Google+

Alan Wake super review

Back to Article

67 comments

  • GamesRadarCharlieBarratt - May 5, 2010 5:34 p.m.

    The Silent Hill 2 comparison is a mistake leftover from a previous draft of the review. We had some tech issues getting this article live and that error is one of the unfortunate byproducts. The comparison was written only with Homecoming in mind, not Silent Hill 2.
  • Setre - May 5, 2010 5:31 p.m.

    Good review Charlie. I'll be picking up Alan Wake day one despite its falws.
  • TURbo - May 5, 2010 3:38 p.m.

    BIAS BIAS BIAS BIAS YOU NEVER PLAYED Silent Hill 2 according to the TalkRadar podcast in TalkRadar 25. Which means you don't know much or care about the Silent Hill franchise. Therefore you are bias. *I never played any of the Silent Hill games. Guess the 3 year delay did help Alan Wake.
  • philipshaw - May 5, 2010 2:56 p.m.

    Why is Silent Hill 2 grouped with Homecoming, SH2 is a masterpiece and Homecoming is really mediocre
  • WillisTron - May 5, 2010 2:34 p.m.

    A little disappointing, still will probably pick it up though
  • thesuperspacejew - May 5, 2010 2:12 p.m.

    For all the "hype" (for lack of a better word) this game received, I would've thought it would have received a higher score.
  • allthegoodnameswheretaken - May 5, 2010 2:04 p.m.

    >The confusing lack of closure Dude DLC and Sequels what's wrong with you?
  • thelegendaryX - March 29, 2014 7:35 p.m.

    There's no closure in the DLCs either, and there shouldn't be any. Psychological Thrillers tend to leave you hanging, particularly ones that play like a TV series, particularly ones that start off by essentially telling you "We're not gonna answer all of your questions, so don't be looking for closure" :P
  • ayreon - May 5, 2010 1:42 p.m.

    Video review: Gladriel: http://www.gladriel.com/videoFull/content/1661/ Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SxOvsJOnjPM
  • crumbdunky - May 5, 2010 1:37 p.m.

    Well, I was already on the fence with Alan Wake after the way the combination of MS and Remedy shafted PC gamers who'd waited five years and watched mostly their footage used to promote the game on the rare occasions we got a glimpse! Now, however, you have to question whether those concessions(like the shrinking of the game world and loss of sandbox elements that were much vaunted before the 360 launch-seriously, this game's taken THAT long!)were game design choices now, or whether they were brought about to better suit the single platform release-IDK? Whatever, it's the same worries we all already had that seem not to have been sorted out and that's a bit disappointing, imo, as I#d expected a game like this, and with so much time spent on it, to REALLY shine and make my qualms about there treatment of PC gamers insignificant next to my desire to just play the game that I (partly) bought my 360 to play in the very first place! Slightly confusing SH2 comparisons aside it just seems like another good game when we'd all expected this to be the one that finally challenged U2's console looks and slickness crown for the 360-as it stands, from a few reviews, it looks like another good effort that just fails to be special exactly like SC:C managed. Not a day one buy for me as like many I'll be waiting til the price drops in this year of constant gaming treats-with so many goosd releases about I've saved my cash for the truly special ones to buy at release(like GOW3 and ME2) and I really imagined Remedy would have caused me to sack my morals over this one.Oh well.
  • Psylockerules - May 5, 2010 1:15 p.m.

    Looks like a prettier Silent hill shatterd memories but with guns im definately picking it up when it goes cheap
  • Rascanuvols - May 5, 2010 12:50 p.m.

    I don't know where to start... 1.- Why is SH: Homecoming and SH2 together? Have you even played these games? Credibility suddenly turned 0. 2.- SH2 monsters are weird for weird sake? Probably it is the one and only game in history where each monster has a deep meaning. Seriously, have you even played it? Credibility 3.- Alan Wake, a game that is receiveng mixed reviews for its unoriginal story and storytelling, a game that scored a not-so-great 8 in this same review, is better than a game that you, in this same site, consider to be one of the "Citizen Kane" of videogames? This is one of the most absurd reviews in the net. Period.
  • Octoboy - May 5, 2010 12:13 p.m.

    Better than Silent Hill 2? Nice way of throwing all your credibility out the window.
  • db1331 - May 5, 2010 12:09 p.m.

    Exactly what I thought it would be. Nowhere near worthy of all that hype. Kudos for not giving it an automatic 9 or 10.
  • FreekinIdiot - May 5, 2010 11:50 a.m.

    Hmmm I'm a little disappointed to hear about the boring enemy types and repetitiveness of certain missions. Might wait for Red dead instead.
  • thelegendaryX - March 29, 2014 7:38 p.m.

    There's no more repetition in Alan Wake than other shooters. In fact, I'd argue that there's less. They ALL have repeating enemy models. But they don't all allow you to dodge, or use a flashlight as a weapon or mode of defense, or use anything in a way similar to the way flares are used in this game, or do any of this in the same type of environments and general predicaments as Alan Wake will put you in. Play it to kill or run from the enemies, not count them, and you'll be fine ;)
  • gamesradar_george1 - May 5, 2010 11:19 a.m.

    I've played the first hour and a half or so of Alan Wake, and my main disappointment was the way the majority of the game seemed to be spent wandering around in the dark waving a torch about at a fairly generic enemy. I did, however, admire the Twin Peak's weirdness of Bright Falls, but don't think they used it as well as they could. Mind you I didn't play enough to be able to form a judgement on what score it would get...
  • Imgema - May 5, 2010 10:43 a.m.

    It seems like another game that doesn't have much to offer except for a storyline. Not unlike most games of the current generation. Everyone seems to care more about well directed cutscenes and FMVs, plots and character personalities. Why don't they just make movies instead and we all forget that videogames ever existed? Also, better than Silent Hill 2? Really? And why is Silent hill 2 along with homecoming?
  • ayreon - May 5, 2010 10:38 a.m.

    The newest Alan Wake review http://www.gladriel.com/reviewFull/content/1281/ Video review will be also released in 1 hours (with Miss Hungary 2007 :P)
  • FinderKeeper - May 5, 2010 10:32 a.m.

    Ruh-roh. I hope they didn't put so much effort into getting the "cinematic feel" right that they forgot to make the actual gameplay interesting. I read elsewhere that the creators were influenced by David Lynch... perhaps they should have made the enemies a bit more interesting (like the ones in "Blue Velvet", for instance?) Is Alan Wake going to end up being considered the 360's answer to "Heavy Rain"? Zoinks!

Showing 41-60 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Remedy
ESRB Rating:
Teen
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.