Google+

Sonic Generations review

Great
Back to Article

66 comments

  • winner2 - October 31, 2011 5:23 a.m.

    Seeing classic sonic in there reminds me of when I was a kid, first game I ever played was sonic 1 on the genesis. So glad they found a way to combine classic and modern and make something great, definitely getting this at some point.
  • db1331 - October 31, 2011 5:15 a.m.

    Best Sonic game since Sonic 2. 8/10. That does say pretty much everything about Sonic.
  • TheCakeIsaPie - October 31, 2011 8:30 a.m.

    Thank you for your plucky commentary, Chuckles. Always nice to hear from you. Wait, weren't you the one who said this game would suck and that we were once again getting our hopes up for nothing? Great prophecy, O wise oracle. What would we do without you? We'd probably be happy.
  • db1331 - October 31, 2011 10:08 a.m.

    Oh I still think it sucks, I was just keeping it to myself. I certainly won't be playing it. And if Justin, being a massive Sonic fanboy, was only moved enough by it to give it an 8, there are probably going to be more than a few gamers out there who are very unsatisfied with it. At least he didn't pull a Dave and do the review off the 3DS game though.
  • CrashmanX - October 31, 2011 10:21 a.m.

    "I won't be playing it" so you're going to judge it? Thank god you're not a reviewer.
  • db1331 - October 31, 2011 10:54 a.m.

    What is with this mentality where you can't tell if a game is good or not by looking at it and applying past experience? If a new Nicholas Cage movie comes out, and I say it looks terrible, nobody says "YOU DON'T KNOW THAT. YOU HAVEN'T SEEN IT!" I do the same thing for a video game though, and all the sudden I don't have a clue as to what I'm talking about. Also, people review games all the time without having actually played them. Just look at the BF3 review on this site.
  • TheCakeIsaPie - October 31, 2011 1:39 p.m.

    Yes, because I'm sure Justin has no integrity and is completely biased. /sarcasm If he gave the game an eight, it's because the game is great. It has a 77 on metacritic right now, so Justin wasn't far off the common consensus.
  • ThatGuyFromTV - October 31, 2011 11:36 a.m.

    Guy doesn't like Sonic, give him a break. I had doubts about the game too. That said, I'm sure Towell had the same idea with past experience (he is quite a fanboy after all), yet he was satisfied with the game. Doesn't look like it's out of denial either, but then again these guys did give MW2 a quick 10 before everyone saw the glitches and the crap story, so it's a crapshoot either way. On a lighter note I wish the comments would remove the profanity filter.
  • kor2disturbed - October 31, 2011 5:13 a.m.

    I've never been a Sonic fan, I've always liked Mario more if you want to go that route with it. I just never understood peoples attraction to Sonic, I mean you just run sideways collecting rings then it's over. But the Sonic Generations demo (at least modern Sonic's level) Blew my mind. You described it all in the review. At the very least I'll consider renting it.
  • The_Tingler - October 31, 2011 3:59 a.m.

    Excellent review Justin, very fair, you explained your score perfectly, and you 100%-ed everything? Damn! Awesome screenshot taking skills, too.
  • Moondoggie1157 - October 31, 2011 3:59 a.m.

    I am so glad to hear Generations succeeded. I haven't been able to enjoy Sonic since Sonic and Knuckles, and as you know, that was a while ago. I do agree that Sonic 2 was his greatest outing though, but I think there is some personal bias there on my part (literally babysat me). Can't wait to pick this up, Sega, you just made my month, thank you for not screwing this up! SONIC FOR PRES. PEACE!
  • taokaka - October 31, 2011 3:35 a.m.

    How does the 3ds version compare because I really want to know which version to get. Great review but does it really have only 80 minutes of unique gameplay, that would probably result in a three hour game for me because I play games slowly but that is still really short.
  • The_Tingler - October 31, 2011 3:58 a.m.

    Note the word "unique", as in, just playing the main stages once. There's loads of filler, bosses, extras, and Sonic 1. As for 3DS, it's a completely different game made by the Sonic Rush team in that style, and not due out until the end of the month.
  • GR_JustinTowell - October 31, 2011 5:04 a.m.

    I don't mean it's 80 minutes long! I mean there are 80 minutes of non-repeating amaze-o action in the main levels if you were to play straight through that. Like I say, I've been hammering it for two weeks and I've only now done everything. There are at least 35 hours of game in there, probably more. But even now, having done everything, I know I'll come back to it.
  • taokaka - October 31, 2011 5:27 a.m.

    Thanks, I was a bit confused but that has helped a lot.
  • MidianGTX - October 31, 2011 8:31 a.m.

    That's what I really wanted to hear. Thanks Justin!
  • san0ake - October 31, 2011 3:32 a.m.

    Justin, you are my favorite game journalist in the whole world and I always look forward to your reviews, but can I ask you something? How is it that Sonic 2 is always better than Sonic 3? Am I the only one who thinks that S3 does laps around S2...? Anyway, I thought you were going to give it an 8.5, but great review, always consistent. Looking forward to break your records, but since I'm still on the demo, I can't top my 1:50.22 seconds...
  • GR_JustinTowell - October 31, 2011 3:41 a.m.

    I think the quality of the level design in Sonic 2 is better than Sonic 3. But that's a whole other debate that I can't get into here :) Incidentally, we only have whole numbers in our scoring system. An 8.something would have been much easier to give! But 8 means great and that's the word I would use here. It's a great game.
  • san0ake - October 31, 2011 10:58 a.m.

    I appreciate you taking the time to respond. I guess I always preferred Sonic 3's verticality over Sonic 2's horizontality, not to mention 3's speed, catchy music and animations. But I guess preferences are preferences. BTW, I haven't realized you guys only used whole numbers. I'm a little saddened that the game turned out to be closer to 8 than 9, but I know it's still great. Kinda sucks that since living in Japan I have to wait another another 10 days to get it...
  • The_Tingler - October 31, 2011 3:57 a.m.

    Yes, you are the only one.

Showing 41-60 of 66 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, 3DS, PC
Franchise: Sonic the Hedgehog

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.