Google+

Killer Instinct review

Great
Back to Article

49 comments

  • shawn-phillip - November 18, 2013 10:55 a.m.

    Low amount of figters at launch can only mean 1 thing. DAY 1 DLC CHARACTERS. Don't look now, but this new gen will test the limits of how much gamer's will buy into this new TEST..... M$ is testing the waters here. If gamer's buy additional DLC in droves, this will become the new COD/ DLC model for fighting/ racing games on the XB1.
  • shawksta - November 18, 2013 11:12 a.m.

    *COUGH* CAPCOM *COUGH* *COUGH* ON DISK STREET FIGHTER X TEKKEN CHARACTERS *COUGH* *COUGH* JILL AND SHUMA GORATH IN MV3 *COUGH*
  • BladedFalcon - November 18, 2013 11:21 a.m.

    Yeah, and that didn't work very well for them, did it? Which is why it baffles me that Microsoft would think this approach was a good idea :/
  • shawksta - November 18, 2013 11:39 a.m.

    Microsoft are morons, what are we gonna do? Were even lucky Double Helix decided to make it this way to keep the quality instead of rushing it as a crippled mess. Atleast its not Capcom terms of being On Disk already and waiting till later to let people unlock it.
  • shawksta - November 18, 2013 11:40 a.m.

    *We're
  • GR_LucasSullivan - November 18, 2013 11:38 a.m.

    I meannnnnn the entire game is technically DLC lol. And we know when the additional fighters are coming: Spinal in January 2014, Fulgore in March.
  • JMarsella09 - November 18, 2013 10:30 a.m.

    I'm going to take an odd stance here and say that having a low number of fighters can be a very good thing. In games like Tekkan or Street Fighter, having a huge cast of characters not only makes the game harder to balance but it also adds stress to a new player. With, KI's six characters, players are forced to spend more time with each one, and are more likely to find their ideal play style.
  • GR_LucasSullivan - November 18, 2013 10:46 a.m.

    Good point! Yeah, even in fighters with huge rosters (MvC2), it seems like 70% of the characters get ignored. It's much, much easier to find which KI fighter suits you during your first play session. That said, I still can't decide if I like Sabrewulf or Thunder more :D
  • shawksta - November 18, 2013 11:13 a.m.

    This especially since the characters all have a different playstyle it makes it more better on choice. I knew Thunder was gonna be a grapple but damn they did it better than i expected. DAT MUSIC ULTRA
  • Cyberninja - November 18, 2013 11:20 a.m.

    I have to disagree with that one, because at this point Blazblue has 25 characters after starting with 12 and I have to say that they still manged to keep the game balanced, and that have 25 completely different characters(even characters who are the same play differently like Nu/Lambda CP even has you switch between their styles and Terumi/Hazama) I feel its easier to find what you like when their is more choice since with only 6 there is a chance for no one to really click with you.
  • JMarsella09 - November 18, 2013 1:51 p.m.

    I would argue that while Blazblue is more balanced then say, Tekkan, there have been problems. There was a time when every match I played was either against Bang or Tager. The more characters they add, the farther the best and worst character grow apart. When I first bought SSF4 I was overwhelmed. I didn't know who to begin with, and it took me a considerable amount of time to try them all out. P4A is a good number in my opinion. Keep it in the teens.
  • crunkman2000 - November 18, 2013 2:39 p.m.

    BlazBlue also added those characters over the course of, what, four games now, counting Chrono Phantasma? Whereas something like MVC2 was designed with 60ish characters in mind, and was horribly unbalanced as a result.
  • BladedFalcon - November 18, 2013 11:29 a.m.

    I think there's a balance to be found here. Yeah, having each character be very different from each other is more important than having a bunch of clones or palette swaps. But also, having too few fighters several impacts the longevity of the game in general, this is the same problem that Skullgirls had. If you ask me, BlazBlue got the balance right, having little more than 10 fighters, but all of them incredibly varied and different, each with their own unique "gimmick", and a pretty robust story mode. It made for a much more compelling package overall.
  • JMarsella09 - November 18, 2013 1:57 p.m.

    Oh I agree. The is defiantly a happy middle where the characters are varied enough so that the player are bound to find someone he or she enjoys, while keeping the number small so that the player and the programmer are not overwhelmed. Arc System Works seems to do it the best, as Blazblue and P4 Arena are some of the most balanced fighters out there. I think a number in the teens is the best
  • crunkman2000 - November 18, 2013 2:40 p.m.

    Don't forget Guilty Gear! ...As long as you ignore Eddie. Blargh.
  • CharThom - November 18, 2013 10:08 a.m.

    Seriously though, shout out to Microsoft. I have an 8 year tenure with Xbox Live and 107689 gamerscore and they sent me and many others with similar history, Killer Instinct with all the characters for free. Not to show off but seriously that's fantastic, thanks MS for a great game for free for my loyalty to the brand.
  • g1rldraco7 - November 18, 2013 9:39 a.m.

    Need to reserve my copy before friday, i never thought Killer Instinct would be back, but I am glad this is alive. Excellent review Lucas :)
  • siteuntitled - November 18, 2013 9:29 a.m.

    "Buying characters for $5 apiece seems like a rip-off..." I thought they said that the first character is $5, but then additional characters are discounted - so you never pay more than the $20 total for all 8 characters. Are they not doing that anymore?
  • GR_LucasSullivan - November 18, 2013 10:23 a.m.

    I'll test this out--last I saw, the store had every character listed at $4.99, but maybe the price flips after you make a purchase.
  • siteuntitled - November 18, 2013 11:46 a.m.

    Found it: http://www.ign.com/articles/2013/08/20/gamescom-killer-instinct-season-2-in-2014-launch-explained Characters, individually, will cost "$5, or the European equivalent," and if you decide you want to buy the rest, you'll get a special discount to "top off" so you're never spending more than $20 for the full roster.
  • siteuntitled - November 18, 2013 2:44 p.m.

    Be sure to let us know if you find out if they are still doing this or not! :) Thanks!

Showing 21-40 of 49 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 22 2013 - Xbox One (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox One
Genre: Fighting
Franchise: Killer Instinct
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.