Google+

Killzone 2 review

Back to Article

135 comments

  • WilliumCobblers - March 1, 2009 3:28 p.m.

    I am playing the game, I am enjoying the game. That is all that matters to me.
  • UnreaK745 - February 28, 2009 12:39 p.m.

    this game is pure awesome, and i felt a bit sad and effed up when you guys said that gears 2 and halo 3 are better.. ITS NOT FAIR!!!!!!!!!!!!! sorry for caps:-)
  • Shifty1001 - February 28, 2009 7:28 a.m.

    So, I played through a good chunk of the campaign today. Jesus Tapdancing CHRIST, it is intense. I'm loving KZ2's campaign for the same reason I loved CoD4's campaign: Nail-biting, edge-of-your-seat, balls-to-the-wall intensity. Oh and ffs, to all the people complaining about "only a 9": SERIOUSLY?! It's a 9/10! Think about it this way: The GamesRadar review system only uses whole numbers, i.e 4,5,7, etc. Thus, a 9/10 is merely one point below the best score they could give. Less QQ, more pew pew. The game is wicked so far, and I can't wait to jump into the multiplayer.
  • Ravenbom - February 28, 2009 4:54 a.m.

    anyone a bit confused about the fact that Mikal, the Playstation Editor, is reviewing a PS3 exclusive? BIAS!!! j/k meta comment qft! http://www.gamesradar.com/xbox360/f/grand-theft-auto-iv-the-lost-and-damned/a-20090217113747179036/g-2006051014323586065/c-2
  • Bri77777 - February 28, 2009 3:12 a.m.

    @zer0hvk names don't make a game a win. The best game could have a guy named "Farty". @zeekzilla ur right, each company needs each other to survive. Thank you To every person pissed at ht e 9 rating, SHUT UP. Just because it got a 9 doesn't give u a reason to diss GR. Each system has their ups and downs.
  • zer0hvk - February 27, 2009 11:05 p.m.

    I have an xbox 360 and I'd like a PS3 so I can play this game, hahah let's all admit that it looks awesome, and any game that has a character named "Rico Velasquez" is a guaranteed WIN. anything I say won't change a thing but, people should try playing games before bashing them or worshipping them, I used to hate Halo, and now I like it, it's not perfect, but it's a good game, so next time you see a demo stand at some GameStop, give it a try, you might even like it.
  • hxcmonster - February 27, 2009 3:28 a.m.

    TOMORROW
  • sakboy97 - February 17, 2009 9:36 p.m.

    and SF4 is better pffff yeah right...:)
  • Azu942 - February 15, 2009 7:01 p.m.

    An excellent and fairly fair review, Mikel. I'm kinda shaking my head at the game comparison, though. Unintentional or not, it's massive flamebait.
  • climbing wolf - February 14, 2009 1:39 a.m.

    I'm very sorry for you, Mikel.
  • RedOutlive10 - February 9, 2009 9:24 p.m.

    Whoa at this slash fest video. You would think a creature buried in armor like those guys are would be laughing at a knife attack.
  • e1337prodigy - February 9, 2009 4:53 p.m.

    Nice review. Sounds like only the graphics are keeping it going? Still I wouldn't mind playing it, shame it is the only reason I want a PS3.
  • zeekzilla1955 - February 6, 2009 11:10 p.m.

    hey listen up !! remember for the video games to be the best made!!! PS3 needs xbox 360 & vice versa !!! if there was not the competition games would be last gen not nex gen so before you start a civil war over whos king remember competition keeps both systems at there best and only us the buying public win and if you cant own both just be happy u can afford one .and remember you can,t fix stupid
  • jtan189 - February 6, 2009 8:27 p.m.

    Sounds like a game I should buy. I'll probably get Metal Gear Solid 4 first - still haven't gotten around to that. Then this. Then maybe Fallout 3. Damn...I wish I had more time to play games. Effin school..
  • hottaco - February 5, 2009 12:11 a.m.

    @MilitaryRaiden aka fuck face, why would you say I am gay? Maybe I am a necropheliac? Ever consider that? HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM????????????? I could have over 367 dead bodies stacked up in my bathroom. Maybe I need to add one more to my collection. You just never know who people are.
  • MilitaryRaiden - February 4, 2009 10:29 p.m.

    @hottaco: But actually this does seem to be your problem - you don't have a wife. Or a girlfriend. And I think that deep down inside...you just might need a man. Badly. But, hey: it's ok to admit it, we're all friends here. And some people here just might like you despite the fact that you obviously are an angry repressed homosexual who likes to beat up women with frying pans and all that... @MikelReparaz: You're right about the Sony infrastructure as well as for the my co-op bitching, you're right and it's my mistake. But if you didn't have cheat codes I really believe that you couldn't have a complete picture on which to base a review. If anyone praises CoD4 it isn't for its single player campaign - who has played it this year anyway? - but for its addictive-as-smack multiplayer. So - fearing that I might sound like a broken record - I disagree NOT with the score (it's a 9 not a 3) but with the review being based mostly on the single-player experience. Anyway it's not that I was a zealot swearing to God that I would never read a GR review - I really like the site. And since this is a comments section - well: these were my comments, warts and all. And there really is a hidden islamic message in it. And it was stashed there by the Jews. You'll see.
  • bschroth - February 4, 2009 8:21 p.m.

    dear fanboys, eat shit and die.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - February 4, 2009 7:54 p.m.

    @MilitaryRaiden: I think you may be jumping to conclusions on several points, first and foremost that this review was dashed out in a hurry. I - along with everyone else who was sent review code - had weeks of advance notice about the early embargo-lift (standard practice for Sony) and more than enough time to play through the single-player campaign twice before writing about it. Second, the score and recommendation I gave were earned mostly by the excellent campaign. I played enough multiplayer to have a firm grasp of what it’s like, and didn't comment on it beyond my experience. I certainly didn’t base the score on what I imagined the multiplayer would be like beyond that experience. We also weren't given "cheat codes" to level up in a hurry. We leveled up normally. While we're on the subject of multiplayer, what if the KZ2 servers DO suck right off the bat? And what if, after a week, they stop sucking? Would we have to re-review it again? I'm not reviewing Sony's network infrastructure, I'm reviewing the game. If there are issues on the server side, it won't change my view of the game as a whole. I’m also puzzled by your assertion that the review was based around the absence of co-op. I said it was surprising that the game didn't have co-op, because squadmates play such a significant role, but it's not as though I obsessed over it. I respect the decision of some other sites to withhold their reviews until release, but I don’t share their concerns, and I remain confident that I played Killzone 2 enough to give it a fair and accurate appraisal. The only way we would significantly revise the review at this point is if the game were to go through substantial changes between now and release, which – seeing as it’s gone gold and is likely now in full-blown mass-production – is highly unlikely. Unless there’s a hidden Islamic message everyone missed, that is.
  • FloatingFart - February 4, 2009 6:40 p.m.

    Well i'm dutch and really hoped that Team guerilla (their allso dutch) would make a great game but it's just a really beautiful yet average shooter like a beutiful girl who's totally lame in bed and has zero personality
  • MilitaryRaiden - February 4, 2009 1:55 a.m.

    To be honest I didn't have any problem with the 9/10. I just disagree with the haste to dish out a review based on a supposedly mandatory co-op for every fps that's going to come out henceforth. But - most importantly - I am extremely skeptical about reviews that are supposed to rate a game's multiplayer mode that's going to come out in about a month having played it for 3 hours(!!!) NOT on their intended retail servers and with zero idea about how the actual leveling-up will feel WITHOUT the review copy cheat codes that allow ranking up in 3 hours instead of the normal 25 or 30. What if the retail servers go live and the KZ2 multiplayer proves to be unplayable due to the sometimes sorry state of the PS network? In that case I guess you might have to pull a complete switcheroo like the one you had to go through on the CoD 4 review - but in the opposite direction... All I'm saying is that GR, like many other sites, has reviewed a game weeks before circulation and based their review on an experience that might prove to be markedly different from the one players will actually have after the 27th of February.

Showing 81-100 of 135 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Guerrilla Games
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+