Google+

Gears of War 2 review

Back to Article

85 comments

  • sklorbit - May 19, 2009 10:31 p.m.

    i have seriously played this game to death and i think it is worthly of the ten. it is better than gears 1 in every way so i think 10. whatever i guess good review
  • xCrAzYxScRuMpY - May 29, 2009 2:17 a.m.

    u knoe wat i dont get of stupid gears tha marcus fenixs dad made the loucest but he never comes up in any game
  • Coolbeans69 - June 2, 2009 11:48 p.m.

    @oreomonkey: You realize that this game hasn't been around nearly as long as cod and cod had some bad moments in it's history, may i remind you of WaW? I do think that the gow2 multiplayer sucks though, i mean what's the point if u get all the weapons u need when u spawn and if all anyone's gonna use are the power weapons? (shotgun, boomshot, sniper)
  • maziomaxx - August 23, 2009 3:18 p.m.

    it is a truly sick game i just completeed it twice ive only had it two weeks and have done hardcore and insane but i rilli want gears 1 big time o and the multiplayer is sick 2 any 1 who hasnt got it meatflag warzone horde anex guardian exicution wingman etc loads a stuff 2 do
  • MadCowDisease - January 1, 2009 5:44 p.m.

    Guys, stop with the "It should be a 10 out of 10" crap. You're just being ignorant fanboys who can't deal with the fact that people don't think i's the best thing since sliced bread. This game doesn't even deserve a 9 for it's multiplayer, there are practically more glitches then I have gamerpoints, PLUS an embarrasing error in the software that epic made that lets you melee through walls.
  • Stevens05644 - January 2, 2009 10:02 a.m.

    Ive gor this game and it is good but its not a 10. the single layer gets a little repetitive and at times the multiplayer arenas feel a bit cramped. a fantastic game but not a 10
  • LudiHrvat - January 3, 2009 8:19 a.m.

    A solid 9 is a great grade. Fairly generous, as the game is not without its issues. GeOW2 sticks to the formula which is a good thing, but at the same time, the multiplayer is not short of problems. And Horde is a fun addition, but ultimately becomes a bore and is overshadowed by actual player against player combat.
  • The_Dark_Lord - January 14, 2009 3:37 a.m.

    I'm fairly confident the campaing could'nt be more epic, but I'd love to be proved wrong by Gears 3. The chainsaw gets a little out of hand on xbl, but it's still really fun. And if anyone beats all of hoarde on insane, SOLO, you win a country.
  • osmokes - February 18, 2009 9:02 p.m.

    Gears 2 adds bigger environments, a smoother version of the original experience had in Gears 1. And that's it. Gears 2 isn't a real sequel. It is simply Gears 1 if Epic Games had enough time to actually implement all that they originally wanted into the game. By that it is therefore a "good" game, like Gears 1 was, but thanks to the what Capitalism is doing to the videogames industry, Gears 2 is a sold out version of Gears 1. Epic better do something amazing with Gears 3, otherwise I won't even bother giving it another thought.
  • Da360guy - March 7, 2009 7:50 p.m.

    i think they are right with a 9 because it is a great game but it is rubbish online.
  • w40kfanatic - April 15, 2009 1:18 p.m.

    this is the gretest game i beat horde mode with five people and only one survived. me and my friend tried it and lasted a minute on wave 50. that is tough!
  • Reaper2009 - June 5, 2009 2 a.m.

    Gears of War 2 was freak'n sweet. All that blood, gore, and even has a good story line. I say it deserves a ten.
  • chase1624 - August 6, 2009 2:05 a.m.

    dis game is fuckin awesome ive beaten it 3 times
  • FluffyDestructo - August 25, 2009 8:13 p.m.

    Gears of war 2 has great multiplayer but the first Gears of war multiplayer was better... The campaign of Gears of war 2 is a lot better though, at least that's what i think but the campaign for the first one is still great.
  • Cookieking23 - November 3, 2008 7:55 p.m.

    first, lololololol this game looks epic, can't wait to get it at launch
  • shockolate - November 3, 2008 8:40 p.m.

    I want. So bad.
  • shockolate - November 3, 2008 8:47 p.m.

    also, what about the multiplayer/horde?
  • Mystery514 - November 3, 2008 9:19 p.m.

    It comes out this Friday.....
  • slickmcwilly - November 3, 2008 9:32 p.m.

    ONLY A 9!?!?!!?!?! jk i can't wait till friday
  • GamesRadarJoeMcNeilly - November 3, 2008 9:45 p.m.

    I'm about halfway through it, and agree completely with all the reviewer's salient points. It's gorgeous, and loads of gory fun with some cool new weapons and bad guys and epic set pieces. But if i have to suffer through another "Defend Jack while he..." mission i will plotz. Hurry up and get it guise so we can play Horde already!!!

Showing 1-20 of 85 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 07 2008 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Epic Games
Franchise: Gears of War
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+