Google+

Alan Wake super review

Back to Article

67 comments

  • Amnesiac - May 6, 2010 1:35 a.m.

    Jesus. Make one error accidentally kind-of comparing a game to Silent Hill 2 and some alarm goes off in the blackest parts of the internet, drawing a swarm of people who haven't played the full game to tell you how wrong you are and how you have no credibility. Stay classy, The Internet.
  • mfish27 - May 6, 2010 1:06 a.m.

    The game is a metaphor for a writer's manic mind morphing his fictional mind into the real world and losing the ability to distinguish reality from truth. If Stephen King, like Clive Barker, could work on a game that allows one to play survival horror while immerging in rich storylines all whilst experiencing trhe diversity of his creatures and enemies; that would be something to see
  • CH3BURASHKA - May 5, 2010 10:56 p.m.

    I'm surprised Deadly Premonition isn't in the "Is It Better Than" category, seeing as how it's the exact same game. I love Remedy and especially Sam Lake. I've been looking forward to this for years (less than some, but still a long time). Now it's finally here. I wonder how Max Payne 3 will fare, seeing as how he ain't on the Remedy team anymore.
  • DriveShaft - May 5, 2010 9:08 p.m.

    I had wanted this game so bad since about 2005-2006, until they neglected the PS3. Kinda glad to see I won't be missing out on too much - but just by looking at the style of the game you'd think it would be on PS3, eh? Regardless, I still think of Max Payne as one of the best series in gaming.
  • cart00n - May 5, 2010 8:45 p.m.

    Wait, doesn't this game come out in two weeks? What's with the early review? reCaptcha: gassy like
  • Blackout1881 - May 5, 2010 8:29 p.m.

    Dunno why anyone would be turned off of the game after reading the review like some seem to be, the story and characters seem to be great which is an amazing feat in a video game. Unfortunate that the game is a bit repetitive but the rest of it being good is the most important part to me. Good review.
  • zanthox - May 5, 2010 7:56 p.m.

    But is it better than Deadly Premonition?
  • thelegendaryX - March 29, 2014 7:28 p.m.

    IMO, yes.
  • Spybreak8 - May 5, 2010 7:26 p.m.

    Red Dead Redemption it is then! Thx although I'll prob pick this up later.
  • magicwalnuts0 - May 5, 2010 7:03 p.m.

    Sounds like PC gamers would have enjoyed this better than the Halo/Gears of War all action shit story fans.
  • allthegoodnameswheretaken - May 5, 2010 6:47 p.m.

    @Analogesque that's exactly what I meant they're going to make you pay for the ending
  • gilgamesh310 - May 5, 2010 6:21 p.m.

    It's hard to know what gamesradar genuinely think about some games they review. Most of the review was filled with very negative comments about the game but they still gave it a very decent score. It seems if a game is anyway entertaining it gets a 10 and anything less than a 10 is just an above average game. Was it really even necessary to complain about product placement, couldn't you guys not see the funny side of it?
  • thelegendaryX - March 29, 2014 7:29 p.m.

    "Was it really even necessary to complain about product placement, couldn't you guys not see the funny side of it?" My thoughts exactly! Particularly the, umm, commercial break. That was a nice touch.
  • ranivus - May 5, 2010 6:11 p.m.

    For fux sake man its 2010. If you drones are all easily influenced by reviewers like this then by all means follow the mainstream. Make your own goddamn decisions and quit knocking it before you try it. As for me, I'll hold judgement after it comes to me in the mail. It is 2010 after all and there are things like GF around. Catchpa: Messiah truth
  • Analogesque - May 5, 2010 5:56 p.m.

    How the game ends. That's what I meant to write. Sorry guys, I'm from Sweden. Please bear with my grammatical errors.
  • GamesRadarCharlieBarratt - May 5, 2010 5:56 p.m.

    @TURbo You're wrong. I have played and finished Silent Hill 2... twice. Not sure what TalkRadar quote you're referring to, but knowing TalkRadar, it may have been some kind of failed attempt at humor.
  • Analogesque - May 5, 2010 5:54 p.m.

    "Dude DLC and Sequels what's wrong with you?" Well, I like to get proper endings in games I pay full price for. I mean, paying an extra ten bucks just to know what the game ends like? No thank you.
  • thelegendaryX - March 29, 2014 7:32 p.m.

    What are we talking about, exactly? Alan Wake's DLC doesn't progress the story. And when it comes to Psychological Thrillers (especially ones that begin by telling you flat-out the devs are big fans of NOT giving you answers), the ending of Alan Wake is about the level of closure anyone should expect.
  • GamesRadarCharlieBarratt - May 5, 2010 5:52 p.m.

    And now the Silent Hill 2 / Silent Hill: Homecoming error has been corrected. Thanks to the half dozen of you who so very pleasantly pointed it out.
  • ayreon - May 5, 2010 5:40 p.m.

    Alan Wake HD video review with Miss Hungary :P http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SxOvsJOnjPM&hd=1

Showing 21-40 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Remedy
ESRB Rating:
Teen
PEGI Rating:
16+