Google+

Dragon's Dogma review

Back to Article

24 comments

  • Squander - May 25, 2012 7:09 a.m.

    hey guys,what do you think about the music?? are the score and soundeffects an aural treat?
  • Person5 - May 22, 2012 3:12 a.m.

    picked the game up, and I gotta say I'm liking it so far, I especially really like the Pawn system. I'd say this game is definitely a game anyone who likes RPG's should play, even if waiting for a price drop it should never be completely passed over, I believe it deserves that much
  • patbateman17 - May 22, 2012 11:15 a.m.

    Do would you say you're addicted to Pawn? On a serious note - I'm loving Dark Souls, haven't really played much of Skyrim and was looking to pick up Amalur...the demo for this didn't really do much for me as the combat sometimes felt floaty but after multiple playthroughs I liked it a little more. Just not sure if I want to pick this up or not...a lot of reviews indicate the world is a little dull and I really don't want to have to wait in real-time for the night to cycle.
  • patbateman17 - May 22, 2012 11:15 a.m.

    Damn typos ruining my jokes.
  • jt-gutting - May 22, 2012 12:20 p.m.

    I don't know who you are and I created an account to say this... but Person5 your display pic is amazing. Earthbound is and will always be my favorite game! and I agree so far this game is really fun and there is definitely a lot too it which is good cause a lot of RPG's that have been coming out seem simplistic. But yes... awesome pic! You're the man!
  • Person5 - May 22, 2012 1:51 p.m.

    jt, thank you, I think Earthbound is one of the best RPG's of all time. On a topical note, patbateman, the night cycle isn't a big deal since you can stay at an inn until morning. Also you got torches and stuff so when you get more powerful you can survive the nights and continue exploring.
  • darron13 - May 21, 2012 7:52 p.m.

    Well I really DID love the demo...I think I'll get it.
  • larkan - May 21, 2012 5:45 p.m.

    Looks and plays like a party version of Dark Souls, but pretty boring on top of that.
  • jeremy-warner - May 21, 2012 5:33 p.m.

    Meh, I'm iffy, it looks good but I don't want the combat to get boring like Kingdom of Amalur. I think I'll try the demo first.
  • XanderGC - May 21, 2012 1:26 p.m.

    I'm still gonna give this one a go once I get me some more cha-ching. Was one of the games I was most excited about this year.
  • Hydrohs - May 21, 2012 11:58 a.m.

    From what I played of the demo I really enjoyed it, I'll definitely be picking it up eventually. My only real gripe with it is the lack of co-op, it's very reminiscent of Monster Hunter to me, but with more combat options. I would have loved to play with my friends.
  • samsneeze - May 21, 2012 11:47 a.m.

    Pre-ordered this about a month or so ago after playing through the demo and watching the OXM coverage they had on the game. While it is regrettable that the story isn't very good, the combat and enemy variety seemed good enough to carry the game. Definitely can't wait to pick this up tomorrow. "You’ll have full control over your hero, who flops about like a rag doll. It doesn’t look as cool as watching Kratos go to work, but for some gamers, more control is preferable to slick spectatorship." You're right, I do enjoy having control over my character rather than sitting through a QTE.
  • birdro - May 21, 2012 2:53 p.m.

    I'm picking this up new as well, even though I neglected to preorder since none of the bonuses were exciting enough to really make me. I definitely agree with the bit about always being in control over slick cinematic takedowns though, part of why I got so excited for this was the monster mounting being similar to SOTC, and watching Wander getting his ass thrown left and right hanging on for dear life was my favourite part of that game :P
  • Person5 - May 22, 2012 1:53 p.m.

    What really surprised me about the OXM coverage, the guy seemed to be infatuated with the game, yet they gave it six. Go figure.
  • samsneeze - May 22, 2012 7:07 p.m.

    There are two OXM teams(As far as I know), one stationed in the U.S. the other in the U.K.. The guys that were infatuated with the game were the ones in the U.K. and they gave it an eight.
  • Person5 - May 23, 2012 5:10 a.m.

    And after playing it for a few hours now I'm inclined to believe the UK team then, but thanks for that enlightening tidbit, the more you know. This game truly is awesome despite its flaws, yet I see it being nothing more than a cult hit that won't amount to a franchise being born, especially if people believe that joystiq review. I also can't seem to stay on topic of whatever I was talking about, I can't help but gush over this game.
  • ObliqueZombie - May 21, 2012 11:41 a.m.

    With all the other games I'm playing/will play, I'll give this one a good, hearty pass.
  • FlyinMachine - May 21, 2012 11:06 a.m.

    It's a shame it didn't stand up to some of the other titles. Through a few gameplay previews I saw of it, it looked spectacular! However, I can see where it fell flat. When I was playing the demo I was disappointed when my slashes looked like they did NOTHING to the monsters. No blood, no gashes or cuts that should've been on their body, nothing. I was hoping for a more free roaming Dark Souls but it seems the difficulty and visceral nature is more toned down than I'd like. Ohwell
  • boondocks50 - May 21, 2012 10:30 a.m.

    i heard the ps3 version better (for once) as far as issues and graphics go
  • samsneeze - May 21, 2012 11:17 a.m.

    Lower framerate, less tearing. Which ever you can deal with more apparently. Neither is particularly perfect.

Showing 1-20 of 24 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 22 2012 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Capcom
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Partial Nudity, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending