Google+

Dead Island review

Solid
Back to Article

102 comments

  • lemur - September 6, 2011 2:20 p.m.

    good review. I liked the like "have you ever played a first person thrower? I haven't."
  • paul212 - September 6, 2011 2:12 p.m.

    Im not going to rant here, but honestly some of you need to actually read the review, the review specifically states that if you were looking forward to the game that it was well worth playing. Please take the review into consideration before you somehow are able to convince yourself that everything under a 9 sucks.
  • Darkhawk - September 6, 2011 1:58 p.m.

    Everything in this review screams "WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL." Of course, I've said that before (about Mirror's Edge) and look where that left me.
  • Manguy17 - September 6, 2011 12:22 p.m.

    hope this does a mass effect make a game with amazing potential, but with notable flaws, and the make a sequel which is damn near perfect. although reading this review its not as good as me1, but the point remains, hopefully it sells well enough for a sequel, may rent it anyway.
  • ChickenFillet5140 - September 6, 2011 11:31 a.m.

    A 7 is not a bad score guys! Anyway I'll definitley be picking this up but not before I get Resistance 3.
  • Ravenbom - September 6, 2011 11:26 a.m.

    Goddamn it! There's too many must haves this holiday season. But, I feel like these devs need my money more (so they can really put some time into their next ambitious game) than some of the other big games I want which I can pick up after the holiday season. Sounds like a zombie Fallout 3 where it has serious bugs (I've lost hours and hours of saves in that game due to bugs) but it also sounds like it's got the atmosphere to keep you going. Also sounds like a real zombie apocalypse in which you should just run sometimes and you're constantly on edge.
  • Money - September 6, 2011 11:20 a.m.

    Knew it would be bad
  • Zolty717 - September 6, 2011 10:55 a.m.

    You'll hate: Alliteration
  • SuperNintendoChalmers - September 6, 2011 10:42 a.m.

    I don't know if this or Dark Souls is getting my money...between Gears 3, Skyrim and Batman, this is going to be a rough holiday season. Nice knowing you friends, family, and career.
  • Xifihas - September 6, 2011 10:03 a.m.

    I've been really looking forward to this and judging by the reviews it's delivering what I wanted out of it, solid first-person melee combat and zombies that are actualy a threat again. A shame about all the bugs but the Day 1 patch should fix the worst ones and the others will hopefully be fixed in reasonable time.
  • jackthemenace - September 6, 2011 9:51 a.m.

    Really wanna play this, but almost no money at the minute, what with RAGE and Gears 3. I'll probably invest in this somewhere down the line, preferably after a whole load of patches've been churned out to iron out the bugs. I wish that approach had worked with New Vegas...
  • mockraven - September 6, 2011 9:12 a.m.

    This is the only zombie game I ever got excited about and the solid review still has me interested. I can't wait to try it. :)
  • GamesRadarPaulRyan - September 6, 2011 6:42 a.m.

    Great review, Matt.
  • Hauntor - September 6, 2011 6:19 a.m.

    You know what? It looks great. From what I've been following, I can't help but be impressed, and I think that its worth a week 1 buy.
  • rob619 - September 6, 2011 6:15 a.m.

    Hi, this is probably a stupid question but I just need confirmation before buying this! Can I play online co-op with another person, like a random person online going through the game together? I dont need a mate physically with me playing at home? Thanks for any info
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - September 7, 2011 10:19 a.m.

    If it's not obvious, the game features 4-player online co-op, and it has a handy system where it will recommend a player who's playing the same general part of the game as you, so it should work well for those wanting to play with randoms.
  • NightCrawler_358 - September 6, 2011 5:01 a.m.

    Sweet points! I've heard-and I've seen, the pop-in textures, and thats pretty awful. But, once they are in, the game does look very pretty. I'd like to give this game a try sometime, probably won't be a purchase for a while though.
  • HalfBlindRatt - September 6, 2011 1:13 a.m.

    Good to see there actually is lower rating than 8, allthough it's hard to keep track what this really means now. Obviosly flawed but great game +zombies and a 29 € price. Sold.

Showing 21-40 of 102 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 06 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (US)
Sep 09 2011 - PS3, Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Deep Silver
Developed by: Techland
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.