Google+

Mass Effect 2 review

Back to Article

81 comments

  • Just96 - January 29, 2010 10:22 p.m.

    does loading a previous playthrough actually add side-quests or just give a preset to the story? (just wondering) @maynardj: (thanks for actually making a sensible case against)
  • MaynardJ - January 29, 2010 12:24 p.m.

    I can understand what everyone likes about this game, but I don't think I will ever play this. I tried the first part at my brother's place for about an hour. I appreciate story and emotional resonance in games (Beyond Good and Evil is one of my favorites), but this RPG stuff really isn't my cup of tea. I was so distracted by having to make the right choices that I sort of forgot how to fire a gun and didn't stand a chance at the first serious battle, which made me give it up right away. If I collect a weapon I want to use it, not sell it. If I finish a game I want it to be finished so I won't have to spend an astronomical number of hours to get a completely different experience. I'm a bit of a completist, but I like to see or find everything in only one or two playthroughs (when unlocking new options after a first playthrough for example). Guess that was the first serious comment from someone who doesn't like this game. I hope you all have a good time playing it, I'll start with Arkham Asylum pretty soon. THAT is my kind of game.
  • Spybreak8 - January 29, 2010 4:22 a.m.

    @matt588 Yes you can have multiple profiles which will have different actions and endings in the first. I've got about three completed profiles/5 or 6 profiles total (have to complete the game/it autosaves then) which I intend to bring over into ME2!
  • J-spit - January 29, 2010 3:21 a.m.

    Trust me when I say THIS GAMES IS CRACK.....ON STEROIDS! I'm addicted to it!
  • PAO21 - January 28, 2010 8:43 p.m.

    Cannot wait to get myself a copy!!!!!!!!
  • GamesRadarJoeMcNeilly - January 28, 2010 6:08 p.m.

    Dragon Age: Origins has great stories and characters, but lacks ME2's technical polish in graphics/sound. ME2's combat is much faster and more streamlined, which to me makes it more fun. If you like the RPGs, both are worth playing!
  • smashgordan - January 28, 2010 6:06 p.m.

    i bought the first mass effect 6-8 months ago because it was only 19.99 so i did not have much to lose if i did not like it. but it has become one of my all time favs.
  • familiarrealms - January 28, 2010 5:58 p.m.

    The first game was so cinematic, alot like some sort of emotional action film like collateral or something. Its gonna be great this game, i just hope that they got rid of the Final Fantasy VII buggy thingy that thing was sooo bloody hard to control. Lets see if sex with aliens prevails once more!!! I'm starting a new blog if anyone wants to follow it is: http://eyehaveyou20.blogspot.com/
  • DeathbyFira - January 28, 2010 9:10 a.m.

    i need to shoot myself in the foot i wasnt so exicted about getting this one till i saw the X Play special about it now i relized that this game is giveing a whole new defition to RPGS and come on hehehehe u can even score with a hot crazy blald chick nothing can top that lol
  • wiitard07 - January 28, 2010 6:19 a.m.

    Argh. I can't buy this until I beat the first one, just picked that one up about a week ago, and I can't put it down. In total suspense waiting to get the next one!
  • ChiefLethal - January 28, 2010 3:45 a.m.

    I agree 100% that Borderlands is a great grab a buddy and blow stuff up kind of game, bordering on tedium. And having played through ME1, i can understand how ME2 could be a better RPG experience. I can't say that i agree that ME2 is better than Dragon Age, having neither played ME2 nor completed Dragon Age. So until i play ME2 i can only consider what the author has to say. However, i don't understand how a fair comparison can be made between Fallout 3 and ME2 citing camaraderie as an example. In fact I think that such a comparison should not be made because camaraderie is something that Fallout 3 virtually lacks, unless you join forces with any one of the number of characters that can join your quest, like the dog or Fawkes. Fall Out 3 is still very much a solitary experience; you can beat the game without the help of a partner. I basically don't think a fair comparison can be made between two games with drastically different mechanics that dramatically effect game play. Is it reasonable to say that Fallout 3, or any of the Fallout series for that matter, would have been better if it were based around a party system akin to Mass Effect? No. Mass Effect 2 may be better than Fallout 3 because of the diversity of its environments and the scale of its universe, i don't know, i haven't played it. But taking that game with its core mechanic, executed in such a creative way, then comparing that game to a game with very different mechanics does not make a compelling argument. What might work for Mass Effect (and it does) will most likely not work for Fallout 3.
  • TeragRunner - January 27, 2010 11:56 p.m.

    This game is contending Fallout 3 for my favorite game ever. With the crap ton of replay value I KNOW this game will have it's probable that it will, as opposed to Fallout 3 where it's possible (and encouraged after between the wait until the level cap raise and after the Broken Steel story) in one playthrough.
  • Just96 - January 27, 2010 10:47 p.m.

    what doesn't make you wish your 360 didn't explode?
  • rabidwolverine - January 27, 2010 9:49 p.m.

    makes me wish my 360 didn't explode :(
  • GamesRadarJoeMcNeilly - January 27, 2010 8:13 p.m.

    Yes, it is true that the fonts are diabolical on standard def TVs.
  • FRAN93 - January 27, 2010 7:58 p.m.

    want this so bad....not out for another 2 days in ireland :( brilliant review GR
  • matt588 - January 27, 2010 7:53 p.m.

    can you choose the playthrough from ME1 or does it do it automatically? the 1st time I played kind of inbetween, the 2nd I was a nice guy. maybe I will play through again and be an ass, but only if I can have multiple playthroughs with the various ME1 endings.
  • patri0t - January 27, 2010 7:25 p.m.

    picked it up, started to play it. it amazazing! oh and is joker voiced by seth green? just wondering..
  • PaintedMan - January 27, 2010 7 p.m.

    @ Samael Cheers for the feedback! Was definitely gonna pick it up on Friday anyway but it's nice to know I won't be constantly squinting at the TV as I play!
  • boyverygood011 - January 27, 2010 3:44 p.m.

    Welcome to our website: http://www.wellbbiz.com The website wholesale for many kinds of fashion shoes, like the nike,jordan,prada,adidas, also including the jeans,shirts,bags,hat and the decorations. All the products are free shipping, and the the price is competitive, and also can accept paypal payment.,after the payment, can ship within short time. free shipping competitive price any size available We do wholesale and retail! All are extremely CHEAP, please visit: http://www.wellbbiz.com Thank you for your visit

Showing 21-40 of 81 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jan 26 2010 - Xbox 360, PC (US)
Jan 29 2010 - Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: BioWare
Franchise: Mass Effect
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+