FIFA 17 adds Japanese J1 League as one of the first new sets of teams

For months, we’ve been tracking an independent fan poll ranking the most wanted new leagues in FIFA 17. But the one EA has confirmed for its next footy effort is neither Israeli or Turkish: instead, the game is getting a Japanese flavour. 

All 18 teams from the nation’s J1 league are to be included in this year’s game, including Nagoya Grampus (former home to Arsene Wenger and Gary Lineker), Jubilo Iwata (where the current side features one-time England international Jay Bothroyd), and Sagan Tosu, whose away strip looks more like something barfed into a Newquay surf shop bargain bin. 

Correct, updated logos, kits and squads are promised, with players from all 18 clubs newly available in Ultimate Team.  

Suita City Football Stadium – home to Gamba Osaka – will also be debuting as a result of the link-up. 

EA is promising “news on other leagues, teams, and stadiums” closer to launch, so there may yet be hope for Maccabi Tel Aviv and Elazigspor.

FIFA 17 is out on PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Xbox 360 and PC on 29 September.  

Found something newsworthy? Tell us!

Ben Wilson

I'm GamesRadar's sports editor, and obsessed with NFL, WWE, MLB, AEW, and occasionally things that don't have a three-letter acronym – such as Chvrches, Bill Bryson, and Streets Of Rage 4. (All the Streets Of Rage games, actually.) Even after three decades I still have a soft spot for Euro Boss on the Amstrad CPC 464+.