Google+

Assassin's Creed 4: Black Flag review

Back to Article

78 comments

  • RonnyLive19881 - October 29, 2013 7 a.m.

    Why aren't any websites saying anything about the Wii U version?
  • db1331 - October 29, 2013 7:22 a.m.

    LOL. Good one.
  • shawksta - October 29, 2013 9:07 a.m.

    How do you find it as a joke? Whether you like it or not, the Wii U has a third party game, which people are wanting it get more of, where the hell is the review for it, Andy said they didn't show it but is assuming it controls detail things with the gamepad as the PS4's touchpad.
  • db1331 - October 29, 2013 10:08 a.m.

    Here, I'll give you a review: It's the same as the PS3/360 version, except it has gimmicky controls and worse visuals, despite those platforms being about 7 years older than the Wii U. 2.5/5 stars.
  • Vonter - October 29, 2013 11:49 a.m.

    Or it could be better visuals, framerate and less glitches like Arkham Origins, also the commodity of not having to pause to adjust invetory or check the map. I suppose you're dissapointed with the Wii U, but showing hate for hate's sake only makes you blind to the fact that it has shown to be more competent in several 3rd party games. Also at least it's better than 360 still using DVD you could start by that point of having a game split into several discs. Oh well. -_-
  • BladedFalcon - October 29, 2013 2:36 p.m.

    Even assuming it could have improvements, they would be of the marginal kind. Same way Xbox games had "improvements" over PS2 versions, but were never really a game changer or selling points. Almost a year since the Wii U has come out, it's very damn clear what the console is capable of. And the only people that would even care about the differences are those who are still trying to justify their purchase of a Wii U. A point, which is pretty much proven by the fact that the people commenting below you in favor of this topic, are perhaps the two most well known diehard Nintendo fanatics in the site :P
  • Vonter - October 29, 2013 6:40 p.m.

    Well I tried. I rented Arkham Origins on my 360 and I'm kind of regretting not waiting mainly because A) Is a game that copypasted several elements and mechanics from City without any noticeable tweaking. and B) The Wii U version I'm assuming that will not have freeze on me 3 times over the course of 6 hours.
  • BladedFalcon - October 29, 2013 11:08 p.m.

    ...So you're assuming, without really knowing :P Let's put it this way, if the Wii U version was noticeably more stable, I'm pretty sure every site would have made a note of it by now. The fact that they haven't, kinda makes it a safe bet that the Wii U version probably has as many technical issues as the other two do.
  • Vonter - October 29, 2013 11:23 p.m.

    Well after making a rapid search it's noticed that the Wii U version is the best one. I don't know if you have better sources, but I assume Neogaf is a valid source. http://www.meristation.com/nintendo-wii-u/noticias/batman-arkham-origins-mejor-y-mas-estable-en-wii-u/1855193/1922449 http://m.neogaf.com/showpost.php?p=87685129 http://www.revogamers.net/noticias/wii-u/batman-arkham-origins-es-mejor-en-wii-u-segun-test-los-usuarios-12286.html
  • BladedFalcon - October 30, 2013 2:41 a.m.

    I like NeoGaf, but since when has a forum run by people been considered a reliable source? specially because that site is super prone to bias from all sides depending on the topic. The other two are from Spanish outlets... and even though I'm Mexican myself, you'll forgive me for not trusting them :P Specially because both reports are made by the users. Basically, unless you find me official sources from professionals, not users or fans, that verify that the Wii U versions is noticeably better and more stable than the other 2 versions, I'm going to remain skeptic at best :P
  • Dragonslayerr93 - November 5, 2013 3:16 p.m.

    Then why do you have an active profile on this site which is "run by people"? lmao. And, isn't anything ever concieved made or ran by people? I don't see your point, it really seems like you just want to use mommy and daddy language to sound smart over the internet. Do you want your reviews to come from a Zebra? Or how about a Toaster oven gives me a review for Destiny?
  • BladedFalcon - November 5, 2013 4:31 p.m.

    No, I want them to receive my news and reviews by people who were at LEAST smart enough to make it trough college, and not by suckers. ;)
  • RonnyLive19881 - October 30, 2013 5:10 a.m.

    Looks like all of falls releases run best on Wii U... websites just dont care to mention it. http://m.youtube.com/user/ninten2tv?&desktop_uri=%2Fuser%2Fninten2tv
  • BladedFalcon - October 30, 2013 6:39 a.m.

    ...They look almost the same, checked both the ACIV and the Arkham Origin's video, and even side by side it's clear to see that they are almost identical. At most, the colors popped a bit more in the Wii U version, but that's it, the frame-rate looked the same, the textures were all the same. This pretty much proves my point: If a game runs better on Wii U, it's a marginal difference at best.
  • RonnyLive19881 - October 30, 2013 9:50 a.m.

    The resolution was a no contest for the Wii U version, made the character models and environment look loads better. It looks like it doesn't have the extra moving foliage and water physics though which is a shame because the Wii U could do it. From all of the accounts I have seen so far the differences between PS3 and PS4 graphics are minimal at best so it really is something the Wii U could have done no problem.
  • shawksta - October 30, 2013 1:03 p.m.

    Woops wrong reply, forget that
  • shawksta - October 30, 2013 12:58 p.m.

    My main point in all this is that people asked for the Wii U to get third party like the other 2, here's one and as the same day instead of being late,, and yet they are still ignorant about it. You don't have to like it, but don't pretend it isn't what you asked for to make the console have a good step. I don't care about versions either, buy the f*cking game on whatever.
  • BladedFalcon - October 30, 2013 1:34 p.m.

    Um... wot? How are people ignorant that there is a Wii U version? this was known back from when the game was announced, and even now you can see it in the details for the game in this review that the game is available on Wii U. I that what you meant? ._. Additionally, i don't think I was bashing the Wii U version, or that it was a bad thing, just that I don't think it warrants special mention over the other two *shrugs*
  • shawksta - October 30, 2013 2:04 p.m.

    I didn't say you were, nor gamesradar. If you recall who I was originally replying to, that type of ignorance is what I'm talking about, it's not even him specifically but the attitude of just ignoring that a Wii U version exists when someone asks about it. I was in an stressed mood so I admit I overreacted :/ I wasn't even gonna reply but I did. Damn temptation.
  • BladedFalcon - October 30, 2013 3:18 p.m.

    He wasn't even ignoring that fact that a Wii U version existed. He just laughed at the idea that the Wii U version warranted special mention.
  • shawksta - October 30, 2013 8:17 p.m.

    Yeah i know, but it still felt like ignorance. You shouldnt throw off a version of a game just because someone asked about it. Its already immature we had people who did nothing but laugh at the PS3 version of Skyrim with its bugs.
  • shawksta - October 30, 2013 1:05 p.m.

    I don't care about versions, you want the game, buy it for whatever gaming machine you got. My main point in all this is that people asked for the Wii U to get third party like the other 2, here's one and as the same day instead of being late,, and yet they are still ignorant about it. You don't have to like it, but don't pretend it isn't what you asked for to make the console have a good step.
  • RonnyLive19881 - October 29, 2013 4:36 p.m.

    I just want to know if the Wii U version has the cool water effects on deck and the moving grass as you walk through it lol
  • udUbdaWgz - October 29, 2013 6:57 a.m.

    a question i find myself always needing to ask in all games these days, since, i feel it is one of the most most important aspects of gameplay, i say again: does assassins4 allow you to make the game more difficult, intuitive and immersive by turning OFF the hud and other options?? if it does, then, like ALWAYS many of the negatives are negated.
  • Fox_Mulder - October 29, 2013 6:50 a.m.

    Really good to hear the PS4 version is much better in some aspects, makes me glad I'm waiting the extra two weeks for this and Battlefield 4. Great review Andy, haven't been that excited for this one, but your review is helping me come around. It also really helps to know you didn't like AC3, because I've been worried about the franchise as a whole since I finished it. Keep up the good reads.
  • CitizenWolfie - October 29, 2013 5:56 a.m.

    Obviously I can't comment on the gameplay until I've bought it (waiting for the PS4 version) but this review confirms most of my fears I have for the game. I could totally get behind it if it was a new piratey IP, but it seems like such a tenuous link to the Assassin's Creed series that I'm already dreading the story. The biggest issue I had with AC3's story was the fact that Connor was just stumbling upon the legacy of the Assassins and Templars purely by chance and I kind of wanted to play as someone more "worthy" (like Haytham - all his actions were done with a sense of purpose). From reading this review it sounds like Edward will be another dude who just stumbled into the Assassins.
  • GR_AndyHartup - October 29, 2013 6:04 a.m.

    Yeah, Edward is definitely someone who stumbles into it. He's a pirate first, an assassin second. I quite liked that, but I also agree that Haytham was a great character because he's so focused. As I say in the review - the story will divide opinion. Assassin's Creed purists will want a proper, focused AC story with loads of clever assassinations and inventive stealth sections. I want that too - have done since AC2. Black Flag isn't that game, but it's a damn good pirate sim, and in that respect, I really enjoyed it.
  • CitizenWolfie - October 29, 2013 6:56 a.m.

    That's cool. Perhaps I will go into it with a "this is going to be an awesome pirate sim" mindset rather than a "this is going to be a terrible AC game" one.
  • VideoKilledTheRadioStar - October 29, 2013 3:12 p.m.

    From what I've seen, he's really an Assassin in name only. While Connor stumbled into it, he was certainly committed. Edward's just there for his own self-interest. I'm curious how this guy's seed helped birth two (if nothing else) devout individuals. Haven't read the books on the lore sadly.

Showing 41-60 of 78 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 19 2013 - PC
Nov 15 2013 - PS4
Nov 22 2013 - Xbox One
Q4 2013 - PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: PC, PS4, Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft Montreal
Franchise: Assassin's Creed
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.