Google+

Borderlands review

Great
Back to Article

79 comments

  • Death Wish66678 - April 1, 2014 12:12 a.m.

    This is definitely a classic and I still enjoy playing it. I have been a fan of the game since day one. I had an x gf steal my original copy but it's all good. I ended up buying goty edition and have all the dlc for it. So epic. I love this game. The only drawback is that traveling can get boring and difficult to find stuff on the map.
  • halowarfare - May 16, 2010 5:03 a.m.

    Running out of ammo?! I have problems with too much ammo, the game deserves better such as a 9 out 10. The car always glitches and that is my only problem with the game.
  • oreomonkey - January 9, 2010 8:16 a.m.

    demigod how many hot pockets did you eat while typing that
  • oreomonkey - January 9, 2010 8:16 a.m.

    Fallout 3 sucked nuts because of the way you shot the guns; if it had a cod type zoom i would have bought it but a pause the game choose which body part to shoot type bs is just stupid
  • Demigod - January 7, 2010 6:48 p.m.

    Wow this game is bad ass and funny because of some of the tougher enemy are labeled. (like badass corrosive skag) I haven't finished it but its crazy as hell. The character's abilitys are crazy. Beserker's are truely the type that says "I'm goin to go psycho on all these bitches!" The soldier is great with his scorpio turret's ability. The hunter I haven't used yet but my brother uses him and blood wing the halk is his ability. The siren is like a ticking time bomb with her phase walking by self-destructing, (without taking damage) going invisible, running super fast and then the second self destruction (without taking damage) and becoming visible. Team play is the best damn thing with this having your own ability to boost the team. You don't have to pick different charathers you can be the same and change their color and name instead of playing by the name roland, mordecai, lilith, or brick. you can duel in the middle of no where by melee team mate and them returning a melee hit or go to a colliseum and set up a battle. This kinda has the rpg import thing like bulder gate or champion of norrath, except it has to be at the main menu where it show split-screen instead of bring them in the middle of play. Who's ever the host/first player that's who's story is played. This game is like almost every game mix in a disc. It is actually a must have, no joke! I don't know why people are looking at it badly. I spent almost 3 days straight with almost no sleep. Its so addicting. Sure the case look like another game you'd be done with like halo 3 or army of two but NOT THIS ONE! The vehicle aren't all that but hey at least there is one. You can change the color of it and wither it has a machine gun or a rocket launcher on the top. You can have 2 people in one and you can have up to 2 vehicles. It has boost, lock on abilitys for one person in it, and a sheild that goes up when you level up. There are a lot of ramps to and every a race track in... I think its called Dalh headstone or something. You can't really set up fair races but if your messin around I guess you have some fun with a friend, not to mention a achievement for goin around the track fast. The guns... well its already been explained! Oh and to end this long ass comment (SORRY!) The missions, there is no way you can come up with there nothing to do on this. like guns but not that many, their are a load of mission but you could skip some and do the main mission but the exp, money, and sometimes a reward is well worth it. Well seriously this isn't all but I'm tired so it what ever. I'm going to play some more.
  • oryandymackie - December 19, 2009 8:57 p.m.

    So what happens after you've completed the main story? Are there still settlements inhabited by those psycho dudes who will attack you, or are you just roaming an empty wasteland? Can someone with experience PM me if you have the time?
  • Ricochet3438 - December 5, 2009 4:27 p.m.

    I thought that this game looked dumb from the start, this review just confirmed my suspicions
  • CreeplyTuna - November 8, 2009 1 p.m.

    this game plays like cod 4 mixed with ramped up graphics from XIII. if only you could create guns...that would make this game a 10
  • AuthorityFigure - June 29, 2012 8:03 p.m.

    Yeah I thought of XIII right away when I started this up.
  • GrandMoffBubbles - October 31, 2009 2:15 p.m.

    P.P.S. before you try this with your beloved weps try it with garbage 1st to make sure it works for you.
  • GrandMoffBubbles - October 31, 2009 12:08 p.m.

    p.s. make sure you name the in game character as a Bank otherwise you get confused like I just did, con sarnit!!
  • GrandMoffBubbles - October 31, 2009 11:50 a.m.

    I f*cking love this game. Great review Tyler by the way. This post is for all of you gun nuts that hate to sell or ditch lower level weps that you love (and wanna give to a different character you play as on the next playthrough) as you find better ones. Ok here goes, since this game does not have a bank (like MMOs), you need to create a Bank avatar your console of choice. I named mine "Phaser Bank" because I'm a Star Trek nerd (AIG is clever too if you hate Banks like I do!). Next step is to sign in as your higher lvl toon (Bad Dude),start the game, start split screen and then sign in and join as your Bank toon. This will require two controllers since we will be starting a split-screen MP match. Don't forget to press the "start" button to add your Bank toon to the game. When you set up your Banker toon you will have to go thru the first few lvls before you unlock your backpack. Once this is done you can follow the instructions above to start a split-screen match. Now that you have your Bad Dude and Bank toon on split screen, just have the Bad Dude drop the item that you want transferred and then switch to the Bank toon controller and pick it up. Logout Bank toon. Its that easy. I hope this was helpful to all you Borderlands weapon loot whores out there like me. I only recommend this action if you fall in love with a wep like I did. Oh, "Detonating Cobra", "Angry Sweeper" and "HVY29 Scoped Machine Gun" you are my babies and you shall find a home. By Bubbles, I vow this!!!
  • demonslayer76 - October 25, 2009 2:03 p.m.

    i would have to agree with jackthemenace. superhumans were a pain, and i didnt like fallouts combat that much, but i still liked the game since im an rpg freak too bad my moneys going to MW2, im a CoD freak too
  • FPSmonster - October 25, 2009 12:40 p.m.

    This game is just great. Can't wait for to come out on PC!It's funny how they made 87 bazillion guns.:)
  • patri0t - October 24, 2009 11:34 p.m.

    looks playable...
  • jackthemenace - October 24, 2009 12:23 p.m.

    if this is anything like fallout 3, i glady await it. i think it might even be better than fallout 3, because FO got a bit repetitive and the constant super mutant brutes really pissed me off...
  • greenwhine - October 24, 2009 10:48 a.m.

    i was extremly put of at the start of review and was out 2 stop reading till it said that i should keep reading, am glad i did, im definatly gonna buy it, my frend said taht the guns feel lk cod 4 so they obviously put alot of concentration in2 it all becouse cod 4 was god like with the guns and how they move
  • Spybreak8 - October 23, 2009 5:38 a.m.

    woah, Mr. Wilde's review gets mentioned over at Gamasutra: http://tiny.cc/5Xmce
  • Godstrike3020 - October 23, 2009 3:07 a.m.

    who ever said this game was bad your a joke every bodys lauhfin ha ha hah this game is crackdown and fallout 3 havin a baby and metalica and call of duty had a baby and to to babys grew up and they had a baby its name would be BORDERLANDS
  • HeavyTank - October 22, 2009 2:15 p.m.

    FPS RPG's?Are you kidding me?Most FPS's right now have some RPG elements...and online play, of course. @MikeHawk: "Because being a FPS with RPG elements set in a Wasteland isn't similar enough to warrant comparison?" No.Fallout's map is a post-apocalytpic Earth, and the inhabitants are (mostly) sane, and the weapons are custom-crafted, and there are nukes, and there are choices that will affect the story, and there are character creation options, and it's not focused on shooting everything that moves. I can name plenty more but I'm kinda bored right now.

Showing 1-20 of 79 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 26 2009 - PC
Oct 20 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Gearbox
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.