Google+

Dead Rising 2 review

Back to Article

46 comments

  • forza - September 24, 2010 4:08 a.m.

    I hate being limited by time based game... I will rent but not purchase this game. I like taking my time in an open world game so I am able to absorb the whole game without restrictions.
  • y2kpikachu12 - September 24, 2010 3:25 a.m.

    "8??? That's what Reach got!!! Must be horrible then." that made my day.
  • JADENkOTOR - September 24, 2010 2:26 a.m.

    I can't believe you gave this an 8. This game looks and plays last gen. You guys rip sequels all the time for not bringing any innovation to the table and this game trumps most of them in that category. There has been no improvement to the gameplay whatsoever... Its been 4 years and a couple of save slots and some weapons were their big ideas? They should have addressed the sluggish movement and controls. Or possibly put a little effort into making it look like it was made within the last couple of years. I don't know how you do it, but mulching zombies got old for me a quarter of the way through the first game, and this one (dreadfully) picks up where the other one left off. This game should be an arcade title.
  • bloodyshadow - September 24, 2010 2:03 a.m.

    While I'm not disputing the score because this is a well put together review, I would like to say that there ARE auto saves in Dead Rising and, if Case Zero is any introduction, Dead Rising 2. After every story point you get an auto save. I know you get the idea that they are going for survival, but... really, that's what theya re going for. I'm actually surprised they have auto saves after each story point. Kinda defeats the point. Do I find it aggravating when I die in Dead Rising only to have to start way back somewhere else? Yes. But then, all I had to do was train to survive and, before I knew it, I stopped dying. THAT'S the idea. Somewhat like the real zombie apocolypse would be. Good review, though. I hope the killing is half as fun as you make it seem.
  • Genericpenisjoketista - September 24, 2010 1:38 a.m.

    I would love for them to make a "serious" iteration of Dead Rising. Keeping much of the same gameplay, but cutting down on the layer of silly and adding a more realistic damage system. An ACTUAL "I'm-alone-and-stuck-with-killing-zombies" simulator. Only headshots = dead zombies, one bite = dead you. No running zombies, no special zombies. And tighten up the animations and give it more polish. Regardless- Dead Rising 2. The first game was a bit too frusterating for me (and my friend tipping over the xbox when it was in, ruining the disk didn't help). If a friend gets it, I'll borrow it from them in a few months. If not, guess I'm not playing it.
  • FelNaRj - September 24, 2010 12:39 a.m.

    no online mode?? o tougth i hear something about it... :O
  • EricBratcher - September 24, 2010 12:31 a.m.

    No problem, ViolentLee! Just skip straight to the "Just for you, Metacritic" part. Stupid Otis. Hated that guy almost as much as I did that little bastard who gave you photography assignments.
  • ViolentLee - September 24, 2010 12:08 a.m.

    I kind of miss the old style of Games Radar reviews, where they tried to be brief. It set them apart from other review sites.
  • ManlyPanda - September 24, 2010 12:08 a.m.

    I loved the first one so I can tell I'll this. Hope theres a zombie Ottis.
  • Onepersonwithnoopinion - September 24, 2010 12:06 a.m.

    I knew it wouldn't disappoint. Definitely picking this up ASAP, I just need to get over Reach first.
  • Kieran712 - September 24, 2010 12:04 a.m.

    Got this game today(technically yesterday) and I gotta say I love it. In my opinion its an 8.5/10, know I know that doesn't exist here but to me 8 seem a bit too little and 9 a little too much. Anyway, nice review Dave
  • Mexiflan - September 23, 2010 11:52 p.m.

    I'm getting this,since i adored the first one,ins spite of the obvious flaws.
  • Ampatent - September 23, 2010 11:35 p.m.

    So the saving system used in Case 0 isn't in DR2? I was glad to see that the game would prompt you to save after completing a mission, but if that's not the case then I'm disappointed.
  • GuyBrush_ThreepWood - September 23, 2010 11:33 p.m.

    getting this game..i just really really really wish there was a free modein these kinda games.. maybe unlocked after you complete the game with super good ending etc.. where you can just bum around without having to worry bout said daughter, survivors, time limit etc..
  • CountFenring - September 23, 2010 11:31 p.m.

    So.... NHL > DR2?!?!?!?!?!?! jkjkjkjk
  • deformedorange - September 23, 2010 11:29 p.m.

    8??? That's what Reach got!!! Must be horrible then.
  • RepublicOfDave - September 23, 2010 11:29 p.m.

    My friend's really pushing me to get this on release with him. I was always on the fence with this one when there's Gran Truismo 5 and Fallout: New Vegas that I'm more interested in. The review was great, and gave a decent enough score for me to justify at least a purchase. One question though. Doesn't Dead Rising 2 have some form of co-op? I don't think you mentioned it in the review at all. Call me crazy if I'm wrong, but I recall hearing that somewhere on the internets. It's the real reason my friend wants me to get it with him. So maybe he's the crazy one XD
  • batmanboy11 - September 23, 2010 11:29 p.m.

    Never got around to buying DR1. Maybe I'll check this one out.
  • dugfinger - September 23, 2010 11:25 p.m.

    I've read 2 reviews with no mention of co-op. What's up with that? It's one of the game's major selling points.
  • oufour - September 23, 2010 11:22 p.m.

    i think he said he unleashed all the spider monkey's while drunk. sounds like something i'd do...to the anacondas.

Showing 21-40 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Blue Castle Games
Franchise: Dead Rising
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending