Google+

Mass Effect 2 review

Back to Article

81 comments

  • Cwf2008 - January 27, 2010 6:36 a.m.

    Wow your saying Mass Effect 2 is better than Fallout 3? That has me interested especially since Fallout 3 was already one of the best RPGs ever made reCAPTCHA: Some won't...SOME WONT WHAT? TELL ME!!!
  • mgkyo666 - January 27, 2010 6:15 a.m.

    ...didn't *sorry for any mistakes I typed*
  • mgkyo666 - January 27, 2010 6:13 a.m.

    WHOOPS! I mean attention
  • mgkyo666 - January 27, 2010 6:11 a.m.

    @Pr0fesserCha0s You remind me of the actual Prof. Chaos from South Park, trying to get attentin in the most PATHETIC of ways. Why would you even BOTHER coming to the review of a game you apparently HATE. The reason you probably didn't enjoy the first one was because your attentiion span can only be measured in nanoseconds. But I am not gonna let this escalate into a bigger rant. *deep breath* Anyways, this game was very well made and the story so far is brilliant(except for the mining, but I'll let it slide)! I completely stand by Joe's score. Now,my only problem is that I didn,t get the Zaeed(?) DLC, but I'm cool with that.I am now running out of things to type about, so I'm gonna go play Mass Effect 2!
  • boondocks50 - January 27, 2010 3:54 a.m.

    i cant wait till i pick this up on friday. and is it rue that there arent any grenades?
  • Spybreak8 - January 27, 2010 3:34 a.m.

    I pre-ordered it, been loving it ever since (played 5 to 6 straight hours today, what an experience. It's not just Mass Effect 2, its Mass Effect 2.0! Everything is streamlined, tweaked and just sleak and sexy. It's like a big giant apple tablet! Oh wait that's a few days from now haha. I love the voice acting, the improved combat, the cutscene paragon/renegade interuption optoin, armor customizing (yes no more stupid white camo armor), inventory and elveators system tweaked, and the beginning was aweseome (and not a cliche for how games start for the player). Recommend
  • FUNNYBOY99 - January 27, 2010 3:06 a.m.

    My friend has this game he says its beast! I want it for my birthday.
  • Ravenbom - January 27, 2010 2:30 a.m.

    Well, my support (money) is in the Wii niche games coming out this week. :( I'll have to pick it up down the line... How did you guys in the office decide who would review this? I'm picturing Thunderdome.
  • smallberry - January 27, 2010 2:10 a.m.

    @ REIGNx777 Well great now the 200+ hours (3 play throughs) I put into the original game with my female Shepard are completely useless. I'm going to have to start ME2 with a male Shepard now:)
  • CreeplyTuna - January 27, 2010 1:42 a.m.

    next time i play im un-equipping my helmet...
  • mentalityljs - January 27, 2010 1:25 a.m.

    Today is D-Day for those who cannot appreciate what Bioware has tried and done extraordinarily well with Mass Effect. I beg all u haters to try and sleep, knowing that Shepherd will dock tonight, on your roof, and slap a plasma grenade on your ungreatful asses! Muahahahaha! I miss Tali:(
  • AnonymouZ - January 26, 2010 11:59 p.m.

    just96: yes! buy the first one. i'm not sure if it'll hinder this next adventure cuz it sounds like it's a DIFFERENT story. but nevertheless it's worth it to know who what and where it happened. RMForte: PC! get it on the PC. who knows, there might be some mods later but if not, i'm just guessing the aiming and shooting might just be easier on the pc's hud.
  • C4RD1NAL - January 26, 2010 11:58 p.m.

    Great article! Really enjoyed reading it, made me extra excited for this. (And i'll use my helmet sparingly now)
  • Persona - January 26, 2010 11:58 p.m.

    Too many games that involve action and rpg aspects always lean towards the action side these days. What happened to those good ol deus ex, bloodlines and all those rpg heavy games =/. But that's beside the point, Mass Effect 2 took about 2 years and Dragon Age took 5 or so. Amazing how Bioware has progressed over the years. (this review seems a wee bit biased)
  • Just96 - January 26, 2010 11:14 p.m.

    can anyone tell me what the hell is up with peoples opinions of mass effect? im trying to decide if i should get this game or not and people screaming THIS GAME SUCKS isn't helping. could some one tell me what i should do and WHY? P.S. i've never played mass effect, if i should get the game, should i spend the money to get the first one as well?
  • Samael - January 26, 2010 10:46 p.m.

    @PaintedMan Just picked this up today, at 10 A.M. I got a standard def tv and the text is fine, both for the conversation wheel and dialogue. Unless you are deaf, you won't need to read it anyway, as the voice acting is excellent. ME2 is fantasic so far, as I expected it to be. You can romance more characters then Joe mentioned as well. There's 3 for males and 3 for females. Bioware said that there are no gay romances in ME2 though, so I didn't think Subject Zero was romanceable by a female.
  • WonsAuto - January 26, 2010 10:44 p.m.

    @spydie4x4 - It has to be a save from a completed playthrough, if that helps at all.
  • Spydie4x4 - January 26, 2010 10 p.m.

    OH MY GOD! Im so angry... I just picked up the game and NONE of my saved games are loading. Does anyone know why this is happening?
  • princeofme - January 26, 2010 9:07 p.m.

    great review. one thing i had a problem with at first was ammo considering that the first game did not have ammo and i was wondering how they downgraded to it, but its a small crack in a super sweet game cant wait to play it :).
  • RMForte2287 - January 26, 2010 8:05 p.m.

    I have no idea whether to get this for 360 or pc. Any ideas?

Showing 41-60 of 81 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jan 26 2010 - Xbox 360, PC (US)
Jan 29 2010 - Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: BioWare
Franchise: Mass Effect
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+