Google+

InFamous 2 review

Back to Article

50 comments

  • big000 - August 8, 2011 2:34 a.m.

    Good game, only thing that pisses me off are blocky shapes when explosions occur
  • cableguy3000 - June 26, 2011 9:31 p.m.

    Im sorry but an 8,thats lame.This game deserves at least a 9.Its so cool.Well thats my opinion anyway.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - June 22, 2011 11:45 a.m.

    @Guardian88: Yep, I addressed that a few comments before the one you posted. Hopefully you saw that. Also, I'm a lair? Neat! I hope that means I'm full of gold hoarded by dragons. But in case you weren't aware, "fast-travel," in the context of sandbox games, generally means the ability to warp from one point to another (i.e. GTA IV's trip-skip cabs or Red Dead's campsites). @HaVoK308: No, I mean I achieved a psychic link with your mind and produced a review that exactly reflected your own personal tastes. Obviously you just don't realize what it is you do and don't like. /sarcasm (Also, while you may feel that traveling rapidly from one end of the city to the other is exactly the same as warping there in seconds, I respectfully disagree.)
  • ashton - June 22, 2011 1:59 p.m.

    I bought the first InFamous as a greatest hit and I loved it had the same complaints as others did (sticky controls)... but still a pretty good game!! And Mikel is only doing his job great review along with a great score and 8 not bad but not great. I love the InFamous games there not great but really far from bad!! @Larinah as long as I’ve been playing the first game never was I at the begging of the game ( nor middle to end) I able to pick up a car, box, collapses building debris and chunk at who or what so ever I pleased!! Yea go back in research that for me (sarcasm)!!
  • TheHowetzer - June 20, 2011 7 p.m.

    Common guys, you still dont come here for game reviews do you? This is not the place for those, the reveiws here make no sence at all, but they have some good features and coverage, dont take it too serious, I used to, but I got over it. Mikel certainly helped me get over that hump with his costantly crazy review scores/articles. Not that he is the only one, but he sure did his share.
  • PopularBluesMagicianSandyCabbage - June 20, 2011 4:17 p.m.

    @GamesRadarMikelReparaz: oh shit i got owned by Mikel AND got a reverse Wikiparaz noise. life is complete. sounds kinda like this DOOOOOOOOm bloop bloop blip
  • D0CCON - June 20, 2011 7:19 a.m.

    @Cloud1Fair3/Zeipher It's not just God of War. I've never liked the type of game that God of War is (ditto with the likes of Devil May Cry or Bayonetta, but at least Bayonetta is bat shit uber insane, which makes it slightly more appealing). I don't want to solve simple puzzles and beat the shit out of another room of bad guys with the same combos over and over. Adding extra difficulty does not change what the game is. I find the game's fundamentals boring. And before you say that that's how must games are (all you do in an FPS is shoot people after all), the way it's handled just doesn't appeal to me. I can't say what the exact thing that annoys me is, maybe it's that most fights in GOW styled games happen in empty rooms where there's a bunch of enemies and the door to the next room full of enemies won't unlock until you beat up all of these enemies. Maybe it's how most games in the genre have a handful of very useful moves that you spam over and over (even without upgrades, there are superior weak moves when compared to other weak moves). Maybe it's because I don't give a shit about what number my combo is at. Maybe I just like less linear games with more freedom (I'm guessing that's it considering how much I love Bethesda and Rockstar games). This may be tldr, but I felt like writing it and I'm glad I could semi-rant (semi because I'm not trying to tear the game a new asshole, but because I just want to share my flaws with a game without trying to offend anyone).
  • HaVoK308 - June 20, 2011 3:33 a.m.

    You'll hate? You mean You hate. I have no issues with the upgrade system or the end game. No fast travel? The game is built so it is not needed and with the use of your powers it is easy to get from point A to B. You should change your reviews to: I love and I hate.
  • Cloud1Fair3 - June 20, 2011 1:35 a.m.

    @DOCCON I agree with Zeipher, clearly you didn't let the game challenge you. If it's still not challenging enough (which if you do Chaos mode, I dobut) try a NUR. I still haven't beaten my NUR on God of War 2 (titan difficulty of course). And before you ask, NUR means no upgrade run, don't spend a single red orb, talk about insane, it's you, weakened ass moves and very few options, and your raw skills against the toughest difficulty. Hardcore on Deadspace 2's got nothing (which I will attempt because I'm a videogame masochist). @Mikel. I'm unfortunately gonna have to call a bias as well. First you give InFamous a 7, which I would disagree and give it a 9 despite it's flaws, it was the 2009 version of Spiderman 2 with a morality meter and clever and innovative story, aka massive fun. Now, you say it's redeemed itself and become the game it was supposed too. Even back in 2009 if that was true of InFamous, would it get a 10? Fastforward to the future 2011 and I say I still think the InFamous series is the 3rd best new-gen series I've played, better than even Sly Cooper (or not, don't make me choose), although to be fair, I don't own a 360 so I can't count 360 exclusives. This game at the very least deserves a 9, and maybe I'm just getting a personal and subjective kick out of it based of nothing, which is why I don't review games for a living probably, but I would even give it a 10 (gasps). But I guess you'd have to let the gaming community decide overall what it deserves. IGN, another gaming site that doles out hypercritical reviews gave it a 9, so what does that say? I also think they did a better review. Sorry.
  • Zeipher - June 19, 2011 7:40 p.m.

