Google+

Skyrim review

Astonishing
Back to Article

137 comments

  • RonnyLive19881 - November 11, 2011 10:06 p.m.

    This is not better than Skyward Sword. That is all.
  • mothbanquet - November 12, 2011 1:21 a.m.

    I love Zelda games too but by their very nature none of them are, or could be, as epic or deep as this. I know it hurts but yes, this is better than Skyward Sword...
  • RonnyLive19881 - November 12, 2011 6:27 a.m.

    I'm 3 hours into to Skyrim(got to the first city, talked to the lady blacksmith and did what she said and got the little dagger and then turned it off) and I don't even find it better than Links Awakening. Feels a lot like Oblivion to me and that isn't a bad thing but it certainly doesn't make it better than Zelda. Elder Scrolls has nothing on the Zelda franchise.
  • Pull88 - November 15, 2011 5:52 a.m.

    What? elder scrolls are rpg's for men where as zelda games are child friendly thats the only thing zelda has over any elder scrolls title, thats it, fact!
  • JackFrost14 - November 29, 2011 2:57 p.m.

    haha watch out for this guy and his"rpg's for men" dude people like you are what's wrong with gaming today
  • djharris10 - January 13, 2012 1:55 p.m.

    ummm...buddy I know this is a late time to add a comment to your comment but how can you possibly think about comparing games made by 2 different companies, now if Nintendo made skyrim, or if Bethesda made legend of zelda, okay you can talk, but for you to consider comparing 2 completely games like that? not to mention, sure skyward sword has it's advantages, but you have to look at the situation that they're 2 completely different franchises, with 2 completely different types of lore, so consider that before you compare it, I for one thought it better than skyward sword because it has a lot of good things and it's more open world than legend of zelda, no offense
  • Mezolitik - November 12, 2011 5:38 a.m.

    Why is every game ever being compared to Skyward Sword? I await the day when Zelda becomes the benchmark for racing games and sandbox horse grooming games too.
  • pr0tostar - November 11, 2011 6:38 a.m.

    Niche gamer Wants to comment! GamesRadar readies BIAS REVIEW. It's super Effective! Niche gamer fainted.... "Least I have chicken..." j/k, good review actually. I'm just not a fan of ye olde questing game.
  • winner2 - November 11, 2011 4:40 a.m.

    Questions for all of those who got it for 360 already - is it really that buggy? What are the really obvious and immersion killing bugs? And does the patch fix them or does it really not seem to make a difference? Anyway...REALLY ticked that gamestop wouldn't let me pick this up yesterday a little early like I heard people have been doing. Now i've gotta sit and daydream through school cause I don't wanna risk my exam exemptions with an absence...
  • D0CCON - November 11, 2011 9:42 p.m.

    I got it on 360, have played it for 6 hours (and I've owned it 6.5-7 hours), and during that time, I had one bug in the first ten minutes (5 if not for building my character) where an NPC I was supposed to follow wouldn't move and I had to reload a save. After that, there was one time where some fruit on a plate was twitching around by itself, but besides that there was nothing. No crashes, no glitchy enemies, no nothing getting stuck on anything, just an NPC that wouldn't move and some weird fruit.
  • mothbanquet - November 12, 2011 1:19 a.m.

    Likewise, been playing it for about 9 or 10 hours and the only bug I've seen is the first dead dragon's skeleton mysteriously relocated itself to right outside the main entrance of a major town. Which in itself isn't too bad but it did scare the crap outta me... xD
  • frankenfurter - November 11, 2011 2:34 a.m.

    I'm definitely going to get skyrim, love the elder scrolls series to bits. Have to say though that I preferred Morrowind to Oblivion. People will bark on about the combat system being better in oblivion but I enjoyed Morrowinds story much more and the scale of Morrowind seemed much grander,with more variety of weapons and armour, especially with the expansions Bloodmoon and Tribunal. Shivering Isles was cool though.
  • mothbanquet - November 12, 2011 1:17 a.m.

    You're not alone there. I loved Oblivion but Morrowind had much more depth and intrigue, and as a result it felt far, far more alive. This is what I feel when I play Skyrim - Bethesda has rediscovered what made Morrowind so amazing and they've merged it into what made Oblivion so jaw-dropping in it's time.
  • spideralex90 - November 11, 2011 12:41 a.m.

    I think I'm one of very few people who haven't the slightest interest in this game. I know, I know, burn me at the stake.
  • 435 - November 11, 2011 2:04 a.m.

    Nope. Right there with you, brother. My interest in Bethesda games ended about ten minutes before the end of Fallout 3.
  • kono-sekci-bist - November 11, 2011 4:25 a.m.

    dude, i thought the same thing.... fallout 3 compared to skyrim is like battlefield bad company 2 compared to call of duty black ops. If you dont get what im saying (im saying that black ops sucked shit and so did fallout 3
  • BackwaterRifle - November 11, 2011 8:26 p.m.

    I would't say it sucked, it just wasn't what you wanted it to be.
  • mothbanquet - November 12, 2011 2:07 a.m.

    Fair enough, those people who care not a jot for spells, swords and deep crafting systems will likely find nothing to change their minds. Still, in this day and age it's refreshing to see a single-player experience this massive, and the polish that's gone into it is nothing short of astounding. So, just like the Arkham games were awesome whether or not you were into Batman, Skyrim does the same for high fantasy. The game itself is good enough to enjoy whatever your tastes.
  • Denrok - November 10, 2011 10:32 p.m.

    WHAT??!?!?!?!?! YOU'RE TRYING TO TELL ME THAT THIS GAME IS BETTER THAN HALO: REACH? GAMESRADAR HAS NO FOUNDATION ANYMORE!!!!!!
  • SparkleDevon - November 11, 2011 11:42 a.m.

    Much much much better than Reach.
  • D0CCON - November 11, 2011 9:44 p.m.

    I love Halo Reach and play it to this day, but yeah, freakin Portal has a tough time competing with this (and that's from somebody who agrees with GR's choice to call Portal the best game ever).
  • NinjaPopsicle - November 10, 2011 10:03 p.m.

    You know, considering that many gamers are multi-console owners, it would be nice if reviewers would specify what platform the review is done on, or review both versions to point out any major discrepancies. Especially considering that if you're going to comment on stability, it would be nice to know if one version is more stable than the other, or if there are any major differences (frame rate, texture issues, etc.)
  • jmcgrotty - November 11, 2011 10:30 a.m.

    All reviews on the net before release are Xbox 360 (for this game). Preview copies of the PS3 version weren't sent out.

Showing 21-40 of 137 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 11 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Bethesda
Franchise: The Elder Scrolls
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.