Google+

Rune Factory 2: A Fantasy Harvest Moon review

Great
AT A GLANCE
  • Great twist on series
  • Convenient quest system
  • Simpler farming rules
  • Nothing innovative control-wise
  • Merely serviceable graphics
  • Unmemorable music

The twist in Rune Factory 2 couldn’t shake the series up more if it were wearing knuckledusters and tearing the arms off the townsfolk. We’re not going to say in detail, in order to avoid any spoilers. Suffice to say that anyone who’s been following the Harvest Moon series will be in for a shock and a treat, making this farming-dungeon fighting-flirting RPG an essential addition to the series. And as for newcomers? It’ll be a delight.

The biggest change has to be the chore system. You do favors for the townsfolk in order to progress through the game – getting new tools, the odd seed, increasing your friendship points and so on. The chores are all displayed on the town’s notice board, which makes this more accessible than its predecessor. You can choose when you want to run an errand, pick between the tasks, and therefore eliminate the usual RPG ‘run around, talk to everyone, wait for someone to ask you something after you’ve talked to them 32 times’ thing.

Also, the farming rules are less complicated. You build up your cash by farming different areas (with different monsters to fight), and there’s no confusion over what to plant and when. It’s not dumbed down, it’s just more logical; it’s beautiful, and it works.

Nov 19, 2008

More Info

Release date: Nov 18 2008 - DS (US)
Nov 18 2008 - DS (UK)
Available Platforms: DS
Genre: Simulation
Published by: Natsume
Developed by: Natsume
Franchise: Harvest Moon
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Use of Alcohol, Mild Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

We Recommend By ZergNet

5 comments

  • Sukururu - November 5, 2010 5:42 a.m.

    Well....sounds fun, Imma give it a wirl soon.
  • EricBratcher - December 10, 2008 10:48 p.m.

    I can actually help you out with that. Other than the twist she's referring to, it's almost identical to the first Rune Factory. So, it's a mix between exploring dungeons, farming (strangely fun), and making friends with the townsfolk, eventually getting married. And it's really good. Here's a link to our review for the first Rune Factory. It's way longer and should answer your questions. http://www.gamesradar.com/ds/rune-factory-fantasy-harvest-moon/review/rune-factory-fantasy-harvest-moon/a-20071016132458882059/g-2007101613711288081
  • anduin1 - November 23, 2008 8:06 a.m.

    yea I dont really understand what this game is about from the review
  • ian edgar - November 20, 2008 11:56 p.m.

    I didn't learn anything from this review.
  • evan4604604 - December 21, 2008 9:55 p.m.

    I have a few questions about this game. I noticed that this review isn't very long, and I dont know where i can get my answers to my questions. one of my question's is, how do you get rid of those gates in the fighting area, like when you talk to it, it says something like, "i can pass here now".. and i was wondering how to do that... well if you can answer my question, please e-mail me at: eglass16@yahoo.com Thanks for your help.

Showing 1-5 of 5 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.