Google+

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance review

Great
Back to Article

51 comments

  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 5:15 a.m.

    I am already dead set in playing this game, and what I have played from the demo further convinced me to do so, I don't think I'll consider this an 8 of a game when I play it, but it's still a pretty good score, AND I understand the criticisms, and they feel justified and valid enough... except for one. Ryan... I don't want to sound like a dick here... but are you sure you were doing the parrying right? Unless what was shown in the demo wasn't representative of the final game, I actually found the parrying system to be spot on... and with an actually very large window to get it right. I've played trough the demo 3 times yesterday and Sunday in anticipation, and yesterday I was able to parry pretty much every single attack the wolf boss and the geckos threw at me. Again, not trying to be a jerk, honestly, it's just that what you're reporting directly conflicts with what I experienced myself. But then again, maybe later in the game you'll face enemies or attacks in which parrying won't do it's job correctly? I guess we'll see once I get it though. The rest of the complaint though, I definitely don't challenge them, because well, the plain environments can already be felt in the demo, and as for the bosses... It's platinum games, if there's one glaring weakness these guys have, is that they are TERRIBLE at story, and specially at character development, so I am actually pleasantly surprised to hear that the overall story isn't utter crap XD Lastly, there is one issue i DID find in the demo, and I'm surprised it wasn't mentioned here, the camera does sometimes tend to move in very un-useful angles that either don't let you view the enemy that's going to attack you... or it can outright block your view from what you're slicing in blade mode. Not a HUGE problem because it only happened every so often in what I played, but I thought it would be mentioned XD
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 19, 2013 8:10 a.m.

    I promise I'm not just bad at the game :P - it genuinely became a problem at times. As for the camera mention, you're right, that definitely should've been included in the review and was an oversight. Enjoy the game, I'm sure you'll love it! SO FUN
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 11:35 a.m.

    "I promise I'm not just bad at the game :P " I don't know Ryan... I actually remember that it was you who was playing that video preview of the demo a few months ago... and it took you several rations to save you from being obliterated by the wolf boss :P I'm joking of course, if you do say the system isn't perfect, then I'll keep it in mind, but all the same, glad to know that it isn't a game-breaker ^^ And yeah, honestly, only reason I'm not playing it RIGHT NOW is because it actually hasn't reached my local retail store in Mexico >>; so until it does, I'm boned -.-
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 19, 2013 2:13 p.m.

    Ugh, what a long wait! Hmm, I don't think I did the preview playthrough, actually. I don't recall :O - BUT! Let me know once you get through it, I'd love to hear your thoughts ^_^
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 2:28 p.m.

    Tsk tsk Ryan... such a short term memory! *waves finger* FEAR NOT THOUGH, the Internet never forgets, nor does your archive! http://www.gamesradar.com/metal-gear-rising-revengeance-gameplay-quickplay/ Here you are, and it's pretty much your and Scott Butterworth, and it's clear you're the one playing... And I did remember correctly in that you got pummeled by LQ at the end :P ...And you actually said "Oh my God, i just cannot hit those parries!" at 22:35. Which, again, I just played the demo yesterday and that same triple attack that LQ did there? I parried it all, twice... *Coughs* Shameless bragging aside, thank you! And I'll definitely will keep you posted once I get my hand son the game, and I'll be more than happy to eat my own words if I end up getting my ass handed to me because I didn't parry correctly XD
  • shawksta - February 19, 2013 3:43 a.m.

    Great!
  • avantguardian - February 19, 2013 12:40 a.m.

    exactly what i wanted to hear (read?). nice job ryan. i played vanquish 3 times back to back to back. the only time i've ever done that with a game. this could be the second.
  • 7-D - February 19, 2013 1:18 a.m.

    I just played Vanquish through a couple of times back to back recently, only time i'd ever done that with a game also.
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 5:17 a.m.

    Same thing, I did everything in that game save for the very last challenge room... and not because of lack of trying, but after 200+ tries and always getting my ass kicked, I decided it was time to move on XD Still, not many games compel me to want to clear EVERYTHING on them, ad much less retry something so much, which is a testament on how frigging good and underrated vanquish is.
  • avantguardian - February 20, 2013 12:34 a.m.

    exactly. for how often single-player shooters leave me cold, vanquish just had something about it that elevated it to 'can't stop' status.
  • Redeater - February 19, 2013 12:08 a.m.

    4/5. Just the score I was looking for. Consider it purchased!

Showing 41-51 of 51 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 19 2013 - Xbox 360, PS3
Jan 09 2014 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Konami
Developed by: Kojima Productions
Franchise: Metal Gear
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.