Google+

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West super review

Great
Back to Article

73 comments

  • Darkhawk - June 15, 2011 3:22 p.m.

    Having just beaten it, my thoughts: I also played ICO well after the hype train had run its course, and I absolutely adored it. While I was impressed by the acting in this game - voices and the digital "actors" themselves - the overall story was still not nearly as intriguing or moving as ICO's. Plus [I'll avoid spoilers here] the grand finale plus ending itself have been done to death in too many movies before. Is it better than...? Prince of Persia (2008) A perhaps more apt comparison can be drawn between this and the cel-shaded Prince of Persia offshoot. Both feature enjoyably smooth climbing gameplay, and both have amazing visual environments. I'd give the slight edge to PoP overall for having more varied environments, more freedom in exploration, and (surprisingly) a much better and more original ending than even Enslaved. But yes, Enslaved is an excellent game and well worth the investment of a weekend. The opening level itself is worth the price of admission.
  • YoungDadOnline - December 4, 2010 2:26 p.m.

    I have to say, I normally go by Game Informer reviews (They rated it a 7). But after playing Enslaved, this game is awesome. I know the gameplay is set so you can't miss a jump and die, but having said that it adds to the story which is great. For a solid 8 hours of game play and a fantastic story based game (ie: Uncharted). This is one of the best action games I've ever played. Easily a 9+.....
  • pots555 - December 1, 2010 11:24 p.m.

    Fantastic game. I am a proud owner. Let support these games where characters and story are important. Not everyone needs an online FPS.
  • Shrimpandwhitewine - October 27, 2010 8:39 p.m.

    A special thanks to GamesRadar and TalkRadar, I got the game on the praise and review and enjoyed it thoroughly. I really do hope it gets a sequel of sorts, cause it was simply a fantastic experience.
  • BeerBaron - October 13, 2010 2:45 p.m.

    I bought this game because of this review and so far it's great. The camera gets a bit buggy and Monkey can be a bit skittish to control but the overall game is better than anything I've played in some time.
  • garnsr - October 10, 2010 5:49 a.m.

    I'm almost to the end, but I've had a hard time continuing through this game. For some reason I'm always looking forward to the end of a level, so I can quit playing. Something about it just hasn't grabbed me. It's not bad, but I think I enjoyed Heavenly Sword more, and some of the good feelings from that make me want to like Enslaved more than I do. It's too bad, I was really looking forward to this, it's just too basic a game, I think.
  • 80sMullet - October 9, 2010 9:15 a.m.

    For British readers of a certain age: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQpKoWsKGr8&feature=related http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0nfdk3qCNQ&feature=related Used to be on TV around 5 o'clock weekdays when I was a lad - nice to see an update using the characters. They should have used the Seventies disco soundtrack.
  • KaiokenKid - October 8, 2010 7:39 a.m.

    @gamesRadarMatthewKeast: Well, I own both, so i guess I have the luxury of choice. i dont know, it probaly shouldnt bother me as much as it does. But for whatever reason it makes me think PS3 isnt quite as good if its not keeping up in the multiplatform department. Kind of wish everyone would just lead develop on PS3 when deving games, that way the ports really come out equal. I guess its probaly a game by game basis.
  • Crabhand - October 8, 2010 12:57 a.m.

    After playing the demo for this, I cannot wait to get this game. It looks great and everything seemed to flow very well.
  • Mar27w - October 7, 2010 2:08 p.m.

    this game is a missed opportunity,the combat is far too simplistic with little need to go back to the game after completion,you will be content for the 8 hours it lasts but due to a lack of new moves and finishers to learn thiers little to no replayability which is unacceptable for £40,Castelvania has load of combos but the combat lacks punch with an pretty lame move set and a lack of visceral combat,the chain in NG2 is much more impressive to weild and is only one weapon of many,NG2 and Bayonetta are still the only action titles worth picking up,with a bit more effort applied to the fighting this could have been brilliant because the combat is satisfing with some great camera work and animation,shame
  • d3v - October 7, 2010 9:46 a.m.

