Google+

Dead Island review

Solid
Back to Article

103 comments

  • Lando81 - September 5, 2011 6:32 p.m.

    Outstays it's welcome? What the hell does that even mean?
  • 435 - September 5, 2011 6:40 p.m.

    Probably that it could have been pared down a in length bit to make the game flow better.
  • Lando81 - September 5, 2011 6:43 p.m.

    So pacing issues? Again, I don't see how that can really apply to an RPG of this kind. (Go anywhere, do anything sort of thing)
  • tareq - September 5, 2011 6:30 p.m.

    Biiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiias
  • ArbokDaKobra - September 5, 2011 6:29 p.m.

    Damn, well now i'm really reconsidering buying this or not, I was all pumped for tomorrow. But now i think i'll save my money and get something else down the line.
  • Lando81 - September 5, 2011 6:31 p.m.

    You know. Because 7 means it's absolutely terrible and no one should play it ever.
  • insidiousFox - September 6, 2011 11:17 a.m.

    That's not at all what he was saying. The bugs/glitches in this article do in fact sound heavy enough to be a reason to not purchase the game right away, at full price.
  • MouseKlok - September 5, 2011 6:24 p.m.

    It is an absurdity that games are released with such bugs. I don't care if you miss your release date. Just make the game playable without a day one patch.
  • Gex4212 - September 5, 2011 7:38 p.m.

    Because everything is a business... You have contracts and you deadlines..minor bugs are going to push back a game. Besides they are having a Day one Patch. 90% of games dont even come out with day one patches.
  • TheCakeIsaPie - September 6, 2011 10:30 a.m.

    True, most games do come out with patches that fix bugs, but that doesn't make it OK (read Dave's article for more). Valve releases all of their games bug-free, and still makes a profit. Why can't Deep Silver?
  • waitingforCharlietosnap - September 5, 2011 6:19 p.m.

    I'll wait a bit, I think, save my money for now, but I don't think I'll wanna let it drop off my radar (seems to be more or less the consensus, at this point).
  • kingsmikefan - September 5, 2011 6:18 p.m.

    Outstanding review, Matty Keast. Very clear, concise, and descriptive. I like how you basically describe your own playthrough. Hope you're on TalkRadar to talk about it.
  • IChooseUAntistaMON - September 5, 2011 6:13 p.m.

    Only one comment, I am f**cking pumped for this after school im gonna get it with my friends
  • Helios - September 5, 2011 6:03 p.m.

    I think that, based on this review, the good outweigh the bad. Sure, the bad things mentioned could get annoying and irritating, and they are definitely enough to knock the game down a few points, but the concept is just so awesome, I'll probably still pick this game up some day.
  • Cyberninja - September 5, 2011 6 p.m.

    I may get this later.
  • Redeater - September 5, 2011 5:59 p.m.

    I remember reading a review for this and it mentioned that it was pretty much the most realistic experience you will have for an actual zombie outbreak. I think that is enough to warrant a buy for me. I was really hoping it would turn out better though. It's funny though that this comes out on the heels of Deus Ex. That was a game that had a lot of polish to back up it's potential while this game had great potential and it was clearly a rush job.
  • DaveGoose - September 5, 2011 5:56 p.m.

    Can\t wait for the Secret Island DLC pack
  • SVC5 - September 5, 2011 5:55 p.m.

    Im getting this no doubt. I love the who zombie-RPG thing they went with in this game. On my list of games to get.
  • Tazerbri - September 5, 2011 5:54 p.m.

    HOW IS THIS WORSE THAN REACH???? BIAS!!!! Yeah, I'm still going to use that joke. Don't Hate. I'm kinda burned out on Zombie games for now, but it seems interesting.
  • Redeater - September 5, 2011 6:03 p.m.

    Your free to keep that unfunny reference alive but please don't refer to it as a "joke".
  • IChooseUAntistaMON - September 5, 2011 6:14 p.m.

    You're doing it wrong... It is suppose to be "this is better than Reach??"

Showing 81-100 of 103 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 06 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Sep 09 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Deep Silver
Developed by: Techland
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.