Google+

Skyrim review

Astonishing
Back to Article

137 comments

  • sirdilznik - November 10, 2011 8:44 a.m.

    Man, it's been a great year for western RPGs. Between The Witcher 2, Dark Souls, and now Skyrim, it's been an overload of incredibly high quality RPGs. I can't wait for tomorrow.
  • sirdilznik - November 10, 2011 8:47 a.m.

    I feel weird replying to myself but I feel I should clarify. I know Dark Souls was made in Japan, but it plays a lot more like a western RPG than a jRPG.
  • Squander - November 10, 2011 8:51 a.m.

    yo Mr. White, thats one hell of a year
  • iluvpkmnmonday - November 10, 2011 9:12 a.m.

    Gonna need to stack mad cheddar to buy all these great games.
  • TheZigMan - November 10, 2011 4:24 p.m.

    That just gave me some great lolz
  • Squander - November 10, 2011 8:44 a.m.

    Matthew, have you identified any major differences between the 360 and PS3 version?
  • ObliqueZombie - November 10, 2011 8:45 a.m.

    Outstanding review, Mr. Keast. Much better than any review I've read on any other site, and that's why Game Radar continues to be my favorite. Bravo, on somehow making this game harder to wait for.
  • VigotheCarpathian - November 10, 2011 8:48 a.m.

    sounds epic, I just don't know whether I've got the time to put into it.
  • Corsair89 - November 10, 2011 8:54 a.m.

    GAH!!! It's only 13 hours until midnight!!! The anticipation is driving me mad!
  • Darkhawk - November 10, 2011 8:57 a.m.

    I like the sound of that 10 hour main story. The thing that always drove me away from these in the past was the daunting (and impossible, on my schedule) 100s of hours necessary. Now I know that, like Fallout 3, I can go through the main questi in reasonable time, and dive into sidequests at my choosing. I hope they're still available post-endgame.
  • sirdilznik - November 10, 2011 9:17 a.m.

    The main quest in Oblivion was completable in 10 hours, probably less. Morrowind's main quest was probably closer to a minimum of 15 hours. Of course in TES games I usually forget about the main quest for hours and hours on end and just do different things for a while, sometimes not even side quests, just exploring and dicking around. Skyrim's towns' roofs are about a day away from this guy jumping around on them.
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - November 10, 2011 9:32 a.m.

    The game continues after you beat the main story, so you can keep coming back to it forever.
  • db1331 - November 10, 2011 10:06 a.m.

    The Dragons don't stop spawning once you beat the main story, correct?
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - November 10, 2011 10:10 a.m.

    I'm not sure if they "spawn" or if there are actually a specific number of them in the world. Either way, they're still around after you beat the story.
  • db1331 - November 10, 2011 10:28 a.m.

    That's good. If not, I was going to have to find the 2nd to last line of the main quest and stop there. I think I would miss them if they went away.
  • Burdmayn - November 10, 2011 9:07 a.m.

    I'm REALLY tempted to buy this game now but I have so much to play already... The question is whether I want to add this to my backlog on day one or not. I already bought MGSHD Collection, Cave Story 3D, MW3, Uncharted 3, Arkham City, Sonic Generations. Dear god... My friends and family won't see me for about a year because of this holiday gaming season. There are still 4 more games I want to buy in addition to Skyrim! My head is going to explode.
  • CaptCOMMANDO - November 10, 2011 9:11 a.m.

    And I am sold!
  • NanoElite666 - November 10, 2011 9:27 a.m.

    Must... have... game...
  • TriforcePlayer - November 10, 2011 9:35 a.m.

    Compare it to Witcher 2
  • Ariaka - November 10, 2011 11:46 a.m.

    I do suspect that The Witcher and Skyrim are slightly different games. The Withcer is easily more comparable to KoTOR or Mass Effect, where Skyrim is more easily comparable to Oblivion and Dark Souls. I can't wait, however, for tomorrow. It sounds like shits and giggles galore XD And really excited to hear about: A) Dual Wielding. B) Less bugs! XD
  • Austin_SJ - November 10, 2011 9:37 a.m.

    I had to choose between buying Dark Souls and this. I went with Skyrim and can't wait until tomorrow. I also have finished Uncharted 3 and Batman already this month so it has been an amazing few weeks already. What a good time to be a gamer.
  • TheCakeIsaPie - November 10, 2011 9:43 a.m.

    Good review, Matt. I have one question, though. How is the NPCs' AI? Oblivion's was infamously bad, so does this one improve on it?

Showing 21-40 of 137 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 11 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Bethesda
Franchise: The Elder Scrolls
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.