Google+

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West super review

Great
Back to Article

73 comments

  • EnragedTortoise1 - September 30, 2010 12:28 p.m.

    Well, shit. October's got, like, everything. DJ Hero 2, Enslaved, Castlevania, Sonic 4, Time Crisis: Razing Storm... good god, I don't know what I'll get.
  • ShaneCedt - September 30, 2010 1:56 p.m.

    How about a top 7 article of escorts you wanted to kill/were a major pain / were pratically useless and made things tougher for ya?
  • TRAVthe3RD - September 30, 2010 2:11 p.m.

    i first heard this game long ago and thought meh... but i saw the ad on tv and it got me genuinely excited for it now other ad has done that, and this review pretty much seals the deal mite have to invest in this game
  • Jefferrz - September 30, 2010 2:22 p.m.

    I played the demo last night and was not impressed at all. Was poor and very linear. Wont be picking this one up. Should have made Monkey where you ride about on a cloud now that would be something special
  • OriginalJonty - September 30, 2010 2:30 p.m.

    This is a game I have been following for a long time and it's coming out of my birthday. I shall be buying it.
  • Amnesiac - September 30, 2010 3:10 p.m.

    Almost exactly what I expected. I still don't plan to get it until it's cheap, though. The demo was very interesting, and I could really go for a game with a story right now, but the controls felt mushy, the camera was too touchy, and the combat was more button-mashy than tactical.
  • Felixthecat - September 30, 2010 3:11 p.m.

    I will probably be getting Castlevania over this. I can wait until Christmas for Enslaved. That said, I really should play the demo.
  • DustyRooster - September 30, 2010 3:33 p.m.

    Pregnant with danger!!!! Great review, Mr. Keast! I really want to get this game.
  • HumorTumor - September 30, 2010 3:35 p.m.

    Well, this is good to hear. Although I pretty much hated Heavenly Sword, this game has been interesting to me for a while. I'll probably buy Castlevania instead of this, but maybe if the price hits the right spot I'll get this.
  • Samael - September 30, 2010 4:13 p.m.

    I'm getting this over LoS, basically for the same reasons as neilbeforezod. LoS looks good...buuuuuut, it also looks hard as fuck and not very Castlevainy. I'll get/rent it later on.
  • garnsr - September 30, 2010 4:24 p.m.

    Matthew's Super Reviews aren't as interesting as most of the other guys'. There's no humor, the captions are just captions, and he just talks about the game like a regular magazine review. Not a bad review, just not what I want for a Super Review. I'm looking forward to this and Castlevania. Adventure games are probably my favorite genre on current gen, so I don't mind playing a few different ones right now. I liked Heavenly Sword and Ico, so I expect to like this and Castlevania.
  • Xtapolapopotamus - September 30, 2010 4:26 p.m.

    Wow, color me surprised! I wasn't at all expecting it to score this well, mostly because it hasn't had a big push like Castlevania did. I remember reading about this game years ago in EGM and it seemed like it fell off the radar until recently. I played the demo and it was certainly fun, but with money tight I don't think I can buy it new, at least yet. Regardless, a fantastic review, Mr. Keast, and a great surprise to hear this game is good and moves gaming forward. I'm eager to see what other outlets think and hope this underdog shows people a few things.
  • CH3BURASHKA - September 30, 2010 5 p.m.

    I knew Ninja Theory had boners for good storytelling; can't wait to play this. Opinions are opinions, but you're wrong about Ico; it still holds up incredibly well after all this time. The enemies are sparse enough and Yorda's dependency is what makes Ico Ico.
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - September 30, 2010 5:37 p.m.

    I know ICO is a good game. It's objectively a lovingly crafted experience, and there was nothing like it before it came along. However, I didn't have fun playing it. I really wanted to love that game, but it was just a frustrating, annoying experience for me.
  • TheWebSwinger - September 30, 2010 5:59 p.m.

    Nice exclusive! I was pretty unimpressed with the demo though.
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - September 30, 2010 6:13 p.m.

    I'm curious, what happens in the demo? There are definitely parts of the game that wouldn't represent well the overall quality.
  • postITgamer - September 30, 2010 7:08 p.m.

    I cannot wait for this game to come out! But I am torn between this and Castlevania! Let's hope Toys r'us has a buy one get one half off deal next week! www.postitgamer.com
  • ChipTheExecutioner - September 30, 2010 7:57 p.m.

    On a storytelling standpoint how do you think it compares to Uncharted 2? I was expecting it to be one of "is it better than..." games at the bottom. they sound kinda similar what with the great story, climbing parts, and what not.
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - September 30, 2010 8:14 p.m.

    I loved Uncharted 2, and the cutscenes were damn good for a videogame, but if you compare the dialogue to Hollywood action movies, it's mostly a bunch of cliches we've heard before (the first Uncharted was worse on that front). The way that the overarching story develops will affect people differently - I'm sure some people won't like where Enslaved goes, so it's hard to say if a person will like the storyline more or less than Uncharted 2. The acting, facial expressions, and the writing of the dialogue is superior in Enslaved, I would say. It feels more like real people talking to each other rather than the slightly-too clever interactions in Uncharted, where they feel like movie characters rather than people.
  • KaiokenKid - September 30, 2010 8:35 p.m.

    hmm, that PS3 thing makes me kinda nervous getting it there. Might go 360. Were teh shadows really that big of a deal? I palyed the demo on PS3 and thought it looked great. Also, is their any texture difference between the two versions?

Showing 21-40 of 73 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 05 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Oct 08 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Namco Bandai
Developed by: Ninja Theory
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.