Google+

Killzone 2: The Review Scores

So the first results are in. PS3’s flagship title, Killzone 2, is about to break cover and the early reviews are already coo-ing over Sony’s shooter.

We'll be delivering our very own, no holds-barred verdict on Monday, but in the meantime here’s what the critics have had to say so far.

Official PlayStation Magazine UK - 9/10

... this is PS3 showing what it’s truly capable of and delivering a landmark piece of explosive entertainment you can’t afford to miss.

Official PlayStation Magazine US - 5/5

... it’s fitting that the end feels like you’ve stepped off a rollercoaster; a little shaken having endured the odd moment that wasn’t perfectly fluid but ultimately beaming with satisfaction of a great ride experienced.

The Portugese counterpart agree but either something has been lost in translation or they’re kings of contradiction as these quotes prove...

Official PlayStation Magazine Portugal - 9/10

... very solid gameplay that succeeds in innovating with the inplementation of a cover system. Immediately followed by...the cover system doesn’t always work in the most adequate way.

Croatian mag Gameplay creamed their knickers entirely with their praise and awarded maximum points with their odd-scoring system…

Gameplay - 20/20

... Although Crysis (the only real Killzone 2 competitor) looks more realistic, KZ2 is at the moment the absolute winner considering visual beauty and graphic accomplishments.

Taking the shine off these glowing reviews is men’s mag Maxim with this gem...

Maxim US - 3.5/5

... impressive lighting effects, motion blur and graphics make this first-person shooter the hottest girl at the ball, if not quite the best dancer.

Note: This is the ‘whole’ Maxim review for Killzone 2. All 24 words of it for potentially one of the biggest games of the year. It even scored less than 50 Cent: Blood on the Sand, which bagged a 4/5. They also claim that Street Fighter IV lacks ‘old school soul’. Oh dear.

So there you have it. Tune in to GamesRadar next Monday for our definitive and unbiased Killzone 2 review.

37 comments

  • bearfarmer - February 10, 2009 4:05 p.m.

    to maxim- dancing? who the f*** cares about dancing?\
  • sakboy97 - February 2, 2009 7:16 p.m.

    killzone 2 is going to be awesome!
  • AuBuRnBoY - February 2, 2009 1:51 a.m.

    that game is ggggaaaayyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • darthspongebob7 - February 1, 2009 11:27 p.m.

    looks great. i would like to see some variety in the maps tho
  • Solid_Gabriel - February 1, 2009 9:09 p.m.

    It also got a really high score at IGN...
  • Xtreme_Xbox - February 1, 2009 7:15 p.m.

    This is kind of unfair because you only used the scores from playstation magazines and just 2 other magazines that only a handful of people have heard about. I'm not saying the game wont be great, I'm saying your being ball chokers and just taking opinions from biased sources. I'm not a fanboy, and I swear if any of you call me that I will come to your house with a knife, cut your throat and fuck the wound. Give a new meaning to the term muscle fucked.
  • Grenade - February 1, 2009 5:44 p.m.

    Because they're not just talking about the graphics. If you've read the full-length PlayStation Magazine review you'd see that they spent a lot of time talking about the online and campaign modes.
  • Romination - February 1, 2009 5:36 p.m.

    Why am I the only one who seems to notice that the reviews are mostly saying 'well...there is a game here but the GRAPHICS!!! AGH!!! *ejaculation* and that's why it's 5/5.'
  • hxcmonster - February 1, 2009 5:24 a.m.

    maybe shitbox payed maxim for that stupid review... DUMASSES
  • thor0997 - February 1, 2009 4:20 a.m.

    Hmmmm... this is quite the good game so the reviews say. The PS3 peoples need to keep cranking out titles like this and MGS4. It needs to make up the little bit of lost ground that it has from its early years.
  • Grenade - January 31, 2009 10:37 p.m.

    That Maxim review makes GamesRadar's Kingdom for Keflings review look like a piece of art.
  • hlcy0n - January 31, 2009 9:56 a.m.

    Oh. I seem to have started an argument with a 13 year old. Your completely irrelevant comment aside, I'll wait till I've read some more independant reviews first. I have no doubt it's going to be a good game, but I'm always a bit sceptical when it comes to taking advice from someone who could be potentially out of a job unless they sell you a product.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - January 31, 2009 1:05 a.m.

    Maxim's articles tend to be a pretty good read, but their videogame coverage is... well, to be honest, it's something of a joke in our industry. I'll just say they gave Jaws Unleashed a 5/5 a full year before its release, and leave it at that.
  • Octaviux - January 31, 2009 12:18 a.m.

    Who gives a crap what Maxim thinks, who the hell reads that anyway.
  • jar-head - January 30, 2009 3:16 p.m.

    each person is his or her game reviewer, but i prefer GR reviews than most other persons
  • theatticusera - January 30, 2009 2:45 p.m.

    Mens mags havent got a clue. they give terrible games top scores and games like KZ2 3.5/5. Cackadung!!
  • Fallenangle09 - January 30, 2009 12:45 p.m.

    i was sent a link to the Xbox 360 mag blog and they where very impressed with it, now for them to even blog about it the way they did, it has to be good
  • DarbonX - January 30, 2009 12:21 p.m.

    Can't wait for this game! And lol, who trusts a game review from a men's mag anyways...
  • Grenade - February 2, 2009 5:46 p.m.

    omg yeah 360 alllll the wwwaaaaaayyyy!!!!!!
  • NelosAngelos - January 31, 2009 9:30 p.m.

    Lol, 50 cent beat this? And Street fighter lacks "old school soul"? Both complete loads of crap on ice, but not Killzone 2 baby. Defiantly picking this up.

Showing 1-20 of 37 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.