Google+

The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds review

Excellent
Back to Article

49 comments

  • Jackonomics - November 17, 2013 2:23 p.m.

    Even if I ever own 3DS, I don't like Overhead Zelda, it's too shitty.
  • shawksta - November 17, 2013 7:50 p.m.

    Heh, you sound like my Brother. He was surprised how well Link Between Worlds did, with the whole open world choice based system, and he knows its impressive but he just doesnt like top down Zelda so he's reluctant to to try the game when its available.
  • Trixtor - November 23, 2013 9:02 a.m.

    U miss spelled Different.
  • Jackonomics - November 23, 2013 1:09 p.m.

    I just don't like Overhead Zelda
  • fullmetallegend - November 25, 2013 3:27 p.m.

    I definitely understand where you're coming from, if it wasn't for the $30 of eShop money I had received, I would've never bought this game. However, now I can't put it down, simply because it's updates to the Zelda formula, as well as great puzzles, are just so... great. What I'm really trying to say is, you should definitely be excited for the next true 3D Zelda game, because if they apply the new features in this game, and then some, it will be the best Zelda game ever.
  • CitizenWolfie - November 15, 2013 7:01 a.m.

    Sorry about the double post but I forgot to ask: Can you finish the game without renting items? It sounds like an interesting idea but I like the tradition of working my way through the dungeons in order.
  • GR_LorenzoVeloria - November 15, 2013 9:52 a.m.

    Nope, you will need to rent items. Some dungeons require certain items to enter then you'll need to use those items to get through the puzzles. It's breaking tradition a little, but there is no real order to the dungeons.
  • CitizenWolfie - November 15, 2013 10:10 a.m.

    Thanks for that. I'm a little disappointed but I guess it'll be interesting to play Zelda in a new way
  • CitizenWolfie - November 15, 2013 6:59 a.m.

    I sometimes feel like the only Zelda fan in the world who isn't keen on A Link to the Past :( I've tried many times to get into it but I just can't. I'm really looking forward to this though. I'm glad the 3D effects are used well as I tend to play with the slider about 3/4 up. The story sounds like it could be important as well so this is definitely going to be essential in my (finally) growing 3DS collection.
  • D4XX - November 15, 2013 12:12 a.m.

    Great review. I for one am super excited for this new addition the franchise. I sort of did a step back and went from Skyward Sword to the original DS to play Phantom Hourglass (it's the only Zelda DS game I can find locally), and I hated the touch screen controls but loved the game regardless, so going from that to this new addition has me a little crazy :) Not entirely sure how I feel about some of the more simplistic additions I've been hearing about, but it looks great. Can't wait to try it.
  • Shigeruken - November 14, 2013 10:33 p.m.

    Man that 2d mechanic just looks insufferable. I think that would completely break my immersion in the game. I'm glad the game itself is good though, if the digital version isn't marked up by a ridiculous amount for NZ I might play it.
  • Nikku7 - November 14, 2013 4:14 p.m.

    Graphical style in Zelda games has never bothered me very much. I just like that they change it up. There are some styles i have liked more than others but none so far have put me off of a Zelda game. My only concern with this one is that item renting system's potential for ruining the fun of discovering new items. But item upgrades and the late story twists sound about the most exciting thing there to me.
  • PlainLikeVanilla - November 14, 2013 2:55 p.m.

    Been hearing a lot of mixed things about this one.
  • shawksta - November 14, 2013 3:55 p.m.

    It really depends on how you personally look at it. Otherwise most of the reviews were all positive, with Destructoids being only mixed. In the end of the day, it depends on what your going into it expecting, Link between worlds is a homage to Link to the Past build from it for a sequel with it's own surprises and a new spin on the item system. Go into it expecting something else entirely like a brand new never before seen experience, of course your gonna be disappointed. Especially if you don't like how it's borrowing from Link to the Past since this is the point of the game.
  • Earthbound_X - November 14, 2013 6:55 p.m.

    Really? Cause all I've seen so far is 2 nines, and a perfect 10.
  • Earthbound_X - November 14, 2013 6:58 p.m.

    So far it has a 91 on Metacritic 31 positive, one mixed, where's the a lot?
  • g1rldraco7 - November 14, 2013 1:23 p.m.

    What a great review by a Zelda fan, thank you Lorenzo :)
  • larkan - November 14, 2013 12:56 p.m.

    Wow...it looks like they Yoshi 64'd this game in terms of cute graphics. Not a compliment.
  • talleyXIV - November 14, 2013 12:55 p.m.

    It's really incredible that Nintendo has never slipped up on a Zelda game, every single one is just gold.

Showing 1-20 of 49 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 22 2013 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Adventure
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Fantasy Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.