Google+

Kid Icarus: Uprising review

Back to Article

59 comments

  • WillisTron - March 23, 2012 12:29 a.m.

    A 9, very nice! Can't wait to get it!!
  • xarab4lyfex - March 20, 2012 8:19 p.m.

    Sucks being left handed sometimes. I refuse to buy a circle pad pro, so I guess im missing out on this one. Also the extra weight from the CPP, along with the 3DS's weight would destroy my wrist after a little while. Really wished they would've thought ahead of time on this, or changed the controls so lefties can play it without having to pay extra. This scheme worked great for TWEWY and the DS, not so much for this system.
  • kirby64 - March 20, 2012 8:34 p.m.

    You could just map the controls to the buttons that is an option
  • shawksta - March 20, 2012 10:52 p.m.

    Im just gonna throw this out, but if youve been busy with the 3DS like i have you wouldve gotten used to nerely everything about it, The Weight and low battery BARELY bothers me anymore because i got used to how to handle it and to save energy, and circle pad pro is barely a brick, people overexaggerate. The circle pad pro isnt just for this game though, Resident Evil Revelations and Metal Gear solid Snake eater 3D work much better with them if you havnt gotten the hang of the controls. You dont have to buy it, my post isnt to convince you but im just letting you know.
  • xarab4lyfex - March 22, 2012 12:30 p.m.

    I've gotten to used to the circle pad to play with kind of game with buttons. Also, I don't get bothered by the low battery, people exaggerate the hell out of it. I've played a lot of Twewy, so I'm used to using one hand, but the 3DS and the DS lite are a lot different in weight. And I played Snake Eater on the ps3, and I thought Revelations felt more resident evil without the circle pad pro (can't really move and shoot.) I'd rather just skip it all together even though I'm probably missing out
  • shawksta - March 22, 2012 11 p.m.

    As i said, you dont have to, its your preferences, i only used the circle pad pro for Metal Gear solid, i have the same feeling as you with Resident Evil. The Snake Eater is just a HD port, while the 3DS is a full remake, but either way both are great to whoever gets their hands on whichever. EXACTLY, you me same minds, people overexaggerate the Battery.
  • revrock - March 19, 2012 11:04 p.m.

    Alright, I pre-ordered this based on your review in progress. Hopefully I will get some life out of my 3DS again. It has been laying stagnant since I beat the pants off Super Mario 3D land.
  • rob619 - March 20, 2012 7:59 a.m.

    Get Resident Evil Revelations that can't be missed! Its like Resident Evil 5 but in your hands and better features
  • revrock - March 21, 2012 12:58 p.m.

    Cool, thank you!
  • NinSage - March 19, 2012 1:59 p.m.

    Woo hoo! Can't wait! One of my most anticipated games of all time! Thanks for the nice pre/review.
  • HandonBranson - March 19, 2012 9:44 a.m.

    Everyones saying the controls are horrible. Are they really that bad or is everyone just a bunch of babies?
  • GR_HenryGilbert - March 19, 2012 10:04 a.m.

    The controls are great for the shooting sections, flawed on-foot, but the walking stages are built to work with them. The controls aren't perfect, but they hardly a deal breaker
  • MattOfSteel - March 19, 2012 10:48 a.m.

    If I'm not mistaken, wasn't there thumb stylus models released (third party mostly) back when Metroid Prime Hunters came out? I checked and there are still thumb styli online, some are the old ones, but there are new models that are meant for touchpanel devices (like to help medical/food handlers/and other professions that need to always wear gloves) That way you can fully support the 3DS with both hands and just use your thumb. Of course, I'm an adult male so my thumb can easily reach the entire touchscreen of my 3DS with my other fingers supporting it. Sure it wasn't included in the box ... but it exists. Nobody says the iPhone/iPod sucks just because the headphones that come in the box are terrible.
  • sirdilznik - March 23, 2012 9:58 a.m.

    It's weird but I had the opposite reaction to most reviews and found the on foot controls more natural than the flying controls, for whatever reason. In both cases I adapted to the controls quite quickly and even enjoy them. As with any non-standard control scheme, your mileage may vary.
  • PevMaster - March 19, 2012 9:39 a.m.

    Why is GamesRadar always stealing stuff from other sites? 'Review in progress' from IGN, 'The Science of Games' from GameTrailers and a thousand news stories a day from Computer and Video Games, among other sites. And where have the Top 7s gone? Where is the hilarious writing? All of GR's personality is gone. GONE.
  • BladedFalcon - March 19, 2012 11:33 a.m.

    Why are you still here then? Top 7s are still here every Monday of every week. You can bitch about their absence once Tuesday rolls in and no top 7 is in sight.
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 19, 2012 11:34 a.m.

    We actually took "The science of games" from GamePro, after GamePro sunk, but we actually took the writer with it.
  • Cyberninja - March 19, 2012 1:52 p.m.

    CVG is also owned by future so its not actually stealing anything especially since its a uk based site unlike GR which is US and Uk, also the top 7's are still here, I am assume the rest of what they want to put in the review is prohibited by Nintendo at this point, honestly you would have a better point if you mentioned american tdar but even then we have the uk version.
  • EnragedTortoise1 - March 19, 2012 9:14 a.m.

    Is it compatible with the Circle Pad Pro?
  • GR_HenryGilbert - March 19, 2012 9:30 a.m.

    Yes but only for left-handed play. You can't use it as a second analogue input to control the reticle

Showing 21-40 of 59 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 23 2012 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Action
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.