Google+

Call of Duty: World at War review

Back to Article

63 comments

  • bovice - December 3, 2008 8:51 p.m.

    this game seemed to be "rushed". The graphics are good, but when I play it.. where the heck are the solider at when the shoot at you? I spent 1 hour on Veteran level to complete the 3rd mission.. I couldn't find some of the ones that were shooting at me. They were either to far, or to dark to see them. Online is really good... quite a challenge if you ask me, but it's really good.
  • oreomonkey - November 20, 2008 1:05 p.m.

    I like how everyone is complaining that Treyarch made it... If Infinity Ward would have made it may have been better I'm not going to argue that. But it takes two years to make a game this good and if Treyarch hadn't made this one, the next one wouldn't have come out till next year and we would have had to wait 2 years. So quit complaining that Treyarch made it. GO buy it. PLay it until Infinity Ward makes theirs and if u like IW's better than trade in WaW and get the other one.
  • Juggernaut140 - November 16, 2008 5:50 a.m.

    "BAAAAAAW, NO MODERN WARFARE EVEN THOUGH THERE ARE MORE MW GAMES THAN WW2 GAMES!!!!!" Get over yourselves IW fanboys.
  • MadCowDisease - November 16, 2008 3:12 a.m.

    ^^^^ It was less then a year actually, and the average FPS takes 2-3 years. As for the guy that said it's crap because it's not Vietname, COME ON, do you think American media will be happy to see an American game reminding them that they lost?
  • Beaver - November 14, 2008 4:51 p.m.

    please some one tell he did not say they added a zombie mode!
  • secondshooter - November 13, 2008 9:19 p.m.

    Just because it's not made by Infinity Ward and doesn't have a 5 at the end of the title means that the game sucks and is not part of the main series? Last I heard, WaW was the 5th game in the series, and IW is making number 6. And keep an open mind; Treyarch is perfectly capable of making good games. Don't bash the game without playing it just because IW didn't make it.
  • R38P3R - November 13, 2008 4:03 a.m.

    hopefully CoD6 will be 'modern' again
  • Cwf2008 - November 13, 2008 12:27 a.m.

    Well hopefully the real Call of Duty 5 (not this hunk of crap) will be made by Infinity Ward and actually be good
  • slayaz - November 12, 2008 4:30 p.m.

    I thought BF was utter sh*te, first game I've traded in a while. Won't be getting this though, just not enough originality for me. I'm sure it will be a hit, but too many other games to try before this.
  • pimlicosound - November 12, 2008 2:04 p.m.

    Contrary to what oreomonkey thinks, if COD:WAW gets the same score as Far Cry 2, I can only assume that COD:WAW is an excellent game. I loved FC2 - a huge story mode with unparalleled flexibility for FPS games and the best graphics on X360. But you get out what you put in. I was patient with it and had the imagination to try interesting things, and the pay-off was great.
  • oreomonkey - November 12, 2008 1:03 p.m.

    wow... i have this game and i rented far cry 2. how does this get the same frekin score as far cry 2. yah i an understand this getting a 9 because its not as cod4 but c'mon its way better than far cry 2 and battlefield: bad company is better than it and got a worse score?!?!?! what is up with that
  • Jbo87 - November 12, 2008 3:31 a.m.

    ^ meant 7 hours btw.
  • Jbo87 - November 12, 2008 3:30 a.m.

    "the single player campaign clocks in at a measly six-or-so hours." - These sort of statements really confuse me. i'd probably agree that six hours is a bit short short however Gears 2 was slated as being bloated at 8. Working on that logic then developers should only be making games 8 hours long to clinch those perfect 10's.
  • skyguy343 - November 12, 2008 1:32 a.m.

    maybe this is the "Rock the 80's" of CoD. This still looks awesome but id rather play the sequek to Cod 4
  • volrath46656 - November 12, 2008 1:08 a.m.

    So is the next CoD going to be titled as #5 or #6? And where does this game stand in the series if the next one is going to be CoD5?
  • DampedVirus - November 11, 2008 9:52 p.m.

    Waiting for CoD6, amirite?
  • TrIp13G - November 11, 2008 9:34 p.m.

    I'm glad I'll be getting this next month...
  • jar-head - November 11, 2008 8:49 p.m.

    i think they rushed this, but until hell freezes over, war games wont be getting old anytime soon, thanks GR for the review. but wheres end war? lol
  • iSushiMonsta - July 13, 2009 9:37 p.m.

    Its an awesome game but i also like maplestory free meso if u come up poor http://www.freemaplemesos.com/signup.php?ref=iSushiMonsta
  • cubsfan101 - June 17, 2009 4:04 a.m.

    all i can say is this: one of the best WWII games ever made.

Showing 21-40 of 63 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 11 2008 - Xbox 360, PC, Wii, DS, PS3 (US)
Nov 14 2008 - Xbox 360, PC, Wii, DS, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, Wii, DS, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: n-Space, Treyarch
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.