Google+

InFamous 2 review

Great
Back to Article

50 comments

  • sgloomy - June 16, 2011 10:45 p.m.

    Nice review. I was playing the game the other day and remembering the storm that came with the review of the first one. This game is definitely better than the first one, not that the first one was bad, just that this is what I expected the first one to be. I finished the good ending and have to say, they had the greatest gaming moment possibility there at the end in choosing the good or bad if they didn't tell you which is which but missed it. good game though. @ 435, Totally agree, or at least kept it as an extra skin for those who wanted it.
  • RabidCabbage - June 17, 2011 12:02 a.m.

    I agreed with Mikel's thoughts on inFamous, so it's encouraging to hear that this is an improvement. Will eventually get this.
  • Unoriginal - June 17, 2011 12:38 a.m.

    Enjoying my free copy of the original and am loving it (It's hard to complain about something you get for free) I'm not sure if I like it enough to buy it at full price but once it eventually drops I'll definately get it. Was on the fence but this review helped me decide that, thanks.
  • Larinah - June 17, 2011 1:11 a.m.

    Just a little detail here, Cole had the ability to pick up objects on the first one as well. Just that little detail alone(considering you got this ability at the START OF THE FIRST GAME) shows me that either you never even played the first one, or you've forgotten everything about it. IE: I call bias.
  • D0CCON - June 17, 2011 1:25 a.m.

    @EwoksTasteLikeChicken I really, really hate God of War. I will sum up 15 minutes of gameplay for you now: Hit square, hit square, hit square, hit square, move on. Hit square, hit square, hit square, hit square, move on. Move a boulder on top of something to solve a mind-numbingly simple puzzle, move on. The graphics are very pretty, but everything else is a repetitive chore for me.
  • winterwolf - June 17, 2011 1:56 a.m.

    Not trying to sound like a PS fanboy (I don't own a single PSX, actually) but I am confused that Mr. Reparaz (I checked, Mr. Reparaz reviewed both games) gave Infamous 2 an 8, and Prototype a 9, but says Infamous 2 is better? That doesn't sound quite right... feel free to enlighten me on the matter though lol
  • Craza - June 17, 2011 2:54 a.m.

    I'm glad that a developer can fix the flaws in their previous game(s) and improve their game formula. Simply because of that, I'm interested in playing it. This game isn't perfect, but it's definitely an improvement. A dev team that knows how to fix things is worthy of a second-look.
  • Pocotron - June 17, 2011 3:02 a.m.

    I don't know why anyone would want a fast-travel system in inFamous 2. Maybe in the first game, but in this one, I felt it was much easier to travel anywhere.
  • PopularBluesMagicianSandyCabbage - June 17, 2011 3:41 a.m.

    Great review Mikel. I would have rated it the same. The gameplay was better than in the first, but the ending in the first game was way more epic. Gameplay in this game is pretty epic though, especially the first time you see the look and style of the game. The second playthhrough is kind of overkill for me, even with all of the varied karma specific side missions. But i guess thats the nature of gaming. Just make sure you start the game on hard difficulty and dont switch it during the game, so you can get that trophy. My game automatically switched me to hard because i supposedly finished the first section awesomely. Too bad i got to the end and was extremely pissed that i didnt get the trophy. So, playthrough number 3 is coming when i dont hate this game anymore. One thing though, i hope this doesnt annoy you... Last paragraph of your article, its "wail" on someone, not "whale" on someone. I'll just give myself the wikiparaz noise.
  • Gameguy94 - June 17, 2011 3:50 a.m.

    Sorry GR I already bought the game before this review showed up. I must agree however. I'm very much enjoying this game and it does offer a LOT more content. as well. Good review.
  • Sleuth - June 17, 2011 2:30 p.m.

    This was a spectacular super hero game!
  • TriforcePlayer - June 17, 2011 2:32 p.m.

    I hated the first one but the sequel is the funnest game I've played all year.
  • Zeb364 - June 17, 2011 6 p.m.

