Google+

InFamous 2 review

Back to Article

50 comments

  • Gameguy94 - June 17, 2011 3:50 a.m.

    Sorry GR I already bought the game before this review showed up. I must agree however. I'm very much enjoying this game and it does offer a LOT more content. as well. Good review.
  • PopularBluesMagicianSandyCabbage - June 17, 2011 3:41 a.m.

    Great review Mikel. I would have rated it the same. The gameplay was better than in the first, but the ending in the first game was way more epic. Gameplay in this game is pretty epic though, especially the first time you see the look and style of the game. The second playthhrough is kind of overkill for me, even with all of the varied karma specific side missions. But i guess thats the nature of gaming. Just make sure you start the game on hard difficulty and dont switch it during the game, so you can get that trophy. My game automatically switched me to hard because i supposedly finished the first section awesomely. Too bad i got to the end and was extremely pissed that i didnt get the trophy. So, playthrough number 3 is coming when i dont hate this game anymore. One thing though, i hope this doesnt annoy you... Last paragraph of your article, its "wail" on someone, not "whale" on someone. I'll just give myself the wikiparaz noise.
  • Pocotron - June 17, 2011 3:02 a.m.

    I don't know why anyone would want a fast-travel system in inFamous 2. Maybe in the first game, but in this one, I felt it was much easier to travel anywhere.
  • Craza - June 17, 2011 2:54 a.m.

    I'm glad that a developer can fix the flaws in their previous game(s) and improve their game formula. Simply because of that, I'm interested in playing it. This game isn't perfect, but it's definitely an improvement. A dev team that knows how to fix things is worthy of a second-look.
  • winterwolf - June 17, 2011 1:56 a.m.

    Not trying to sound like a PS fanboy (I don't own a single PSX, actually) but I am confused that Mr. Reparaz (I checked, Mr. Reparaz reviewed both games) gave Infamous 2 an 8, and Prototype a 9, but says Infamous 2 is better? That doesn't sound quite right... feel free to enlighten me on the matter though lol
  • D0CCON - June 17, 2011 1:25 a.m.

    @EwoksTasteLikeChicken I really, really hate God of War. I will sum up 15 minutes of gameplay for you now: Hit square, hit square, hit square, hit square, move on. Hit square, hit square, hit square, hit square, move on. Move a boulder on top of something to solve a mind-numbingly simple puzzle, move on. The graphics are very pretty, but everything else is a repetitive chore for me.
  • Larinah - June 17, 2011 1:11 a.m.

    Just a little detail here, Cole had the ability to pick up objects on the first one as well. Just that little detail alone(considering you got this ability at the START OF THE FIRST GAME) shows me that either you never even played the first one, or you've forgotten everything about it. IE: I call bias.
  • Unoriginal - June 17, 2011 12:38 a.m.

    Enjoying my free copy of the original and am loving it (It's hard to complain about something you get for free) I'm not sure if I like it enough to buy it at full price but once it eventually drops I'll definately get it. Was on the fence but this review helped me decide that, thanks.
  • RabidCabbage - June 17, 2011 12:02 a.m.

    I agreed with Mikel's thoughts on inFamous, so it's encouraging to hear that this is an improvement. Will eventually get this.
  • sgloomy - June 16, 2011 10:45 p.m.

    Nice review. I was playing the game the other day and remembering the storm that came with the review of the first one. This game is definitely better than the first one, not that the first one was bad, just that this is what I expected the first one to be. I finished the good ending and have to say, they had the greatest gaming moment possibility there at the end in choosing the good or bad if they didn't tell you which is which but missed it. good game though. @ 435, Totally agree, or at least kept it as an extra skin for those who wanted it.
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - June 16, 2011 10:41 p.m.

    @DOCCON "if you ask me, this and Uncharted are the only 2 great exclusives PS3 has"... Excuse me sir, have you ever even HEARD of a little series called God of War?!? What the hell, I don't even own a PS3, and I have to stick up for one of the best series of games ever.
  • 435 - June 16, 2011 10:16 p.m.

    Still wish they'd kept Cole's redesign.
  • awinnerisjew - June 16, 2011 9:34 p.m.

    I am a little surprised by the score, Mr. Reparaz. Your review read like a "9", maybe even a "10" to me. I just completed the game as a hero, and I must say, I'd give the game a 9. I enjoyed the 1st and agreed with every criticism leveled at it, except the ones about the climbing mechanic being too sticky. The main issue I had with his climbing was that I found myself yelling "Up, Stupid!" frequently at times when he would refuse to grab an easy to reach window ledge or handhold. To me, inFAMOUS 2 rectified all problems I had with the first. The missions were fun and varied, but with some repeats in structure, usually only in the side and power up the town missions only, so if you had a favorite kind you would get to enjoy it a couple of times. I found the different areas to be actually different and fun to explore, although traversing Flood Town takes some getting used roof you want to travel and fight without accidentally frying civilians, but not in an annoying, game-ruining way. Combat was vastly improved ('sploding verandas and giant warehouses right from underneath or on top of enemy soldiers is always fun), and felt rewarding when you nailed a flying soldier in the head and caused them to plummet 10+ stories to the ground, mid-arc. The story was great, although I personally didn't like the ending, it made sense and was very well done. I myself view it as a "9", and only because of the Titan (Mostly. Seriously, fuck him), Devourer, Crusher fights, because of the limited methods of fighting them effectively. The Titan is the biggest offender here, because there are at least 2 ways to beat the other 2. But the bonus is, none of those "deactivate the surveillance equipment on my building" bullshit missions from inFAMOUS 1.
  • garnsr - June 16, 2011 9:04 p.m.

    This one doesn't seem as different from the first as Mikel seemed to think, but I enjoyed the first quite a bit. If you liked the first there's no reason you wouldn't like 2, unless the fact that they're very similar games is too much for you. If you don't want to play the first you'd be fine playing 2, it's very similar but improved enough for old players or new ones to enjoy.
  • lawman2593733 - June 16, 2011 8:57 p.m.

    Wait NvM, I got mixed up with the first character model they showed for this game, my bad.
  • lawman2593733 - June 16, 2011 8:55 p.m.

    Most certainly loved the first. Played it through a few times. This one definitely looks better though, always wanted some cooler/better melee combat. (Still like the way Cole looked in the first game better than this though).
  • LoganDeckard - June 16, 2011 8:38 p.m.

    Great review Mikel. Would have given it a 9 myself, but I'm a bias PS3 head who hates the 360, sucks Sony's cock, and thinks Microsoft employees eat babies.
  • D0CCON - June 16, 2011 8:30 p.m.

    Infamous seems to always get one point less than what I'd give it on this site (although this is still a good review). I was actually just playing this game 5 minutes ago. I love it (if you ask me, this and Uncharted are the only 2 great exclusives PS3 has and this comes with a beta code for Uncharted).
  • Baron164 - June 16, 2011 8:27 p.m.

    I just downloaded the first InFamous thanks to Sony's welcome back program so I'll be trying that out to see how I like it. If it doesn't completely turn me off to the series like Resistance did I'll probably pick this up.
  • jackthemenace - June 16, 2011 8:26 p.m.

    The first one's awesome, but the melee combat is so balls, it's unbelievable. I'm planning on getting this the second I finish the first one, and hopefully I'll enjoy it even more.

Showing 21-40 of 50 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 07 2011 - PS3 (US)
Jun 10 2011 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Sucker Punch
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Drug Reference, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+