accuse me of lying A) I found this game today (20th Sept) and B) I found it not at full price I found it at 50$ and the collectors edition at 65$
  • OddWoN ER - September 20, 2009 4:56 p.m.

    ya....defs shoulda been marketed as a standalone expansion pack and sold for $40 bucks more people would've bought. more would feel they got there moneyz worth more people will like MS more people would play the game more more more more...for less atleast my brother was the one who paid for it and not me
  • SkinnyJr - September 20, 2009 4:52 p.m.

    Finally, A review that isnt "ZOMG HALO!!1!!" I already promised my brother Id buy it for him so im stuck paying $60 for a 4-5 hr game. I really enjoyed Heavenly sword, for example, but I chose to wait until it was cheaper because it was, what, an 8 hr game? I liked the first Halo, the second turned me off, and I didnt even finish the third. Reach, however is starting to sound good....maybe I'll take the beta invite ; )
  • Curtis_Stone - September 20, 2009 4:23 p.m.

    AFter watching the GT video review and reading this review I have come to an understanding that I would probably like this games Hero better than ol' Master Chief... Those who know me know I LOATHE the Halo series, but this seems to bring some realism (as much as possible in a Sci-Fi game) and humanity to the fight that Halo 1-3 never seemed to deliver... While I'm not going to buy a 360 anytime soon and definitely NOT for this game, I could see myself playing this and enjoying it with a friend at their place or something... As for the score, it seems to be justified; the gameplay is relatively the same, and not much has changed from previous iterations...Tried and true to the end...Not to mention the extra maps are already available to the Halo 3 fans already so they're "NEW" to the newer fans/players... Like Sausage Lozenge said, if you're a Halo fan you'll buy this, if you're not, you'll pass...If you're curious aboot the series though, I'd say maybe give this a rental and give it a go...
  • jar-head - September 20, 2009 4:01 p.m.

    Dexsus: OP Dragon Rising is goign to be Kick ASS, Hopefully it'll score higher then odst, since, there has been Alot more work put into the operation system....damn i love gr, If they were to score lower, they Defiantly justify why, got's to a love a critic who knows Exactly what their talking about, minus the politics.
  • Rhesus - September 20, 2009 12:47 p.m.

    Great, great article but, I'm still a maybe on this one.
  • SausageLozenge - September 20, 2009 12:18 p.m.

    There are 3 kinds of people Person 1: The player that loves Halo and buys all map packs. They play Halo all the time and get their money out of the product. ODST will make them happy. Person 2: Bought Halo 3 beat it, played multiplayer a bit, and never touched it again. ODST gives you 14 new maps that "Person 1" bought the day they came out. ODST holds a lot of content that will be new to them. Person 3: They don't like Halo. If your Person 1 or 2, buy ODST. If you Person 3, don't buy ODST.
  • outergod - September 20, 2009 11:05 a.m.

    I'm really looking for a game to bridge the gap until the release of Uncharted and MW2 so this should do nicely... only £30 on amazon. Seems reasonable to me considering you get all the Halo 3 maps, of which I have none, and the Reach beta
  • AndyGiff93 - September 20, 2009 9:07 a.m.

    Wow GR yuo r stoopid. I hav seen th trailerz and dis game is easliy a 11/10, I shud av yuor job Nah I jest, good review. You justified the score so nobody can argue. I am still looking forward to playing it though...
  • WiLdFiRe567 - September 20, 2009 6:48 a.m.

    Well written Charlie but unfortunately i still have a raging boner for Halo so i have to get this game :D
  • GoldenMe - September 20, 2009 6:23 a.m.

    I enjoy Halo, and I already have it pre-ordered so yeah.... go me. Also, I also assume that the score you gave it is also a joke to Bungie's favorite number.
  • iKOemos - September 20, 2009 6 a.m.

    See GR doesn't blow Microsoft and i am surprized really. I was expecting such a heavyweight game to receive a better score. But i don't even own a 360 so I don't care.
  • sklorbit - September 20, 2009 5:34 a.m.

    great review. i am not into halo so i probably wouldnt have bought it anyway. but this review really made me decide im not getting the game. i give bungie credit for making this game into something better than an expansion but it cant compare to uncharted 2 and modern warfare 2
  • kissmeimgreek - September 20, 2009 4:52 a.m.

    That was a really great review! however, i was surprised by the 7... i thought it would be an 8 but its your opinion so go ahead! either way i guess its an eight for me if you add the +1. i really admire tha yall are one of the few non biased sites that dont changeratings vecause of hype or preference. (like youve done with infamous and now ODST....fair reviews)
  • Spartan523 - September 20, 2009 4:20 a.m.

    since it was designed as an expansion, and microsofts just greedy, i dont see how you can fault the game, it was originally $40 but MS changed it, at least bungie put as much as they did into it

Showing 21-40 of 82 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Bungie
Franchise: Halo
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.