Google+

Super Mario All-Stars: Full Access Preview

Welcome to the first edition of our Full Access Previews!  In each FAP we'll fire up a newly released game (or maybe even preview code of unreleased titles) and walk/talk you through what we're seeing, playing and feeling. Alright, you got us - it's a video preview. But we're calling it FAP anyway.

This episode: Brett, Chris and Henry take you through Nintendo's recent re-re-release of its biggest NES hits, beginning with the industry-changing Super Mario Bros and ending with the star of The Wizard, Super Mario Bros 3. Along the way we discover we've lost all ability to play these games, shamefully dying where our 10-year-old selves would have triumphantly soared to victory. Witness nostalgia melt before your very eyes...

Like this idea? Effing hate it? Let us know in the comments, and don't worry, we're not abandoning text articles, and FAPs won't always be this long - this had four games in one! Think of it as a supplemental TalkRadar...

December 15, 2010

 

Super Mario All-Stars review
Four great games, one great package

 

 

Luigi: A life in the shadows
Explore the rich history of the world's No.1 player 2

 

 

The complete history of Mario RPGs
We chronicle one humble plumber's random encounters with role-playing stardom

We Recommend By ZergNet

71 comments

  • HEYpoleposition - December 22, 2010 12:22 a.m.

    Loving the faps!
  • agentcooper - December 20, 2010 7:39 a.m.

    Do more of these!
  • IAmARobotWhoTurnsIntoATruckAndIFindNoLevityInThis - December 19, 2010 10:45 a.m.

    What do you mean nobody likes Lost Levels? More like nobody likes Doki Doki Panic! Lost levels is AWESOME!
  • dunc12 - December 19, 2010 6:23 a.m.

    DO MORE OF THESE PLEASE THANKS.
  • 8bitBaby - December 18, 2010 4:27 a.m.

    XD that was fun. like being back in the days with my friends taking turns playing and watching each other playing the game. i never played lost levels. but i remember as a kid hearing about it, even tho we had the other SMB2. still these FAPs are pretty cool. finally a fap that i'm not ashamed of if someone walks in on me, while in the middle. XD DX
  • elpurplemonkey - December 18, 2010 3:01 a.m.

    Very much enjoyed this, except for Hank playing Mario 3, he was just too awful at it.
  • Tenfey - December 18, 2010 1:05 a.m.

    Mario madness
  • CancerMan - December 17, 2010 8:13 p.m.

    Excellent, I want more.
  • AndIThoughtHeSmelledLikePizzaOnTheOutside - December 17, 2010 12:28 p.m.

    Miss Trailer trash but this is great too. More please. Mario was called an ahole. Flashback to the tournament? Its like old prize fighters getting their ass kicked by the punching bag! Or that thing that hangs off the ceiling and pitter-patters! So sad and yet so true to life.
  • garfunkling - December 17, 2010 6:21 a.m.

    MOAR!
  • eternal85_gamesradar - December 17, 2010 2:58 a.m.

    God that was F'n amazing!!!!!!!! I had a bunch of thoughts when watching that 1) I wanted to play 2) Memories of getting All-Stars at Xmas 3) In Lost Levels, the difference between Mario and Luigi was Luigi could jump higher, but needed more room to stop, whereas Mario couldn't jump as high, but could stop on a dime 4) The trick in Mario 2 for riding that fly creature to the end of the level (1-3 IIRC), you can also sit on top of the black star thingy and when he does his big jump, if you did a charged jump at the peak of his jump, you'd be able to get up and run to the end of the level 5) SMB3 FTW!
  • Obama69DoctorFunkenstein - December 17, 2010 2:49 a.m.

    awesome quick look, err i mean full access preview.. did enjoy it though
  • SillyPigeon - December 16, 2010 11:13 p.m.

    Loved it loved everything about it more of these please! Think i might get the originals off virtual console this christmas
  • Aforextreme - December 16, 2010 10:51 p.m.

    Wow, this was a treat! I really hope you guys decide to do this for other games, cause I really enjoyed it (and your description of it being "a supplemental TalkRadar" fit perfectly). Good job, guys!
  • santaclouse37 - December 16, 2010 9:02 p.m.

    Awesomely entertaining. Please do this when you get preview codes for unlaunched games.
  • Aeshir - December 16, 2010 8:02 p.m.

    I enjoyed this way too much, especially Brett's frustated growling at The Lost Levels.
  • R_U_Guys_From_British - December 16, 2010 7:33 p.m.

    You'll hear no complaints from me, I love this. Call me a gamesradar fanboy.
  • BornToLose3 - December 16, 2010 2:30 p.m.

    Nice FAP, cant wait for more. good stuff GR
  • hunterXhunter - December 16, 2010 2:22 p.m.

    more MORE!!!
  • DrFred79 - December 16, 2010 1:40 p.m.

    I'm always in for a good FAP ! :p

Showing 1-20 of 71 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.