Google+

Crysis 2 review

Great
Back to Article

57 comments

  • Baron164 - March 22, 2011 8:30 p.m.

    @FOZ Part of the reason to play PC games is to be able to play them at max settings to get the best graphical experience. That and Doing that requires purchasing a new video card close to every year. If you going to play a PC at medium or low settings then your better off with the console version. Not to mention most PC games are now just ports of the PS360 versions.
  • cubine - March 22, 2011 8:05 p.m.

    "no gaming pcs arnt really that much more expensive than consoles." Not true. Try at least double the cost.
  • Jamahl - March 22, 2011 7:53 p.m.

    Man, everything I see of this makes me wish that you got to have more than one powerup slotted in halo reach. And that the invis kept working perfectly even if you were moving fast.
  • sniper141 - March 22, 2011 7:53 p.m.

    BIASED!!! oh wait =)
  • batmanboy11 - March 22, 2011 7:48 p.m.

    I'll have to check it out.
  • JADENkOTOR - March 22, 2011 7:40 p.m.

    Still going to wait for Battlefield
  • SeriousSean - March 22, 2011 7:37 p.m.

    Deus Ex 2 = worse than the original. Dragon Age 2 = worse than the original. Crysis 2 - worse than the original. Hopefully developers will start seeing a pattern here and stop "simplifying" or "streamlining" games that don't freaking need it. I'll still be buying this, since reading reviews for it haven't actually pissed me off; it's Dragon Age 2 that gets to wait until the +DLC Edition comes out.
  • FOZ - March 22, 2011 7:31 p.m.

    I've had an 8800GT for what's coming up on 3 years. It was high mid-range at best when it came out, it played Crysis on high with minimal tweaking, and plays pretty much everything else that comes out at 60 fps. If I need to upgrade, it's going to be for something insane like Shogun 2 or Battlefield 3. The "I has to buy $500 vidja card every year" argument is such utter shit. Only the hardcore PC builders do that, and that's because they want to, not because they absolutely have to. The demo was interesting, but there was no community whatsoever and it wasn't something I can see me or any of my friends playing nearly as much as we used to for TF2 or even Bad Company 2. The single player looks too toned down. No super-sprint, no strength punch, no throwing barrels at people? No little shacks to destroy or throw guys through? That the game costs $60 really helped convince me not to buy this for a while.
  • Balaska - March 22, 2011 6:51 p.m.

    @ Baron164 you can get the MP demo on all formats, so you can see for yourself, I would say 360/PS3 are the same graphically tho and to be fair, the graphics chips in both consoles are not really that different, only the CPUs are.
  • Woodsey - March 22, 2011 6:28 p.m.

    "Why is Gordon Freeman allowed to get away with not talking?" Because the characters around him are interesting.
  • Woodsey - March 22, 2011 6:21 p.m.

    "Hell, the original Crysis still can’t run on the average PC" *sigh* Yes, it can.
  • Jbo87 - March 22, 2011 6:10 p.m.

    Why is Gordon Freeman allowed to get away with not talking?
  • Sniped50 - March 22, 2011 5:59 p.m.

    I would have given it a 9 (maybe 10) personally. The only negative that would affect me would be the buggy AI, and even then, the original had the same problem (I've played through it), so I could say I'm used to it. I do dislike this reCAPTCHA thing though. I mean, what the hell?!? What's THIS supposed to be: IgMpo PsPsi. THEY AREN'T EVEN WORDS!!!
  • Baron164 - March 22, 2011 5:53 p.m.

    I purchased the original and was infuriated how brand new hardware could not run that game. It was the prime reason I stopped playing pc games. I got very sick of buying a $500 video card every year. Consoles are just so much cheaper over-all and much less of a headache to enjoy. I'm curious how the 360 version compares to the PS3 version from a graphics stand point. I normally play all my games on 360 but if the PS3 version was vastly superior graphically I'd consider getting the PS3 version.
  • ExcessGiraffe - March 22, 2011 5:44 p.m.

    Wow, I really expected this game to be a straight 10/10 considering how good the original was. Definitely still going to buy it though!
  • skeletalman - March 22, 2011 5:42 p.m.

    I'm really sad they took out vehicles in multiplayer, but its still a great game. I thin it earned a 9 too. The negatives really arent that big of a deal. also, big king, a third comment doesnt help how you look.
  • Fuzunga - March 22, 2011 5:38 p.m.

    Too much focus on multiplayer.

Showing 41-57 of 57 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 22 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Mar 25 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Developed by: Crytek
Franchise: Crysis
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.