Google+

Dragon Ball Z: Attack of the Saiyans review

AT A GLANCE
  • It's DBZ!
  • Pleasant RPG approach
  • Retro appeal
  • Feels a bit dated
  • Doesn't take advantage of the touchscreen
  • Doesn't try anything daring

We’ve lost track of how many Dragon Ball Z games there have been, possibly because there are more than ten and that’s all the fingers we’ve got to count on. Still – one more won’t hurt, eh?

Rather than the many Dragon Ball beat-’em-ups there have been over the years, the DS-based Attack of the Saiyans is a role-playing game, and distinctly of the old school variety. In fact, it resembles nothing so much as the old Dragon Ball RPGs on the Game Boy Advance (phew, that’s going back a bit now), as your party of three characters wanders around exploring and fighting.

The touchscreen is used for very little, though, so while this may be a pleasant enough role-player, it’s very old-fashioned indeed.

Nov 10, 2009

More Info

Release date: Nov 10 2009 - DS (US)
Nov 06 2009 - DS (UK)
Available Platforms: DS
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Namco Bandai
Developed by: Bird Studio
Franchise: Dragon Ball
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Cartoon Violence, Crude Humor, Suggestive Themes, Use of Tobacco, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
12+

5 comments

  • joshburt333 - November 13, 2009 11:08 p.m.

    So how does this game work?
  • Cyberninja - November 12, 2009 1:19 a.m.

    i wanted to get this game but 3 paragraphs isnt good enough and i agree with the above comments compleatly
  • lewis42025 - November 11, 2009 8:54 p.m.

    For the first time, i really do agree that this was a bad review. I mean, some people really had hope for this game, just for you guys to just brush it off like it wasn't even worth writing. Not very fair
  • MagicalSarai - November 11, 2009 4:52 p.m.

    I agree... what do you do in this game? What does the story comprise of? controls? RPG system based upon DBZ? Come on... we deserve better.
  • Doorstop - November 10, 2009 11:34 p.m.

    This has to be the crappiest review I've ever seen. It's like you cut off all its limbs and left it to bleed and die in a dark shack. Shameful. |:

Showing 1-5 of 5 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000