Google+

Pokemon HeartGold/SoulSilver review

Great
Back to Article

48 comments

  • Mitchy13LAMF - March 11, 2010 5:55 a.m.

    nniiiiicceeee!!! sooo stoked! now kids will learn what real pokemon are not like the new other one. they really dont look like pokemon at all
  • TheRussianConcussion - March 11, 2010 6:48 a.m.

    How come Brett Elston didn't review this? I would've liked to hear his opinion. Good review regardless.
  • Xplosive59 - March 11, 2010 4:22 p.m.

    how can you put one of the bad points is that it isthe same as gsc, gsc was the best era of pokemon in my oppinion and i strongly believe the pokemon games after were severly laking in comparison. the gsc era games are my absolute favourite so this is an instant buy.
  • Yaro - March 11, 2010 6:12 p.m.

    Also functions as a Max Repel against random girl encounters Gotta love that comment. =)
  • Pocotron - March 11, 2010 8:13 p.m.

    @McSpermie Nothing, I just wanted to say it. But I fail to see how my comment could be viewed as childish. Fanboyish, perhaps, but not childish.
  • Ravenbom - March 11, 2010 8:19 p.m.

    Pokemon review with no Carolyn?
  • GamesRadarMichaelGrimm - March 11, 2010 8:55 p.m.

    @ Ravenbom Yeah :( Carolyn just finished reviewing FFXIII so it wasn't possible for her to squeeze HG/SS into her schedule. She remains the Pokemon Master!
  • Felixthecat - March 11, 2010 9:37 p.m.

    Fuck yeah! Michael Grimm review's are the best! Anyways, I was on the fence over this, I have loved Pokemon ever since Yellow and I was incredibly excited for HG/SS. Sadly, my excitment got kinda shallow for some reason, but now I'm probably gonna buy it, even though Red Steel 2 comes out on exactly the same day in Britian... I'll just buy both.
  • Romination - March 11, 2010 10:02 p.m.

    Gold and Silver are my favourite of these games though. That's why I need to get this. But I have 2 Final Fantasy games and Disgaea for my DS already... that need to be beaten...
  • Conman93 - March 11, 2010 11:07 p.m.

    Looking forward to getting it and battling my rival/friend ( by coincedence, his name is gary !)
  • keroro47 - March 11, 2010 11:22 p.m.

    wow.. i remember when i got yellow... then gold and silver..... this brings back memories
  • marioman50 - March 11, 2010 11:22 p.m.

    I have fond memories of the original Silver, and it's been a while since I've tried catching 'em all. I owe it to myself to re-experience the biggest of all Pokemon games in a new generation.
  • mubobi7593 - March 11, 2010 11:39 p.m.

    Wow, that's genuinely surprising to find out that the Pokewalker isn't just a quick cash-grabbing gimmick... Not that I wouldn't have gotten HG&SS anyway... But does it give EVs while leveling???
  • Kytl - March 12, 2010 1:30 a.m.

    don't care much about the faults, this game is just filled with nostalgia. Silver was my first pokemon game and you can guess which one i'll get. besides, G2 was my favorite, G4 makes me cringe whenever i look at it
  • johnthe5th - March 12, 2010 1:57 a.m.

    I can't wait for this one. The best part for me will be the recurring memories. My favorite Pokemon game was Crystal but I lost it along with Gold and Silver. Just thinking about this brings back a myriad of memories. The bug contest, Ho-oh's tower, Lugia's sea cave, I seem to remember something about an Espeon and Umbreon. I also remember a snow cave with some swinub and delibird. And other things like the Sudowoodo... oh I cant wait! All these subconscious memories will finally come to life!
  • Rubberducky - March 12, 2010 3:10 a.m.

    I have absolutely no clue what Pokemon is about
  • Sanguinarius - March 12, 2010 4:21 a.m.

    The concept of having you prkemon follow you outside of the pokeball really is not that new. I still have my Pokemon Yellow that I won in a raffle and they had a Pikachu that you recieved as your starter follow you around, it even had indicators of its mood. Pokemon yellow came out when Red and Blue did, but it was like a special edtion version with extras such as the pikachu as a starter and a Jesse/James and Meowth (from the show) Team Rocket NPC's that you battle. Overall, I will probably buy this. Silver and Gold were the best that i have ever played of pokemon, mostly because I liked the day/night transition and the special pokemon you could get depending on the time of day. I can't remember but was Pokemon Crystal like Silver and Gold? I remember having it and it had like those dog legendariy pokemon that were like fire/ice/and somthing else. I also remember it having the Unknown (the pokemon shaped like letters that were encryptions) that you could capture. (at least I think they were called Unknown)
  • secretsearcher - March 12, 2010 4:50 a.m.

    Gold/Silver are still my favorites of the generations. So a remake would be fantastic :). But in my opinion, I liked the contests in the Ruby/Sapphire Games. The Diamond/Pearl contests were too gimicky, and now this Pokemon Olympic thing? Wayyyy too cheesy for my tastes.
  • McSpermie - March 12, 2010 7:15 a.m.

    @Pocotron I'll stop here but there are other ways you could have gone about saying what you said, though it wasn't my place to say it was childish because in truth it wasn't, just as you said it was fanboyish which isn't a bad thing at all. Sorry to have offended you :D
  • Sukururu - March 12, 2010 6:11 p.m.

    *drool* All my great childhood memories in a remake....and don't have the console... D=

Showing 21-40 of 48 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 14 2010 - DS (US)
Mar 26 2010 - DS (UK)
Available Platforms: DS
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Game Freak
ESRB Rating:
Everyone
PEGI Rating:
3+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.