Google+

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance review

Great
Back to Article

47 comments

  • Ironarm - February 19, 2013 8:56 a.m.

    This is what I've been waiting for ever since the Raiden vs. Vamp fight in MGS4 that took place as you had to kill all the Gekko's.
  • iluvpkmnmonday - February 19, 2013 noon

    That part was cool but the WHOLE time I was thinking "Damn it gekkos, I wanna watch the awesome fight going on above me. Leave me alone!"
  • patbateman17 - February 19, 2013 8:50 a.m.

    Hmm, might have to watch this one. I've never been a big fan of Platinum Games' style - but any game (demo) that allows me to absolutely slice to pieces all the scenery so that I can't even start the demo is a plus in my book. I spent 15 minutes just seeing what I could cut...and then realizing that after slicing the pier to pieces and the stairs I had no way to get to the actual mission on the street. Was fun though. I found blade mode to be a little jerky, but I'm sure that was me rather than the game itself.
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 11:32 a.m.

    I'd just like to mention that even after destroying the pier and the stairs, you can easily access the next part of the stage simply by ninja running towards the wall using the "R1" or "RB" button XD
  • patbateman17 - February 19, 2013 12:51 p.m.

    D'oh :) Even better! Haha...I guess the trick is to READ the instructions in the demo. "I was elected to LEAD not to READ."
  • Moondoggie1157 - February 19, 2013 4:50 p.m.

    I did the same thing... Got too "blade mode" happy and destroyed the damned pier. I'll be picking this up as soon as I can. My only critique, judging from the demo, was the parry system, I got the hang of it, but it still was a bit of a pain.
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 5 p.m.

    I guess it's a matter of taste. It certainly isn't as easy or simple as pressing a button and blocking, or dodging out of the way, but I like that if you DO get the hang of it, parrying every single attack can feel very satisfying, as it requires actual timing and skill from the player rather than just pressing a button and hold it till the enemy has stopped attacking. That, and it reminded me of the parrying system in Street Fighter 3, except this time it's in a 3D enviroment! XD
  • patbateman17 - February 20, 2013 5:42 a.m.

    I actually appreciate that it's a little more "difficult" - which really means it's just not as easy as we've been pampered with :) Then again gamers are a schizophrenic bunch - they simplified ACIII's free running to one button and people got pissed. Ah well. Hey BladedFalcon - you beat Dragon's Dogma yet??? :D
  • BladedFalcon - February 20, 2013 10:19 a.m.

    Hahaha! Yeah! absolutely! I actually finished it AND platunum'd it a few months ago XD Definitely had a blast with that game, sure, it wasn't perfect, and the story was an absolute mess with a few glimpses of genius trying to get out at the end. But man was it fun, just like the blade mode in this game, the climbing mechanics in Dradon's Dogma is the kind of innovation that seriously should be paid more attention to. I only wish they hadn't made the hunter so damn overpowered, longbow + that 10 arrows at once technique? turned anything into mush way too quickly and too easily XD
  • patbateman17 - February 20, 2013 12:08 p.m.

    Every night when I'm watching TV my backlog just glares at me mockingly. Currently playing: Far Cry 3 Waiting: Arkham City, AC: Revelations, CoD: MW2 (yeah yeah), Dark Souls, Dishonored, Enslaved, MGS4, Mirror's Edge, Uncharted 3, XCOM: EU .........I....might have a problem O__O
  • BladedFalcon - February 20, 2013 1:13 p.m.

    Hahaha XD well, to be fair, I only finished Far Cry like, 2 weeks ago... But yeah, you definitely beat me by far in terms of backlog XD But hey, on the positive side, this also means taht you won't be in any hurry to get a new console any time soon! :D
  • patbateman17 - February 20, 2013 3:22 p.m.

    Nope, but I still want to buy new games on release haha, my Amazon wish list is a mile long too - keeps me from forgetting.
  • Fox_Mulder - February 19, 2013 7:55 a.m.

    Looks great, hope to be picking this up today. Raiden in a sombrero and poncho is priceless!!
  • iluvpkmnmonday - February 19, 2013 6:38 a.m.

    Pre-ordered this from Amazon since Gamestop wouldn't let me pre-order and do in-store pickup. Glad to see it's getting good scores.
  • KA87 - February 19, 2013 5:20 a.m.

    I love that you can still hid under boxes, but I am not sure that you are going to need to judgeing by what you can do with that sword.
  • archnite - February 19, 2013 5:34 a.m.

    Sombrero Boxes. ABSOLUTELY ESSENTIAL.
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 5:15 a.m.

    I am already dead set in playing this game, and what I have played from the demo further convinced me to do so, I don't think I'll consider this an 8 of a game when I play it, but it's still a pretty good score, AND I understand the criticisms, and they feel justified and valid enough... except for one. Ryan... I don't want to sound like a dick here... but are you sure you were doing the parrying right? Unless what was shown in the demo wasn't representative of the final game, I actually found the parrying system to be spot on... and with an actually very large window to get it right. I've played trough the demo 3 times yesterday and Sunday in anticipation, and yesterday I was able to parry pretty much every single attack the wolf boss and the geckos threw at me. Again, not trying to be a jerk, honestly, it's just that what you're reporting directly conflicts with what I experienced myself. But then again, maybe later in the game you'll face enemies or attacks in which parrying won't do it's job correctly? I guess we'll see once I get it though. The rest of the complaint though, I definitely don't challenge them, because well, the plain environments can already be felt in the demo, and as for the bosses... It's platinum games, if there's one glaring weakness these guys have, is that they are TERRIBLE at story, and specially at character development, so I am actually pleasantly surprised to hear that the overall story isn't utter crap XD Lastly, there is one issue i DID find in the demo, and I'm surprised it wasn't mentioned here, the camera does sometimes tend to move in very un-useful angles that either don't let you view the enemy that's going to attack you... or it can outright block your view from what you're slicing in blade mode. Not a HUGE problem because it only happened every so often in what I played, but I thought it would be mentioned XD
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 19, 2013 8:10 a.m.

    I promise I'm not just bad at the game :P - it genuinely became a problem at times. As for the camera mention, you're right, that definitely should've been included in the review and was an oversight. Enjoy the game, I'm sure you'll love it! SO FUN
  • BladedFalcon - February 19, 2013 11:35 a.m.

    "I promise I'm not just bad at the game :P " I don't know Ryan... I actually remember that it was you who was playing that video preview of the demo a few months ago... and it took you several rations to save you from being obliterated by the wolf boss :P I'm joking of course, if you do say the system isn't perfect, then I'll keep it in mind, but all the same, glad to know that it isn't a game-breaker ^^ And yeah, honestly, only reason I'm not playing it RIGHT NOW is because it actually hasn't reached my local retail store in Mexico >>; so until it does, I'm boned -.-
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - February 19, 2013 2:13 p.m.

    Ugh, what a long wait! Hmm, I don't think I did the preview playthrough, actually. I don't recall :O - BUT! Let me know once you get through it, I'd love to hear your thoughts ^_^

Showing 21-40 of 47 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 19 2013 - Xbox 360, PS3
Jan 09 2014 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Konami
Developed by: Kojima Productions
Franchise: Metal Gear
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.