Google+

Star Wars: The Old Republic review

Great
Back to Article

50 comments

  • tareq - January 9, 2012 5:21 p.m.

    BIAS
  • profile0000 - January 9, 2012 5:38 p.m.

    Four pages? Well done, Coop. You put a hell of a lot of effort into this review, and it really shows. Excellent read, I gotta say. I really want to play The Old Republic, as KOTOR is one of my favorite games of all time, but I can't justify paying for an MMO. Perhaps later in the year.
  • MetroidPrimeRib - January 9, 2012 5:49 p.m.

    Giving a review to an MMO is stupid. At least you didn't say something silly like it had amazing graphics or anything.
  • IChooseUAntistaMON - January 9, 2012 6:29 p.m.

    He did it over a few weeks not like other sites who just played for a while then put a score to their little play time. Coop but a LOT of time into TOR, this is the best review of it
  • Pwnz0r3d - January 9, 2012 7:11 p.m.

    So... I'm expected to dish out $60 on a game then pay $15 a month with no reviews?
  • MetroidPrimeRib - January 9, 2012 8:06 p.m.

    Paying 15 dollars a month for a game at all is hilarious Wait for GW2
  • ObliqueZombie - January 9, 2012 8:36 p.m.

    You fail to understand that, in the long run (and in the short run), you're paying less for "Play to pay" MMOs than you would "Free to play." As for Guild Wars, that's a bit of an anomaly, and while I would never dare the amount of content packed into it, I doubt it would have the consistent updates, content adage, and initial content that big MMOs like this have. I know being "free" at first glance may sound appealing, but it's not as much as you'd be getting. Plus, it'll keep you busy and compelled for months.
  • farsided - January 9, 2012 8:41 p.m.

    SO true!
  • bassfu - January 10, 2012 9:11 p.m.

    Paying X amount for cable/internet/gas/insurance/etc a month is hilarious.
  • MetroidPrimeRib - January 10, 2012 9:22 p.m.

    Comparing TOR to necessities Typical Biodrone
  • babyhenchy1 - January 11, 2012 5:09 p.m.

    Yeah, I've enjoyed The Old Republic a lot so far, but I've gotta agree, that's a really dumb thing to do.
  • Rubberducky - January 9, 2012 5:53 p.m.

    An 8?? Thats like a turd in a box, why should I buy a turd in a box Coop?? Actually it sounds interesting, still waiting on the free trial though so maybe one day.
  • ItBurnsWhenIWii - January 9, 2012 6:13 p.m.

    Hey Cooper great review! I really want to play this but I was wondering how good should my PC be to run it? My computer is old as hell and ran the first Portal game chuggy as shit but it does run downloadable games fine. Is there a super low setting that I may be able to run this game in so that I can enjoy the story?
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - January 10, 2012 10:17 a.m.

    If your PC can barely run Portal then no, it probably can't handle TOR. Look for a free trial first so you can test it out.
  • Cyberninja - January 9, 2012 6:35 p.m.

    sounds fun maybe when i upgrade my computer
  • shawksta - January 9, 2012 6:41 p.m.

    Couldnt have a more trustworthy review,especially since you put ALLOT of time on the game. Awesome job cooper!
  • GR HollanderCooper - January 10, 2012 6:04 p.m.

    Thank you!
  • BladedFalcon - January 9, 2012 7:23 p.m.

    Despite having no plans whatsoever to play this game. I felt compelled to read the review, and it was a pretty good read. Sounds like you did a very great and thorough job cooper ^^ (And it shows, with all the other extra content he released.) Also, i gotta say... being so story focused, and obviously more polished in the less populated sections... This might have ended up being a better single player RPG than an MMO, just saying >>
  • xerroz - January 9, 2012 7:26 p.m.

    An 8? Gamesradar is trolling. This game is at least a 9.5.
  • ObliqueZombie - January 9, 2012 8:32 p.m.

    I guess you misunderstand that 8's are "better than average," and that it's really, really, good. And it's subject to change, if you'd read at least ONE word.

Showing 1-20 of 50 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Dec 20 2012 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: LucasArts and BioWare
Developed by: LucasArts and BioWare
Franchise: Star Wars
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood and Gore, Sexual Themes, Violence, Mild Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.