Google+

Assassin's Creed Revelations review

Back to Article

51 comments

  • TURbo - November 14, 2011 9:02 p.m.

    It's nice that there is some closure to the Ezio trilogy, and that there has been closure in MW3, and Gears of War 3.
  • TheInvincibleDragon - November 14, 2011 8:46 p.m.

    Hmm, still playing Skyrim, and will be well into next year. Sad to say that I may miss out on this until February. Then maybe I can squeeze in some time between ACR and Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. Also, I thought this was going to be a 9 or 10 easy. Still not going to deter me, though.
  • FanofSaiyan - November 14, 2011 8:21 p.m.

    One should never let any review from getting in the way of enjoying a good game. I'm getting Revelations tomorrow and I know I'm going to have one hell of a good time despite the shortcomings listed in this review. Also, Signature Edition FTW.
  • TheTygerfire - November 14, 2011 7:15 p.m.

    You're lucky Jim Sterling made a big deal about people complainign about 8s or else there'd be more stupid comments on this review.
  • shawksta - November 14, 2011 5:55 p.m.

    While i am no doubt buying this game(Pre-ordered) Im dissapointing that games like this and others are focusing more on their Multiplayer, Im happy for some of the better single player missions but the Less amusing Story as you say it is worrying me that their doing a lesser job on it. Nonetheless this will just be another great Assassins game. Awesome Review.
  • Yeager1122 - November 14, 2011 5:50 p.m.

    Somewhat dissapointed didnt play brotherhood because i heard it was weaker than 2 now this is eaker than that guess ill be waiting for a price drop.
  • BladedFalcon - November 14, 2011 5:39 p.m.

    Eh, glad to see I did good in never bothering with Brotherhood, and thus never bothered being interested in this game either. The main thing I found great about ACII was their characters and story, even if the ending pissed me off. It's really underwhelming that both "sequels" fall short in that regard. And since I never give a crap about multiplayer, I don't get a plus there. Perhaps they'll redeem themselves once they finally have the balls to stop making yearly sequels, and do a true ACIII game?
  • TURbo - November 14, 2011 9 p.m.

    Assassins Creed III is 3rd tuesday of November. No way they will not have a game out 2012 with all the December 21 2012 hooplah.
  • BladedFalcon - November 14, 2011 10:10 p.m.

    Then they better make it with a good story, or I'm pretty much gonna forget about this series if this keeps up.
  • winner2 - November 14, 2011 5:23 p.m.

    Man, I had high hopes the story experience would be better, something that I could compare to AC2 which I completely agree is the best game in the series so far. And I believe i read on another feature that they've already promised us another full fledged AC game next year? Unless it's the actual AC3 that we've been waiting for since 2 and they've been secretly working on it for ages, I have a feeling i'll be disappointed again. oh and wtf at the captchas, i don't have greek letters..
  • tr1ggerf1nger - November 14, 2011 4:51 p.m.

    Wow, I was really looking forward to this game. Not so much the multiplayer, since I play these games for their story and setting. I was really hoping to see a good ending to Ezio's story as well as some answers to the plot. It appears I'll have to wait til ACIII for a proper fix. I guess I'll still get this tonight. Maybe I'll be pleasantly surprised...
  • garnsr - November 14, 2011 4:31 p.m.

    Running down people on horseback was the only thing that I didn't get tired of in the first AC. Too bad that's gone away. I spent a ton of time buying up building s and things in Brotherhood, and really enjoyed that, so a meandering story might not bother me as much it bothered Mikel. But, I'm finding Uncharted 3 underwhelming, the way you find clues that the bad guys don't have, go to a place no one has been in millenia, then when you come back out suddenly the bad guys have figured everything out and are waiting for you. It sounds like something like that happens in Revelations, which bums me out. As much as I've enjoyed the games this generation, the newest sequels are getting harder to enjoy as much as earlier iterations.
  • Mooshon - November 14, 2011 4:28 p.m.

    Great read that Mikel. Having played and loved the series so far I'll be pretty disappointed by the sounds of it. I can put up with the great, but identical campaign gameplay but the main thing I was after was a bigger punch and real closure to this storyline. Think this has slipped quite low on my massive games-to-buy list. Two quick questions Mikel: - have they added any end-game for your money? What is the point of all that shop income? - can you own spear weapons this time?
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - November 14, 2011 5:07 p.m.

    Sure thing: The money's used for the same things it was used for in Brotherhood; weapons, landmarks, more shops, etc. The difference this time is that, once you've reached the stage where you've got a ton of otherwise useless cash piling up, you can turn your attention to Mediterranean Defense (the away missions for your Assassins). Once you take over a city, most of the new missions actually cost money to pursue, so bottomless coffers come in handy. Also, while I didn't buy every weapon in the game, I'm pretty sure the big weapons are still limited to axes and swords; no keeping spears this time, sorry. Thanks for reading!
  • Mooshon - November 15, 2011 1:34 a.m.

    Cheers for the reply. The tweaked away missions sound pretty interesting. Just wish they'd done.... more. I will pick this up at some point, as for their short lifespan, the AC games really are the most addictive games going. Plus the wife likes the scenery...
  • BoxingMarco - November 14, 2011 4:21 p.m.

    So.....wait for Black Friday/week after release price drop? I was gonna pick it up tonight at midnight, and I am a HUGE Assassin's Creed fan, but after reading this review I feel comfortable waiting for the price drop or Black Friday. I know I can trust Mikel's review seeing as how he's as much of an AC fan as I, probably more. I'm already swamped playing Skyrim and Uncharted 3 as it is. Well, thanks for the heads up Mikel!
  • Gibsonsg527 - November 14, 2011 3:43 p.m.

    I am getting tired of these yearly releases.
  • Burdmayn - November 14, 2011 3:35 p.m.

    So it looks like the verdict on this game is the same on just about every site. I'm extremely excited to play it, but it sounds like the story will disappoint me. Oh well, as long as it provides some closure and sets us up for ACIII.
  • ypab - November 14, 2011 3:30 p.m.

    8?!?! I was hoping for a higher score... I hope the story isn't too dissapointing.
  • Pwnz0r3d - November 14, 2011 3:29 p.m.

    To be honest, i thought the story to AC2 was rather dull. All it was was just Ezio running around killing the boss of the Templar he just killed, and repeats this process until he reaches Rodrigo Borgia, and *I suppose SPOILER, but you really shouldnt be here unless you completed the second game anyways at least* doesn't even kill him in the end, which left me with a HUGE "then what was the whole point of the game?" feeling. It felt like there was no real sense of purpose, and the bad guys he encountered were all killed literally minutes after they were introduced. It was a great game, oh hell yeah, but the story to me seemed the weakest aspect(I'm not saying it was unbearable, it suited its purpose, just not as well as it should have for a revenge-fueled plot.) of the game as a whole. I enjoyed Brotherhoods story more, because they kept it simple, but not monotonous as in a "Oh hey theres a Templar here, STAB STAB oh crap there goes his boss gotta get him too" mentality. It stuck to one to two bad guys at once, one huge city, and you dealt with one of them in a satisfying end battle. I will pick this up at some point though, even if the story seems lackluster.

Showing 21-40 of 51 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 15 2011 - PS3
Nov 29 2011 - PC
Nov 15 2011 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Montreal
Franchise: Assassin's Creed
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Language, Violence, Mild Sexual Themes
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.