    @DOCCON Play at a harder difficulty, you loser.
  • GhostbustTyler - June 19, 2011 7:36 p.m.

    The only thing stopping me from playing this game right now is studying for exams. It's so much fun and I haven't even spent that long playing the actual story, just collecting blast shards and stopping crimes. The one complaint I really have is that the A.I is still dumber then shit. Playing as a hero gets frustrating when your lining up shots then at the last minute a stupid civilian or a member of the rebellion gets in your way and you gain negative karma for not meaning to hit them. I mean in the beginning when your trying to find Wolfe and they first tell you to use blast (I still prefer the power names from the first game) a stupid civilian got stuck in the way of the car so any time I tried to move it, I gained negative karma points again. Other then that I love the game and all the improvements they did to make it better from the first. Awesome review Mikel (even thought I picked it up before you posted this haha) !
  • terdferguson - June 18, 2011 7:57 p.m.

    I really hated InFamous until I started unlocking new powers. I could not kill anyone and I found it to be one of the most frustrating games I had ever played. I agree with the 7 it received as it was a pretty bland game. I thought Prototype was awful. The player mobility was like I was to control a crack addict on a hot coal bed and the graphics were severely disappointing. The story tried so hard to have a conspiracy/edgy/outlaw feel and the physics were terrible. The game seemed to be stuck behind all these shitacular spectacles to achieve what the developer wanted. Yet it recieved great reviews. I hope this isn't the same case with InFamous 2.
  • Guardian88 - June 18, 2011 5:41 p.m.

    First of all, you do realize that you said that InFAMOUS 2 is better than Prototype, but you game Prototype a 9...and you game InFAMOUS 2 an 8. If not, then think about it. Next, you are a lair. There is a fast travel system...a couple in fact. The static thrusters, the lightning tether, powerlines, the street car cables, the train rails, among others.
  • philipshaw - June 18, 2011 3:46 p.m.

    Great review, I beat it with the good ending the other night and would give it a 8.5 but your scale doesn't have that so I guess a 8 is fair
  • spencertucksen - June 18, 2011 11:43 a.m.

    @Lord Reparaz: I found this game to be a solid 8.8, which rounds out to a 9. Played the good ending and thought it was great with the whole "...but no one had more humanity than Cole McGrath" (Not a big spoiler to me) and while I think this deserved a 9, I found this review to be pretty solid as a whole. Played out the story with each Karma and while I think lifting and tossing objects was good...it wasn't practical AT ALL. A few other things to say: The bad ending made me want to murder MYSELF. Depressing-ass ending was just a metaphorically shitstorm of guilt for this good guy. Also, the reverse Wikiparaz is by far the most impressive.
  • CitizenThom - June 17, 2011 9:35 p.m.

    I enjoyed the first Infamous a lot, played it through twice and collected all the shards, and yes the endgame could've been better. I played the demo for Infamous 2 a couple weeks ago though, and just didn't feel as pulled in as I did with the first. I can't put a finger on what though, but after the demo, I decided to wait for when this becomes a greatest hit before picking it up.
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - June 17, 2011 6:22 p.m.

    @Larinah: Are you sure? I just went back to check, and there's no Kinetic Pulse ability. I can shove cars with the shockwave, but I can't pick them up and toss them around. @winterwolf: A score is a reflection of the game's quality at the time, so a game that gets a 9 in 2009 isn't necessarily going to get the same score in 2011. Compared side-by-side now, InFamous 2 is better than Prototype, but that alone doesn't guarantee it a 9 in 2011. @PopularBluesMagicianSandyCabbage: WHALE -verb, whaled, whal·ing. To hit, thrash, or beat soundly. (from dictionary.com) Sorry to do this, but you have fallen victim to a common spelling misconception, and you get a reverse Wikiparaz noise as a result.
  • Zeb364 - June 17, 2011 6 p.m.

    I had a blast playing through inFamous 2. I loved the first one too and am halfway through a second playthrough of it. Once I finish I'll play through inFamous 2 again taking the evil karma route. I always play good first which is the opposite of every other game. While I might have given it a 9 there's no arguing with your review, great read.
  • TriforcePlayer - June 17, 2011 2:32 p.m.

    I hated the first one but the sequel is the funnest game I've played all year.
  • Sleuth - June 17, 2011 2:30 p.m.

    This was a spectacular super hero game!

Showing 1-20 of 50 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 07 2011 - PS3 (US)
Jun 10 2011 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Sucker Punch
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Drug Reference, Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+