Google+

Destiny review

Back to Article

46 comments

  • NickFury90 - September 19, 2014 1:36 p.m.

    The way he was slurping this game like it God's gift to Earth in the diary, I was expecting a 11/10. Or at least a 10/10. Dude called the PvP a new golden age like Halo 2...
  • Space_Movies - September 21, 2014 1:42 p.m.

    "Dude called the PvP a new golden age like Halo 2..." Hahahhahahah yea right.
  • JunkerJorge - September 19, 2014 12:19 p.m.

    Merge this review with IGN's review and you have a complete review, in doing so you would bring IGN's up to the rightful score of 8.5 and this one down to fours stars.
  • Midnight_23 - September 19, 2014 4:12 p.m.

    Hahah wow that's pretty accurate. Both reviews I thought were respectable, but GR's reviewer obviously knows destiny down to the philosophy of the game mechanics and so I think this review is one of the best out there. It's my favorite that I've read, I'd wish to write the same thing if I were to give the game a review..
  • universaltofu - September 19, 2014 11:48 a.m.

    Is the game alright on ps3/360?
  • ZBOMb1029 - September 19, 2014 1:15 p.m.

    Yea it's actually pretty good
  • RedShirtTrekie - September 19, 2014 10:57 a.m.

    Thanks for your honest, and yet extremely fair review. You have pulled me over to games radar with this review my good sir and I thank you for it.
  • BaraChat - September 19, 2014 9:51 a.m.

    I've been gaming for 20+ years and I can't remember a AAA title being so divisive upon release. Two of the three reviewers I trust the most (GR, another website and a magazine not released yet) have rated the game 6/10 and 9/10 so far. Anyway, I'm only at level 6 and I'm really enjoying myself (gameplay-wise, the story is barely noticeable so far) and it feels/looks like I've baerly scratched the surface. So that's a very good sign.
  • filipe-alves - September 19, 2014 9:40 a.m.

    the game is good, but is it the god given wonder this review says it is? definetely not
  • PerhapsTheOtherOne - September 19, 2014 9:52 a.m.

    I'm pretty sure that wasn't implied. I guess the thing is that more time was spent on forming actual "FULL" opinions on aspects of the game after thoroughly looking playing the game, and even then, it's not a full representation because Destiny is shaping up to be a progressive title that will always throw in more. I am glad there is no "numerical" score, though, since that always ruins it for me when it comes to reviews.
  • ParagonT - September 19, 2014 10:09 a.m.

    Stars and numerical scores are the same thing. They're just a different way to represent it. Also, If they release content that is free at a later time, I believe that then it would be wise to change the score. But scores should be representative of the game in it's current state, not the possibility of what could be added later. So holding back reviews is like giving a game time to fix itself as if certain reviewers are just waiting for it to be better. By then, what is the use of the score? If the DLC added later must be paid for, it needs to be reviewed separately, since any game could add DLC to fix flaws in their games. But I do want to warn that evolving scores, especially with games that have content that have level requirements, tend to be extremely bias. The person reviewing the new content most likely has a high level character that they have sunk hours into to get to that point, so they will have a stake in the longevity of the game because of that.
  • RedShirtTrekie - September 19, 2014 10:41 a.m.

    The same could be said about any game though.
  • ParagonT - September 19, 2014 9:08 a.m.

    This seems more of a brown nosing review than an actual one. "Is its story ( )light, skating only on the surface of its lore? Yes indeed, but once you get past it, you’ll reali(z)e that its real stories are the many you create with your assembled cast of co-op players, those of epic, emergent set-pieces and heroic, last-ditch Crucible victories." This basically skims over any of its failings as a game. Sure, it tries something new, but this isn't about who is the most original developers, its about doing it well. The mechanics are solid, but the lore? What lore? The grimiores online TELL YOU NOTHING of the "lore" of the game. If you can tell me anything about the lore that is beyond a description of the obvious or a snippet of a conversation with no context, then please do try. The story is non-existent only covered by its repetitive missions that are basically waves of enemies each time. I will still play this game do to its great gameplay and FPS aspects, but its socially deafening while separating you in a world begging to be played with others. it's a good game, but its not even close to what is being said here. Don't get me started on the crucible and the balancing of Blade Dancers and the reward system. Actually, you know what? I'll show you. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-obSb0vMXo If you want a fair review, go to IGN or GameCritic. I don't agree with Gamecritics score, but it certainly hits more points as a more well thought out review.
  • O.Dumas - September 19, 2014 12:53 p.m.

    So because it's not bashing every aspect of the game it's brown-nosing? Sounds to me like you're just being bitter over elements the game features that you either don't have a grasp on (such as leveling and "grinding") or just plain suck at (such as getting sliced up by well timed Arc Blade from a Bladedancer). In either case, the shortcomings you speak of stem from your own faults within the game, not the game itself.
  • ParagonT - September 21, 2014 12:49 p.m.

    No, a fair and well rounded review talks about it more in depth of, "Well, this aspect was nice! So was this!". It delves into complex talkings with what succeeds and doesn't. That infers to its readers for each who is looking for a particular aspect of the game they may be wary on. This throws a blanket on it, and doesn't offer the goods and bads, but only the goods and acts like nothing else matters. Is this a critique? Or is this a brown nosing contest? Which is it? Also, you are just trying to make excuses for the game. You probably run as a Hunter that uses Arcblade all the time and can't stand the idea that a vast majority of people have a problem with it. No matter although, its already being rumored to have a nerf on its way. Sucks for you. Also, you saying: "You just don't understand the game", is the same as having no real stance on anything. If its good the way it is, then please tell me why. But you can't, so you fight from a stance that doesn't require you to make any factual point at all. But since you want to play that way, you just don't understand the problems with the game. Deal with it.
  • winner2 - September 21, 2014 8:02 p.m.

    BAM! Very well said, and I agree completely.
  • Magnumram8008 - September 20, 2014 7:45 a.m.

    incorrect. The story is also told by the npc's in the tower. just listen to what they are saying. the ghost tells you. the misssions tell you. yure basically a space private investigator if person had the attention span higher than a goldfish. as much as you deny it, the snippets is the story. which means, the story is unfolding in realtime as the gameworld persist. as desperate as you sound for a story you are purposly ignoring it. thats your own fault. also, ive played a variety of missions. is there any mission you can think of that isnt repetitive after hours of playing. i cant think of none. can you name any fps that doesnt have "waves" of enemies? especially with this enemy a.i.? i didnt think so... so youre saying there are no counters to the bladedancer?
  • ParagonT - September 21, 2014 12:51 p.m.

    Then please tell me the story so far. Can you? No, you can't. Done. The closest "snippet" of a story is the black garden Grimiore, and thats pretty iffy.
  • ParagonT - September 21, 2014 12:53 p.m.

    "also, ive played a variety of missions. is there any mission you can think of that isnt repetitive after hours of playing." Every single one but the one in the Hive that requires you to wield the sword. Can you tell me ones that are different? And how are they different?
  • Driftranger - September 19, 2014 8:43 a.m.

    Solid review because it tells the reader what to expect from the game. Appreciate your taking the time to thoroughly research Destiny before forming an opinion. I saw where Polygon gave the game a 6/10 and later posted sort of apology article talking about how fun the game is. Please. I think a lot of the criticism of Destiny is from people who hate FPS and were expecting an MMO, or the reverse. Destiny is for the player who loves both, and the combination is well done.

Showing 21-40 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 09 2014 - PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, Xbox One, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: MMO
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Bungie
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Animated Blood, Violence