Google+

WWE 12 review

Back to Article

22 comments

  • wizardc - March 3, 2012 1:49 a.m.

    If this was my first ever WWE game, I'd probably rate it a "4-star," but because I played every game in this franchise since 2005, I'm a tad confused as to why THQ has decided to take a different direction this time around. The only thing that may be better are the graphics(may be!) If you have already played WWE games before, get ready to re-learn controls one more time as they have revamped them. Many striking moves will get reversed often by a cheap AI. Even at the EASY and sliders in your favor, it will happen at high-rate, making an arcade experience almost non-existent. Of course some will say that "I suck," but hey, if you are new to the franchise, there will be a punishing learning curve. Also a very notable change is there is no soundtrack: Just one subtle tune playing throughout the menu. Still if you are willing to put up with all that, there are plenty of game modes and variety to keep you entertained throughout the game.
  • AlphaDogZero - December 9, 2011 3:13 a.m.

    What a relief. Saw the low score from game informer and I was like "whaaaat?". I knew I could count on GR.
  • BboyWill1 - November 27, 2011 10:44 a.m.

    I looked up this article specifically for your review. Since you gave it the nod, I will definetly pick this one up. Thanks
  • ProfessionalSlacker - November 24, 2011 9:02 a.m.

    This might sound like a wierd question, but does the new game allow inter-gender single matches? In earlier games i would create a woman, and while not able to hold a real title, i would build them up and have them kick everyone's ass just to keep things interesting
  • CitizenWolfie - November 23, 2011 8:27 a.m.

    When did Lucha Libre come out? I must have totally missed it. Anyway, always been a huge Smackdown fan and look forward to it every Christmas. One more question though, does it take long to get used to the new control scheme? GamesMaster UK said there's tons of things that the tutorials gloss over and that you're pretty much left to find out some of the finer points on your own.
  • EdDeRs1 - November 23, 2011 7:56 a.m.

    please tell me there are variations of Masked Kane and not just the one in the game, as well as differnt Undertakers (classic, MoD, biker) and it has stuff like HHH's King of Kings theme and classic Undertaker and Kane themes
  • HeavyTank - November 23, 2011 2:24 a.m.

    God, the PS2 smackdown games were some of my absolute favorites...I spent a ridiculous amount of hours bashing referees with chairs, just because I could...
  • legory - November 23, 2011 12:48 a.m.

    I don't know if WWE 12 is meant to be a completely new series of games, or just a name change to the same series. It seems like the latter. I haven't played a SDvR game since 2009. I used to be a pretty big fan of WWE (who wasn't?) and the games brought some of my best memories in life. While I probably won't pick this up, I'm glad to see the series alive and kicking.
  • Tazerbri - November 22, 2011 7:47 p.m.

    General Manager Mode? How is it?
  • LordZarlon - November 22, 2011 4:09 p.m.

    I have always wondered why THQ went with Yukes and didn't keep Asmik/Ace? Does anybody know anything about this?
  • Stabby_Joe - November 22, 2011 3:51 p.m.

    Kind of figured it would an 8 given the joke about it being an 8 regardless in the last podcast got an awkward reaction from Henry haha! This is starting to be a game with some varied opinions given how high and low some scores have been (although some of the low scores seem odd given all they do is complain about RTWM).
  • onetimebuster - November 22, 2011 3:18 p.m.

    I guess edges back problem was worse than he thought he cant even walk now lol.
  • rooster2814 - November 22, 2011 2:57 p.m.

    What about the difficulty? The past Smackdown games were way too easy , even on legend difficulty. Cheap AI constant reversing was as tough as it got.
  • GR_HenryGilbert - November 22, 2011 4:20 p.m.

    The difficulty has definitely been upped
  • Nate0124 - November 22, 2011 2:33 p.m.

    8 is great.
  • EdDeRs1 - November 22, 2011 2:25 p.m.

    now that is awesome, HHH's King of Kings entrance is in the game, glad u reviewed this one GR, always a bit miffed u didnt with 2011
  • EdDeRs1 - November 22, 2011 2:19 p.m.

    so i wont cancal my preorder then, good to know, now when dose GR want me layeth the smackdown on your collective candy arses?
  • Turbobison - November 22, 2011 2:17 p.m.

    My question, is it better than No Mercy, or is it at least close to that good? Secondly, is the auto-save as bad as last years, in length of time needed to save (That might be the worst sentence constructed).
  • GR_HenryGilbert - November 22, 2011 2:21 p.m.

    In my mind, No Mercy is the gold standard of wrestlers and has yet to be surpassed in pure gameplay. But that series is done. WWE '12 is the only game in town, and thankfully it's pretty darn good. And the overall loading is better too.
  • mothbanquet - November 23, 2011 2:51 a.m.

    Thanks for saying that, my friend and I still share many, many warm memories of No Mercy and I thought it had been all but forgotton. As you said though, it's a good thing that the only thing we have is good nonetheless. It's been a couple of years since my last wrassler so maybe now is finally the time to bring back all my beloved custom characters...

Showing 1-20 of 22 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita
Genre: Sports
Published by: THQ
Franchise: WWE