Google+

PlayStation All-Stars: Battle Royale review

Back to Article

22 comments

  • F4G1TR0N - November 20, 2012 8:12 a.m.

    I"m excited about this game! Played the Demo and loved it! Also Cross Buy haha!Friend is picking up the Ps3 version and I get the vita! Pretty cool idea Sony is running with!
  • rainn'sgaydar - November 20, 2012 8:14 a.m.

    I'd love to see the "Is it better than" section make a return. Especially with recent reviews like this and LBP Karting. Good review either way. Just a request from a reader :)
  • BaraChat - November 20, 2012 8:19 a.m.

    Ditto. I knew there was something missing in these reviews for the past months, and I could never put my finger on it. That's exactly it! Thank you kind sir. And GR, follow his advice!
  • Bloodstorm - November 20, 2012 8:21 a.m.

    Agreed
  • Blastoise - November 20, 2012 9:05 a.m.

    Hey aren't you that Nintendo fanboy from the Videogamer.com website? Who's trolling about "poor reviews" when the game has only got 1 score under 7? Yeah, I think that's you.
  • rainn'sgaydar - November 22, 2012 3:06 p.m.

    You talking to me? Because the answer is no if you are.
  • ObliqueZombie - November 20, 2012 8:24 a.m.

    I second this.
  • Jordanonfire - November 20, 2012 8:22 a.m.

    Absolutely no mention of how offline play works or what options are available.
  • ultimatepunchrod - November 20, 2012 8:31 a.m.

    It sounds like the supers are the real defining factor here. I played the beta and enjoyed it quite a bit, but some supers (especially Radec's level 3) were outrageously over powered. I wonder if they'll continue to tweak the balance or just wait to implement changes into a sequel.
  • MyCoolWhiteLies - November 20, 2012 8:42 a.m.

    Tying the kills only to the Super Attacks was a HUGE mistake. It makes the Supers the defining moves for each character, and renders the rest of their move lists fairly inconsequential. Being that they did do it, they could have AT LEAST balanced them, but sounds like this is far from the case. It's basically like playing Smash Brothers, except you only get kills with your final smash attacks. And that sounds miserable. If anything, that should have just been a mode, not the core of the game.
  • Letter11 - November 20, 2012 1:43 p.m.

    It seems an odd choice to me as well. I'm interested to try the game out though.
  • Divine Paladin - November 20, 2012 2:02 p.m.

    You sound like you haven't played the game, especially with the comment about it being like playing Smash but only killing with Final Smashes. I've yet to see a truly overpowered Super, and all of the characters have their Supers tuned to match their playstyles. Everybody has one good, one great, and one "meh" Super, with the only exception really being Raiden. People bitched just as much about Smash's kill system at first, I can assure you. This'll find its place in your heart just as easily. TL;DR Supers work fine.
  • shawksta - November 20, 2012 8:55 a.m.

    Great but as asked from someone else, how exactly is offline, is it simply single player and local or is there more?
  • JarkayColt - November 20, 2012 9:16 a.m.

    Good review, although I was really hoping to read more about the single player modes and/or the diversity of the match options. I'm glad the game turned out fairly decently though. Should be a reasonably fun distraction until the next Smash Bros, and I kind of hope there'll be a sequel or more in the future so that some of the mechanics can be improved on.
  • GR_TomMagrino - November 20, 2012 10:08 a.m.

    As part of our peer-review process, discussion of PlayStation All-Stars' Battle Royale's offline and single-player modes was inadvertently removed. The review has since been amended with that information. Which is to say, my bad.
  • shawksta - November 20, 2012 12:53 p.m.

    The fact that you guys check and make amends make you awesome.
  • talleyXIV - November 20, 2012 12:44 p.m.

    Played the demo and the sound was shoddy as hell, I could barely hear any music in the background and the music I did hear was horrible. Controls were hit and miss, definitely very bad hit detection. Will not be replacing Super Smash Bros. any time soon.
  • First,_the_whores! - November 20, 2012 3:43 p.m.

    I kinda wonder if this means no more solid snake in future smash bros. games

Showing 1-20 of 22 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 20 2012 - PS3, PS Vita (US)
Nov 21 2012 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, PS Vita
Genre: Fighting
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: SuperBot Entertainment
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Crude Humor, Suggestive Themes, Violence, Mild Language