Google+

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 review

Astonishing
Back to Article

75 comments

  • hjeffers10 - November 13, 2009 1:38 a.m.

    i played this game for 12 hours straight and it is the most amazing game i have ever played. Everything about this game blew my expectations out of water. Completely worth the price tag. Spec Ops is absolutely amazing. I like how some missions are similar to horde in Gears 2. Only thing i was a little disappointed with was the lack of co-op campaign. Besides that, i feel that this game is almost perfect. And having played on xbox, i havent had any problems with it what so ever. and doom3pwns is the biggest idiot if he thinks this game sucks.
  • oufour - November 12, 2009 2:11 a.m.

    modern warfare 2 msut feel pretty fucking good about it'self if it's gonna add an extra 10 bucks to the price. i'm sure it's a good game, and the satelite level looks badass, but if i won't pay fifteen bucks for audiosurf, 20 for world of goo or 20 for machinarium i'm not paying 70 for modern warfare 2.
  • SirChukSumthng - November 12, 2009 1:22 a.m.

    No terrorist zombies but, the new special ops mode is freakin' sweet.
  • SirChukSumthng - November 12, 2009 1:21 a.m.

    I pre ordered it and it is awsome. The battles are intense thanks to a better A.I. system. Great story twists and suprises that will make you want to replay the story time and time again. Replay value:very high.
  • Amatarasu - November 12, 2009 12:20 a.m.

    seriosly....are the terrorist zombies, someone anwnser the godam question
  • sly123321 - November 11, 2009 9:43 p.m.

    i have found something out... if your versing someone with a riot shield throw a knife at the shield and it will make their screen not face forward... i don't know if this is a glitch or part of the game.. but hey it works anyway.
  • idlemindkiller - November 11, 2009 9:01 p.m.

    Hahahahahahahahaha doom3pwns got pwnd for the world to see. haha if you dont like the game dont play it. plenty people love MW and now MW2. go play doom 3 dumbass.
  • Gameguy151 - November 11, 2009 3:25 p.m.

    absolutely agree with the review, it deserves every point of that ten. GOTY, right here.
  • Clownsarescary - November 11, 2009 8:29 a.m.

    Completely agree, Mr Walter - if this game got anything less than a 9 it would be a travesty. This is two solid years of developers on the top of their game trying to improve on what was already a perfectly crafted and expertly paced experience in COD4. You won't find a better argument for games as the 'new medium on the block' than in the campaign. I can't think of a single movie, or game, that has left me literally breathless, like in the snowmobile chase or initial bomb-drop in Afghanistan. In my opinion, this game could not be better. If I was at Infinity Ward, I'd be sh***** myself over how to possibly improve on it.
  • theschwartzb - November 11, 2009 7:56 a.m.

    I've only played about 4 or 5 of the missions in the single player, and none of the multiplayer yet, however, this game so far is AMAZING. I play it on hardened, and I am able to get through the missions without being bored because I can just run up and stab people in the throat, but not so hard that I have to repeat segments 20 times. The weapons and the addons to the weapons (like the heartbeat sensor) are really fun to use, and I especially like the weapons that are more than just slightly changed from weapons in MW 1 (such as the dual wielding automatic pistols). At times, it seems like the guys im fighting know exactly where I am, and know exactly where and when to shoot as I come out of cover, which can be a bit frustrating, but honestly, frustration is a sign of a challenging game, and its not so frustrating that I feel like putting the game away. Honestly, I wouldn't give this game a 10, but probably a 9.5 or 9.75, just shy of perfection. Oh, and I just wanted to point out, doesn't it seem like in all the comments where there was terrible grammar and very little punctuation, they seemed to be flaming the game with stupid reasons to flame it, while the more reasonable and sensible comments seemed to be the ones praising it? I'm not saying all of the comments flaming the game to some degree or another are made up of idiots who barely know any grammar, but those of you who do flame with stupidity.... It makes your arguments against a game look really stupid when you have terrible grammar and terrible reasons to bash a game. Just saying you should probably try to make your comment coherent before you post, and make sure your post isn't just one long sentence with nary a period in sight.
  • Xenath - November 11, 2009 5:38 a.m.

    For those saying that it doesn't deserve a 10 or that there are more deserving trust me on this, the game IS amazing. The multiplayer is intense and deffenitly will keep me hooked for months, if not untill the next IW game. This takes CoD4's multiplayer and injects roids into it's testiculars. I mostly play RPG's and Action games. Though I love this game with a flaming pasion haha Trust me, it deserves the score. I didn't like CoD4's multiplayer near as much as I do MW2's.
  • TheHalfanese - November 11, 2009 3:41 a.m.

    Now I could be wrong, but in the beginning of the first video, was that James Earl Jones talkin on the other side of the radio? Definitely sounded like him...
  • Craza - November 11, 2009 2:32 a.m.

    I hope AC2 gets a 10, so then I won't feel so bad having to wait for a while to pick this up!
  • doomdoomdoom - November 11, 2009 1:11 a.m.

    World at War Sucks This game might be good i might buy What is so controversial about that airport shoot out like all games there is shooting, head poping, spin cracking, and ball crunching stuff.
  • bron1417 - November 11, 2009 1:10 a.m.

    i need 60 bucks NOW!!!
  • phantomsight2 - November 11, 2009 12:23 a.m.

    This is what we've all been waiting for? The multiplayer graphics are worse than COD4 by a long shot. Thanks Infinity Ward, but I'll stick to World at War.
  • AyJay - November 10, 2009 9:27 p.m.

    Great, well written review! Although I'm not that into shooters (don't kill me). I thought that every reviewer would give it a 10 because "OMG it'z MW2!!!!!!", but you gave good reasons for it.
  • patri0t - November 10, 2009 9:16 p.m.

    yeah i do not want ANY spoilers for this game so ill just read the last page, but this it definitely deserves that score
  • Carfulal - November 10, 2009 8:57 p.m.

    Once again where are the dedicated servers... It doesn't matter how great all the next gen games are... without dedicated servers multiplayers mode are broken.
  • buminyaface - November 10, 2009 7:57 p.m.

    only a 10?!

Showing 21-40 of 75 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 10 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Nov 10 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Developed by: Infinity Ward
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.