Google+

Diablo 3 review (Updated with patch 2.0.1)

Back to Article

52 comments

  • Shadow Of Death - March 16, 2014 2:05 p.m.

    I'm still waiting for the game to get a significant discount on PC (In Canada specifically). Hell, we can't even buy it direct on Amazon.ca (3rd party seller on Amazon only). That $38 price (Plus shipping) is the lowest I've seen for the game, I think. Game has been out for ages, give it to us for 50% off at least eh?
  • Everest Man - March 17, 2014 12:01 a.m.

    It's actually 19.99 right now as a direct download from battle net.
  • larkan - September 3, 2013 4:28 p.m.

    So instead of increasing the loot quality dropped from mobs, they force you to spam the blacksmith? Sounds like Blizzard took the lazy way out for a cash grab, no surprise there.
  • Darklurkr23 - September 3, 2013 4:24 p.m.

    I want to win this so bad. Come on Gamesradar :P
  • ObliqueZombie - September 3, 2013 4 p.m.

    Diablo III didn't excite mel but maybe that was because of everything they took out of this. This makes me want this pretty badly, and the control scheme is beyond perfect for a gamepad.
  • Makie8d - September 3, 2013 3:33 p.m.

    Sounds like the PC version with offline mode and a screwed up difficulty/monster power system. The ability to play with friends has been here the whole time..
  • Nettacki - September 3, 2013 1:46 p.m.

    The removal of the Auction House and the need for a constant internet connection automatically makes this better than the PC version. That being said, I'm still not gonna get this because it's still expensive and I'd rather spend time playing Torchlight 2.
  • phoenixwright13 - August 6, 2013 9:20 p.m.

    IMO, this games sounds over rated.
  • Thedigitalg - May 22, 2012 1:53 p.m.

    To each their own, I guess. Diablo II is the reason I failed college, and Diablo III is equally incredible. I also have low standards with story, inherited from my unrivalled love for action films.
  • Higgins - May 22, 2012 1:07 p.m.

    I'm really enjoying the game so fare, but yaeh, the single-player lag is stupidity incarnate.
  • InFeRnOg - May 22, 2012 12:05 p.m.

    Anyone contemplating Diablo III, just go buy Titan Quest and its expansion for $10. Then, get Grim Dawn next year.
  • TanookiMan - May 22, 2012 9:16 a.m.

    Really good review. Also, I'm a huge fan of your style Hollander..."The gameplay – that’s the 'clicking on stuff until it dies, then leveling' part" made me choke on my coffee.
  • noneedlesjustshots - May 22, 2012 7:07 a.m.

    I was interested in this game until it came out and I discovered that it had DRM. I refuse to be playing a single player game that I (in this hypothetical situation) PAY $63 FOR, and then boot up a single player game to find NOTHING. Dear god, what if Call of Duty pulled this crap? There would be blood running through the streets!
  • Zeedar - May 22, 2012 12:43 a.m.

    I may get this, when the price drops. It is still a decent game, but it wont have the impact of Diablo 2. Also the DRM on this game is unacceptable. I'll definitely get Torchlight 2 first. Cheaper, no god forsaken DRM and there is LAN play. It's what the paying costumers deserve.
  • Person5 - May 22, 2012 3:17 a.m.

    The price will never drop, or it will drop in somewhere along the lines of five years from now. Blizz believes they can charge 60 for this game then why bother making it less. I do agree with you on Torchlight though, the actual Diablo III
  • bamb0o-stick - May 22, 2012 7:18 a.m.

    Hah, if you think about it, if you're going to spend $60 you might as well buy 3 copies of Torchlight and gift the other two to play together.
  • bamb0o-stick - May 22, 2012 7:23 a.m.

    Actually my mistake. Torchlight is being sold for FOUR copies for $60 on steam. What a steal.
  • Person5 - May 22, 2012 1:46 p.m.

    so if none of your friends get it just gift it to them so you have four out of eight people in your coop game, interesting fact, you can only have four people in a Diablo game, hm, the more you know.
  • Zyrusticae - May 21, 2012 9:44 p.m.

    I gotta say, the story/writing is definitely my biggest beef with the game. It seems like, somewhere around the release of World of Warcraft, Blizzard just lost all their ability to tell good stories - or at least, tell them in a manner that actually shows some level of restraint. I mean, compare Diablo 3 or Starcraft 2 to the originals - hell, even Warcraft 3 had better writing, as I could actually take the fall of Arthas seriously! There's just no build-up in Diablo 3; it's just a rapid-fire machinegun of events that hold no meaning to the player as there is absolutely no time given for the implications to percolate properly, not to mention they have a serious inability to withhold themselves from just dumping in more and more and more dialogue into the game. The demons do NOT need to be talking to the PC more than twice a damn game! They lose all their mystique that way! Hell, in Diablo and Diablo 2, Diablo himself never uttered more than two lines throughout the entire game, and that made the fucker MENACING. You had no idea what he was capable of, no idea what his plans were, all you knew was that he was badass, he was evil, and he needed to be fucked up quick or he'd fuck YOU. So in a nutshell: Poor dialogue, too much of that dialogue, no restraint, treating big bad demon lords like cliche cartoon villains, and not enough grimdark all contribute to the game's lousy, terrible, awful storytelling. It's a damn shame, too, because the rest of the game is pure excellence. (Minus the graphics, but I can live with that.) I guess I really shouldn't expect decent storytelling from Blizzard anymore. They just... whoever's at the helm, just doesn't know how to do it.
  • bamb0o-stick - May 22, 2012 7:21 a.m.

    I agreed with you with how scary and menacing Diablo was in the first two game. Heck, when I watched the cinematics in Diablo 2 I was at the edge of my seat engrossed with the great voice acting of the narrator. Now you have 'demon diaries' to pick up, a joke on the letters you pick up in-game where they are talking to someone about something. I just roll my eyes and say "really?"

Showing 1-20 of 52 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 15 2012 - PC
Sep 03 2013 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3, PS4
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Blizzard
Developed by: Blizzard
Franchise: Diablo
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.