    I had a blast playing through inFamous 2. I loved the first one too and am halfway through a second playthrough of it. Once I finish I'll play through inFamous 2 again taking the evil karma route. I always play good first which is the opposite of every other game. While I might have given it a 9 there's no arguing with your review, great read.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - June 17, 2011 6:22 p.m.

    @Larinah: Are you sure? I just went back to check, and there's no Kinetic Pulse ability. I can shove cars with the shockwave, but I can't pick them up and toss them around. @winterwolf: A score is a reflection of the game's quality at the time, so a game that gets a 9 in 2009 isn't necessarily going to get the same score in 2011. Compared side-by-side now, InFamous 2 is better than Prototype, but that alone doesn't guarantee it a 9 in 2011. @PopularBluesMagicianSandyCabbage: WHALE -verb, whaled, whal·ing. To hit, thrash, or beat soundly. (from dictionary.com) Sorry to do this, but you have fallen victim to a common spelling misconception, and you get a reverse Wikiparaz noise as a result.
  • CitizenThom - June 17, 2011 9:35 p.m.

    I enjoyed the first Infamous a lot, played it through twice and collected all the shards, and yes the endgame could've been better. I played the demo for Infamous 2 a couple weeks ago though, and just didn't feel as pulled in as I did with the first. I can't put a finger on what though, but after the demo, I decided to wait for when this becomes a greatest hit before picking it up.
  • spencertucksen - June 18, 2011 11:43 a.m.

    @Lord Reparaz: I found this game to be a solid 8.8, which rounds out to a 9. Played the good ending and thought it was great with the whole "...but no one had more humanity than Cole McGrath" (Not a big spoiler to me) and while I think this deserved a 9, I found this review to be pretty solid as a whole. Played out the story with each Karma and while I think lifting and tossing objects was good...it wasn't practical AT ALL. A few other things to say: The bad ending made me want to murder MYSELF. Depressing-ass ending was just a metaphorically shitstorm of guilt for this good guy. Also, the reverse Wikiparaz is by far the most impressive.
  • philipshaw - June 18, 2011 3:46 p.m.

    Great review, I beat it with the good ending the other night and would give it a 8.5 but your scale doesn't have that so I guess a 8 is fair
  • Guardian88 - June 18, 2011 5:41 p.m.

    First of all, you do realize that you said that InFAMOUS 2 is better than Prototype, but you game Prototype a 9...and you game InFAMOUS 2 an 8. If not, then think about it. Next, you are a lair. There is a fast travel system...a couple in fact. The static thrusters, the lightning tether, powerlines, the street car cables, the train rails, among others.
  • terdferguson - June 18, 2011 7:57 p.m.

    I really hated InFamous until I started unlocking new powers. I could not kill anyone and I found it to be one of the most frustrating games I had ever played. I agree with the 7 it received as it was a pretty bland game. I thought Prototype was awful. The player mobility was like I was to control a crack addict on a hot coal bed and the graphics were severely disappointing. The story tried so hard to have a conspiracy/edgy/outlaw feel and the physics were terrible. The game seemed to be stuck behind all these shitacular spectacles to achieve what the developer wanted. Yet it recieved great reviews. I hope this isn't the same case with InFamous 2.
  • GhostbustTyler - June 19, 2011 7:36 p.m.

    The only thing stopping me from playing this game right now is studying for exams. It's so much fun and I haven't even spent that long playing the actual story, just collecting blast shards and stopping crimes. The one complaint I really have is that the A.I is still dumber then shit. Playing as a hero gets frustrating when your lining up shots then at the last minute a stupid civilian or a member of the rebellion gets in your way and you gain negative karma for not meaning to hit them. I mean in the beginning when your trying to find Wolfe and they first tell you to use blast (I still prefer the power names from the first game) a stupid civilian got stuck in the way of the car so any time I tried to move it, I gained negative karma points again. Other then that I love the game and all the improvements they did to make it better from the first. Awesome review Mikel (even thought I picked it up before you posted this haha) !

Showing 21-40 of 50 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 07 2011 - PS3 (US)
Jun 10 2011 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Sucker Punch
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Drug Reference, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.