    The important question however is if it's better than Devil May Cry 3 (still the high water mark for these hack and slash combat games), considering that this is the same team doing DmC.
  • VaneTrago - October 4, 2010 4:24 a.m.

    I had an extreme amount of fun with the Demo, and I hadn't heard of this game at all beforehand. Thus, day 1 purchase.
  • Smeggs - October 4, 2010 1:44 a.m.

    The demo is out? On XBL? Oh damn, better download it and give it a go tonight, you make it sound amazing. This sounds like the perfect type of game after the challenge grinding in Halo: Reach or carving bloody swaths through zombie hordes in Dead Rising 2.
  • crumbdunky - October 1, 2010 10:01 p.m.

    It's a good game but is NOTHING like Ico and I just wonder if the comparison was put in purely to have a pop at TI. Seriously, just cos there's Yorda they're comparable? Gameplay is almost entirely different in every sense and Enslaved can never come close to evoking the loneliness and creepiness Ico does. Like comparing fish and trampolines. It'll have to go some to beat HS in my books too(liked the dem,o though) as it's possible the most underrated game I've ever played with miles more depth and options to combat than pretty much anything else this gen as it wasn't just memorise these combos.
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - October 1, 2010 8:23 p.m.

    The combat is not at all just button mashing. You have to block, counter attack, dodge, use charged stun attacks against shielded enemies, know when to release a focus attack, decide when to use your ranged plasma blasts, and certain enemies have a weakness to exploit or an extra danger - like a timer that counts down and if you don't kill them in time they call for reinforcements. The combat never got old for me. Monkey's moves are plenty flashy and the weight of the staff as it busts open mech heads is very satisfying. The combat proably seems too simple in the demo because it doesn't involve all the elements you unlock or all the enemies you encounter. And to comment on 360 vs PS3 versions. I like to play games on both consoles, so I don't favor one over the other, but yes, PS3 versions do seem to often still be inferior to 360 versions. In the case of Castlevania, though, the PS3 is easily as good as 360, and might even perform slightly better than the 360 version. Like I said, with Enslaved, if you have the option go 360. But if all you own is a PS3, don't let that stop you from getting it. Both versions are a bit rough around the edges, so it's the world and characters that really matters, and the version won't affect that.
  • Ravenbom - October 1, 2010 4:54 p.m.

    I might have to pick this one up, though it is tough to hear criticism of Ico. I played Ico well after the fact, after Shadow of the Colossus in fact and loved it so I don't think it's as overrated as Okami, for instance.
  • oryandymackie - October 1, 2010 3:51 p.m.

    I might actually pick this up - I like the art setting.
  • philipshaw - October 1, 2010 11:55 a.m.

    I played the demo and thought it would get this score because the story and world was really cool despite my problems with the platforming being too easy and the combat feeling a bit loose. But this game being better than Ico, bullshit
  • elpurplemonkey - October 1, 2010 6:08 a.m.

    Good review, you've managed to convince me to play this. And I'd love to show solidarity and buy this- but I don't have the money so I'll have to rent it. But that's better than nothing. It's funny, this game went from 'ugh, another ad on gamesradar showing a video of this lame enslaved game,' to 'hmm, this actually looks good.'
  • Mar27w - October 1, 2010 5:21 a.m.

    what a shame,the one thing that worried me about the demo was that the combat looked far too simplistic with a few cool finishing moves happeneing automatically(which i hate)and was hoping in the full title you would unlock flashy combos and finishing moves to perform yourself but in an interview the devs said gamers prefer it simple,what load of pish,having lots of cool looking moves to learn is what keeps games like this fresh and worth replaying,now i know thats the case i"ll be picking up Castlevania instead

Showing 1-20 of 73 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 05 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Oct 08 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Namco Bandai
Developed by: Ninja Theory
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.