Google+

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D review

Back to Article

67 comments

  • Gahmah - June 18, 2011 2:38 p.m.

    I like the inserted video Mr. Elston, that really helped your already detailed and informative review, if it isn't too much work, it'd be great to see more small videos of yourself and other reviewers showing off specific features or noteworthy gripes or praise for games, that really got something across that doesn't seem to come through in text.
  • jmcgrotty - June 18, 2011 9:01 a.m.

    The whole integrity of the review is shot, when you make clear that you didn't understand the failures of the original title. Very, very little to praise in the original (seriously, weren't you playing games when it came out??), so saying the remake is as good or better isn't a big leap. That's like saying having herpes is a step up from AIDS. It's true, but neither are good. While I mean all of that, I did purposefully go over-the-top in my venom. This next part, I don't. As for StreetPass features, the honest reason that it isn't included is an obvious one, seriously. Even Nintendo knows StreetPass was a pathetically stupid idea, so they are already phasing it out of the titles. Just like AR will be going the way of the dodo.
  • CataclysmicBane - June 18, 2011 8:06 a.m.

    Looks like it's time to inbox my 3DS.
  • HankVenture - June 17, 2011 10:55 p.m.

    Can not wait to get this.. I understand the 9 for the best game ever made though since it still mainly runs like the original but I played the original (N64, not the gamecube cause Im super old school) and I had almost no issues with it so im sure I will give it a 10 in my head
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - June 17, 2011 10:45 p.m.

    Finally time to get a 3DS? I guess so. Great review Brett :)
  • SillyPigeon - June 17, 2011 10:37 p.m.

    I agree no gold cart is a travesty! Can't wait to get this
  • Fro4show - June 17, 2011 10:09 p.m.

    For everyone who cares, Halo Reach is not that great, just sayin. I have tried several times but I haven't ever been able to keep my attention for OoT alive for more than 5 minutes. I want to love it but so far I have been unable to(several obstacles got in the way of that). Hopefully this will help.
  • TheKey - June 17, 2011 9:56 p.m.

    A 9? WTF THIS REVIEWER IS SHIT, ALL SAYS HE IS A DIRTHEAD. HE CAN GO DIE IN A PIT......There's my attempt at humor. I think a 9 seems like a fair score, and is an extremely good one. If anyone bitches about it not being a ten, they need to go choke on their own nostalgia. I love the game, but I doubt that it's the greatest game of all time. And no-one will stop you from saying it's the greatest game ever, even if you're wrong. Good review Brett.
  • jasoncarter - June 17, 2011 9:46 p.m.

    This just oozes memories from my past. I cannot wait to get this this coming week!
  • Grimi - June 17, 2011 9:37 p.m.

    Yay what a perfect time for my 3DS to be stolen, was really looking forward to playing this
  • MonocledYaoGuai - June 17, 2011 9:21 p.m.

    Honestly Brett, all you had to say was it's Ocarina of Time and I would have gone out and bought a copy immediately. What can I say, I've played through it over 30 times, I do an annual run, most of the time more than 3 times in a single year, and is in my opinion the 2nd best Zelda of all time (#1 is Majora). I don't have a 3DS, but rest assured I'll start saving up.
  • Redeater - June 17, 2011 8:48 p.m.

    This review just needed to be 3 words long. Go buy it!
  • mylittlepwny0802 - June 17, 2011 8:36 p.m.

    Seriously, when are the Halo Reach comments going to stop? I hope GR gives Halo 4 a 7 just for the lolz
  • dcbernman - June 17, 2011 8:24 p.m.

    If someone chucked a few hundred dollar bills my way, no catch, one of the first things that would come to mind that I would want to buy would be a 3DS and Ocarina of Time 3D. A true classic and testament to the greatness of games new and old, representing the 90s, an awesome decade in gaming!
  • Tenfey - June 17, 2011 8:23 p.m.

    I need to know if this version lets you skip the tedious drawn out story sequences that always put me off replaying the N64 version. Yes, I know the goddesses made Hyrule and that Gannondorf is bad, can I please just continue playing the game.
  • MsSmith - June 17, 2011 7:49 p.m.

    only a 9? geez brett, why do you hate legend of zelda so much? :P
  • Clovin64 - June 17, 2011 7:39 p.m.

    Nice review Brett! I've never played a Zelda before, but I'm quite enjoying this on my 3DS so far. I agree though, I've bumped into several sections in which my objectives were too vague and I ended up wandering around towns chatting to NPC's for half an hour. At least I'm in familar territory, since I've played through okami before, and the similarities are pretty striking.
  • Z-man427 - June 17, 2011 7:38 p.m.

    I don't think anyone is surprised by the score. I've never been a Zelda fan, but this has had me all kinds of excited for the last year. It's one of the main reasons why I bought a 3DS at launch. I've been playing Link's Awakening on the Virtual Console and I'm loving it. I'll be in Oregon when this releases so I had my cousin preorder it for me. No sales tax is a beautiful thing. And he's a hardcore Zelda fan. He spent something like $200 on a replica Master Sword.
  • Taxtm - June 17, 2011 7:20 p.m.

    Good to see my reserving this wasn't wasted and it's just as GODDAMN AMAZING as I'd hoped!
  • Spybreak8 - June 17, 2011 7:14 p.m.

    Awesome but the 3DS needs a better lineup for me to decide to upgrade.

Showing 21-40 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 19 2011 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes