Google+

Mercenaries 2: World in Flames review

Back to Article

35 comments

  • conal130 - September 2, 2008 5:58 p.m.

    i just watched a video of the co-op and i have to admit it does seem very fun. i think i might buy it just for that, have any of you seen another game where you can use a helicopter to pick up your mates tank while he's driving it? that's freakin' awesome!
  • GaMeZ4LiFe - September 2, 2008 2:11 a.m.

    Thank god for people whos job it is to play all the games before i go waste my money on them. I was under the impression that this was going to be a great game and it turned out to be another flop. Wahh Wah Wahhh. Too bad, oh well I can wait for Star Wars Force Unleashed
  • iluvmyDS - September 1, 2008 11 p.m.

    I'd hate to say I don't trust this review, but I don't trust this review.
  • Dameon Angell - September 1, 2008 6:34 a.m.

    I'd have to say the review was a little harsh. Graphically it's on par with Grand Theft Auto 4 for a game of this scale, it looks good. I would have given it an 8.
  • kjadf12329 - September 1, 2008 5:45 a.m.

    I very much so disagree. The graphics are not last gen whatsoever.
  • Holy Diver - September 1, 2008 3:03 a.m.

    Hopefully they will release a patch that will fix most of the problems
  • OddWoN ER - September 1, 2008 2:53 a.m.

    Seriously guys, a 7 isn't bad, its average. sure money may be tight, but don't bash a game. Heck this might be an awesome game to get later on, when the price drops. besides its just THEIR opinion, don't just give up on a game because its a 7. Part of the reason was that they said it felt like the first one. I'm pretty sure that a good portion of you didn't play Merc 1. Reviews don't always translate to your taste in games. Just look at Army of Two, you either loved it or hated it, yet it got an 8 on this very site. Fact is you will never know if you like it or not until you try. Go rent it or if a demo comes out give it a whirl. As for being better that GTA IV, its always opinion some people prefer Saint's Row or even GTA: San Andreas over GTA IV. So again its all just opinion and personal experience.
  • FrontLineSpartan119 - August 31, 2008 10:16 p.m.

    I would have to disagree with the rating they gave this game. Yes, all games have bugs, but if you put that aside, you still have a solid game. The first Mercs did present many problems, but it was also an under-played game in my opinion. This is one of those games where you think it is bad, but may turn out to be lots of fun. This is still a buy for me. Along with Left 4 Dead and Fallout 3...
  • ChucklesPiggy - August 31, 2008 10:01 p.m.

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO i was looking so foward for this game but it turned out it got a 7 A 7!!!! o well will wait for fallout 3 auto 10 there
  • shicknannon - August 31, 2008 5:11 p.m.

    wat bullshit they said this game was gonna be great
  • calipber - July 7, 2009 7:33 p.m.

    This rating is about right, everything they didnt like is true, repeating charcters weird and strange glitches, i found myself calling in 2-3 helicopters and them never showing up, one even dissapeared right out from under me! At the end they hint at mabey a third game..... alot of people wont be buying after the show Mercs 2 put on, i would buy in for a third but if it has as many glitches as the 2nd no way anyone will want to pay for that. But still once again only a few games give you the chance to use nuclear ground penatrating bombs and tanks and all the other great stuff to blow the world up. I mean its a great game if you look at it like that
  • oryandymackie - June 8, 2009 3:32 p.m.

    God, people on this comments page are like sheep! Everyone's saying "aww, I was thinking this was going to be good". This is the reviewer's opinion! I wholly disagree with this review, I would give it a 9 probably, this is an actually great game!
  • D3vastator - September 1, 2009 8:46 a.m.

    i never listen to reviews i got this is awesome game if u into going into bases rambo style i recomend this if i like blowing the shit out of stuff get it. i saw crap reviews for brothers in arms hells highway got it for a tenner loved it never listen to reviews
  • Frostyman - February 6, 2009 9:18 p.m.

    What is wrong with you people? A 7 isn't a bad rating at all. And you know what? If you depend on other peoples opinions to form your own about videogames, i am saddened by you. Other than the annoying dialog, there is almost NOTHING wrong with this game. I bet half of the people here haven't even played it for themselves. The graphics are spectacular for a game that gives you 64 square Km to explore, and for a game that has 200 vehicles to use, plus all the airstrikes and NPCs. For something like that, the graphics are at least very good. If you can't even get up off your ass to at least TRY this game, than you have no right to voice your uneducated opinion about it.
  • Smiffy99 - December 22, 2008 2:10 p.m.

    I'm a fan of the sandbox style gameplay, so for me this is just like GTA 4 without sex and F-bombs.

Showing 21-35 of 35 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 31 2008 - Xbox 360, PS3, PS2, PC (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PS2, PC
Genre: Action
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Pandemic Studios
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Language, Use of Alcohol, Use of Tobacco, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.