Google+

Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 review

Excellent
Back to Article

96 comments

  • xx_CaPTiiN_SpAiiN_zz - November 13, 2012 9:33 a.m.

    probably the best game to come out this year judging by the ones that have already came out. great graphics good story and great multiplayer lots more in it this time a round. really good game treyarch you guys restored the faith that infinity ward destroyed whhen they tried to take over your franchise with mw3. i would reccommend this game to anyone even somebody who only likes board games or rpgs. thanks for reading
  • JTtheOKIE - November 13, 2012 4:45 p.m.

    Really dude? Are you completely oblivious to the fact that Infinity Ward started Call of Duty? I'm tired of all you idiot COD fanboys who weren't there when it started.
  • Dante1924 - November 13, 2012 7:08 p.m.

    Infinity ward did not start Call of Duty. They kickstarted it to the juggernaut that it is today, but they DEFINITELY did not start the series as a whole. Just wanted to get that cleared up. And as for you Captain Spain, calling this game of the year is something Tehtimeisnow would say: completely ignorant. So Borderlands 2 I guess didn't come out this year? What about XCOM, Dishonored, Xenoblade Chronicles, Assassin's Creed 3? Not this year, I guess...
  • CombatWombat101 - November 13, 2012 8:17 p.m.

    Sorry to burst your bubble, but yes, Infinity Ward did in fact start Call of Duty. They were the developers of Call of Duty, as in the first one. Ever.
  • Dante1924 - November 14, 2012 3:04 p.m.

    Oh. Whoops on my part about that, learn something new every day. Still think that XCOM is worlds better than this game though...
  • xx_CaPTiiN_SpAiiN_zz - November 15, 2012 9:48 a.m.

    xcom is nowhere near the original..
  • CombatWombat101 - November 15, 2012 10:06 a.m.

    That statement doesn't actually have anything to do with whether or not XCOM is better than BlOps 2. Frankly, it's hard to compare two very different games, but if I were to give a game of the year award out, and those were my only two options, I'd give it to XCOM before Black Ops 2.
  • xx_CaPTiiN_SpAiiN_zz - November 15, 2012 12:24 p.m.

    i wasnt even comparing them so youre wrong there. xcom was such a disappointment for me in comparison to the original which you might not have played so that makes me dislike it more than black ops 2 which i actually see as a big improvment on the way call of duty games have been going over the past years. it is all opinions anyway but seeing the elitists wine about cod is just getting boring now.
  • xx_CaPTiiN_SpAiiN_zz - November 14, 2012 1:21 a.m.

    my opinion kiddo i would hardly call it ignorant when i have played lots of the other games to have come out and found many of them to be mediocre. i didnt know if blops 2 would be that good and it blew me away so yeah maybe you should offer your own opinion instead of having a rant at mine.
  • xx_CaPTiiN_SpAiiN_zz - November 14, 2012 1:15 a.m.

    im in my late twenties... i played the very first when it came out so i suggest shutting up... and no the infinity ward who created the original ww2 cod and cod4 did not make mw3 so i suggest you brush up on your info
  • obviouslyadouche - November 13, 2012 4:58 p.m.

    Call of duty is not the best game to come out this year.Unless there are drastic changes to the core gameplay, more then just a change on the create a class system that they do every year (though I will admit they did step up a little more this year with the pick ten system), then it can't. Also game of the year should go to games that really innovated or were completely out of left field.
  • CombatWombat101 - November 13, 2012 6:19 p.m.

    "best game to come out this year" - I lol'd.
  • winner2 - November 13, 2012 10:04 p.m.

    You sure you're not a bit biased since you really, really like CoD in general? I'm assuming this because I've seen you post in defense of and praising CoD multiple times. This game is extremely similar to many of the other games in the series, and I don't believe they got any mass recognition as "best game to come out" in their respective years. If the games have remained largely the same, the result is not going to change. Especially not when CoD is against other really well received games like Borderlands 2, Dishonored, and Assassin's Creed 3. Short version: I think your love for CoD might diminish your view of other really good games. But to each their own.
  • xx_CaPTiiN_SpAiiN_zz - November 14, 2012 1:02 a.m.

    lol i finished dishonored very quickly not much replayability and borderlands 2 felt like same old same old. cod formula is golden which is why it doesnt change much but borderlands needed more of a revamp in my opinion.
  • BottleBank - November 13, 2012 10:01 a.m.

    "rock-solid controls" As i remember, poor controls have never really been an issue in CoD. I'm genuinely not trolling when i say i've really lost faith in GR's reviews over the last year. They just don't seem as well-written and insightful as they used to be. I miss the departed writers from both the US and UK teams.
  • SUCKxITxEZ - November 15, 2012 6:56 p.m.

    I wanted to argue against this because I love GR, but you are right. If someone is going to go to a gaming website and look up a review of black ops 2, they have probably played a CoD considering how many there are now. and anyone who has played call of duty knows how good the controls are.
  • KingOfCarts24/7 - November 13, 2012 11:50 a.m.

    I wonder how long it'll be before "ugh multiplayer is the same,same cheap kills and camping and spawn killing and uuugggghhhhh" talk like it is WITH EVERY CALL OF DUTY. Not trying to troll, just stating a fact. So please, don't bother commenting back to me if it's gonna be COD IS MY LIFE AND ALL OTHER GAMES SUCK BECAUSE MILITARY SHOOTERS ARE THE BEST BRO SCREAAAAAMM
  • zombi3grim - November 13, 2012 2:54 p.m.

    You realize hating on CoD has become so mainstream, you seem just as idiotic as someone who would reply back to you saying "COD IS MY LIFE AND ALL OTHER GAMES SUCK BECAUSE MILITARY SHOOTERS ARE THE BEST BRO SCREAAAAAMM"
  • dcobs123 - November 13, 2012 12:23 p.m.

    Not getting this but the zombies mode seems cool. It sounds liking they're taking a cue from DayZ with the large maps.
  • KnowYourPokemon - November 13, 2012 12:56 p.m.

    Well I haven't gotten to play a major amount of it yet but I will say this much. Graphics haven't really improved at all, not that graphics make the game but it really is noticeable that the game is running on an old engine. It's interesting to look up comments from metacritic and other reviews to see people whine about how it's simple copy/paste of Black Ops and MW3. I just don't see that. They've changed quite a bit to how things work in multiplayer to the point where I'm actually enjoying playing it, and this is coming from somebody who despised MW2/3 and wasn't too fond of Black Ops either... I'm enjoying CoD... clearly tripped into some weird alternate dimension of some kind.

Showing 41-60 of 96 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 13 2012 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Nov 18 2012 - Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC, Wii U
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Treyarch
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Suggestive Themes, Use of Drugs

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.