Google+

Duke Nukem Forever review

Back to Article

109 comments

  • Psylockerules - June 14, 2011 11:15 a.m.

    that's a real shame. not surprising, maybe the sequel will be better. its apparently number 1 in the charts here so either alot of people love Duke or there's gonna be ALOT of returns
  • bawrash - June 14, 2011 11:04 a.m.

    This review sounds like it came from someone who made a half arsed attempt to play through the game as quickly as possible to write this article. The game isn't about the story of saving the world but the the adventures of a man named duke nukem. The bottom line is its all about duke. The interaction with the environment and the thought behind it are outstanding. Spoiler alert. When your in dukes museum you sit in his throne for a picture and suddenly your being lowered into the duke cace, theres a 1 minute conversation will the president then its off again where you stumble into the gym to find the aliens working out. You can then interact with the gym equipment, basketball, pinball. The witty comments are amazing, power armour is for pussies and duke wins, fatality. There is more to this game than running around and shooting and they manage it from start to finish without letting up. Yes the game has 90's handling cause that was when it was programmed but i'd certainly give duke a solid 8 which for accepting the game for what it is and not what everyone thinks it should have been.
  • TheDigitalG - June 14, 2011 10:38 a.m.

    Also, the help segments on the loading screens actually told me things I didn't know, so they're not all bad.
  • TheDigitalG - June 14, 2011 10:36 a.m.

    Living in England, I've had this game for 5 days already, and I've got to say everything about this review is wrong except the graphics. They're not great. But Duke has always been about humour and mindless fun, which this game is chock full of, if you were looking for deep gameplay then I gotta say you're being naive looking for that in a Nukem game.
  • LTS - June 14, 2011 10:17 a.m.

    This is about what I expected you guys to give it. I think it's a fair review, much better than some I've seen which have given it as low as a 2 out of 10 (That's... like, Box Office Bust bad...) and a 6 is reasonable. I've noticed a few graphical hiccups on my through it so far, but I think a lot of the blurriness is intentional. Like when your in the rain or in the pipes, steam or water blur the screen a bit. Still, I have this odd feeling that this would be considered unanimously great had it been released circa 2006. I feel a lot of reviewers and gamers are disappointed in it, but disappointed in a way in which they nitpick to back up their disbelieve at it not being the greatest thing since sliced bread. And I don't understand why people complain about load times. Those are the official "Okay, time to grab a bite of the snack nearby/ check text messages on your phone/ hop over to the PC and read reviews on Gamesradar / take a nap" moments, depending on how long they last. And about the graphics, they may not be great, but they are at least consistently mediocre. It's not like Gran Turisimo where some things look super HD and others look like something from a Wii.
  • Spybreak8 - June 14, 2011 8:48 a.m.

    Yeah I heard the loading times go away if you have the PC version. Here's hoping for a holiday Steam sale! ^^ Now the Duke can retire lol.
  • CitizenWolfie - June 14, 2011 8:28 a.m.

    A little bit harsh I think. After playing it I kind of enjoyed it. Yes, the loading times suck immensely and it feels like a mid-generation PS2 game but after such a rocky development I've kind of accepted it for the relic it is. I find the "lol" moments are outweighing the dated gameplay and graphics so far. And I'm not just an aging Duke fanboy saying that (only played DN3D through a friend back in the day). Not every game has to be as arty as Shadow of the Colossus or Bioshock after all. I'm glad Gearbox decided to just say "Let's just actually finish the thing" instead of buying the rights and starting all over again. It would have been even more of a joke then. Maybe now Gearbox have the rights they can make a new Duke Nukem and learn from the mistakes. Oh, and not take 15 years to do it.
  • gizmowizard - June 14, 2011 8:14 a.m.

    I love Duke, he made me love first person shooters! But after reading this review, I am contemplating if I should get this game or not....
  • StoneDreadnaught - June 14, 2011 8:03 a.m.

    Really unfortunate it got a 6, I was hoping for at least a 7. Ah well. *brushes off 14 years of collective dust from hands and waits for Shadows of the Damned to release next week*
  • mothbanquet - June 14, 2011 7:56 a.m.

    I'll still get it, I owe Duke that much. Still, at least now I know what to expect. Maybe now this game is out they can start a new one from scratch and give it the attention it deserves.
  • ultraextreme - June 14, 2011 7:32 a.m.

    Im getting it just for the titties. There, i said it.
  • lhjwamangoo - June 14, 2011 7:26 a.m.

    well im buying it. won't know for sure till i play it...some good games get bad score n bad games get good score... (like crysis2 was lame personally)
  • quincytheodore - June 14, 2011 7:20 a.m.

    Honestly, I feel like playing last gen shooter, perhaps even worse. Completely agree with the loading time. Why it takes so long to load flat uninspiring setting is beyond me. It makes me sick, literally, I usually play shooter for hours, but one hour with Duke is nauseating enough. I thought I was already halfway through, but GR said it's long... This was not a good purchase.
  • Fuzunga - June 14, 2011 7:02 a.m.

    A 6? So it's pretty good then. Above average, in fact. I was expecting a bad score like a 2 or 3 based on the text of the review.
  • JBizFoShiz - June 14, 2011 6:54 a.m.

    "All of this, incidentally, will take around 20-30 minutes to play through, and it’s peppered with dated pop-culture gags and annoying NPCs." So, they make you watch an episode of Family Guy during the intro sequence?
  • komadose - June 14, 2011 6:46 a.m.

    i knew this game ain't gonna be a masterpiece, but i though it would've been better than this... too little, too late. could've been ok 10 years ago.
  • Gorlack312 - June 14, 2011 6:32 a.m.

    I was really happy when I heard it was announced that it finally going to be released. I was thinking DN3D with a major overhaul. Tons of weapons, new guns, Bulletstorm-esk way of killing pigcops........then I saw TotalBiscut's playthrough a weekago, drove over to Gamestop, cancled my pre-order, argued with the guy at the counter about how bad it looked, and pre-ordered Skyrim. That won't disappoint.
  • TastiestJamb - June 14, 2011 6:22 a.m.

    I almost felt obligated to buy this... almost. Thanks for another concise review sir!
  • Thequestion 121 - June 14, 2011 6:22 a.m.

    Ouch, I was looking forward to this game. Oh well.
  • kyle94 - June 14, 2011 6:21 a.m.

    After so much time, it's not really surprising. It was first announced in '97. There are reasons why it was pushed back so much, and it's not "They wanted to make the game better". When Gearbox got their hands on it, it was probably a mess. To me, Duke Nukem Forever is the prime example of internal problems, only in the videogame business. You see it occasionally with movies. If a movie is changing hands, directors, writers, and is in development hell for years, then you know it's probably not going to be that good when it comes out. Same thing happened with Duke Nukem Forever. It's actually kinda sad really, but to me not a surprise. Really, your hopes should've been dashed and stayed down after four years in development.

Showing 81-100 of 109 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 14 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Jun 10 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: 3D Realms, Gearbox
Franchise: Duke Nukem
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.