Google+

Heavy Rain review

Back to Article

125 comments

  • Corsair89 - February 10, 2010 5:37 p.m.

    I played the demo and I enjoyed it somewhat. I thought that the FBI agent's forensic sunglasses were really over-the-top for a game that was supposed to be serious. I'll probably wait a few months to buy this one.
  • Jok3rNThi3f - February 10, 2010 5:40 p.m.

    Pretty Good score for a really Niche' Game. I honestly liked the Demo a lot. It had a really strong Noire type of feel. It's kindve odd to compare it to Mass Effect though, as they're really different Games. Then again, it's hard to compare Heavy Rain to alot of things so I suppose it makes sense.
  • IIIIIACEIIIII - February 10, 2010 5:58 p.m.

    The way you were hacking at it all through the review, I thought you were going to end up saying Indigo Prophecy is better because that game was really good, but then you end up saying it's better than Indigo Prophecy? Left me baffled, but if that's the case then I'll be getting Heavy Rain.
  • idlemindkiller - February 10, 2010 6:10 p.m.

    Fail... No thanks. Just make a real game.
  • Yeager1122 - February 10, 2010 6:13 p.m.

    So its average from all the hype i was actually expecting it to be alot better then the way you sadi it was.
  • Estacado - February 10, 2010 6:22 p.m.

    I don't care if this is a "7" game, i will buy it =D
  • loonyman978 - February 10, 2010 6:43 p.m.

    It seems this must have been one hard game to score as it appeals to some while applaing others. Nevertheless, I'll give it a shot despite being slightly disappointed that it has a terrible story
  • chrisat928 - February 10, 2010 7:17 p.m.

    idlemindkiller - 1 hour 4 minutes ago  Fail... No thanks. Just make a real game. And you're the reason video games will never be taken seriously as a 'adult' media.
  • DirkSteele1 - February 10, 2010 7:19 p.m.

    This game has been garnering some great review scores elsewhere. I however believe this game will be viewed in the future to the PS3, as Sonic Adventure was on the Dreamcast. Everyone is blown away by the graphics and as such overlook obvious game play flaws, awarding a great score. Sonic had never before seen graphics and scored 9's and 10's, but a release on the GameCube a few years later shone a rather bright light on its failings and the review scores reflected this. Quantic Dreams should be commended for trying to create something a little bit different as there is far too much derivative trash produced in the gaming world today, even if the end product does not quite deliver. And well down GR for not being swept away by the fantastic visuals. Oh and the shower scene is ridiculous.
  • MrDuracraft - February 10, 2010 7:44 p.m.

    chrisat928 - 11 minutes 13 seconds ago idlemindkiller - 1 hour 4 minutes ago Fail... No thanks. Just make a real game. And you're the reason video games will never be taken seriously as a 'adult' media. I think what he means by "real" game as in one where you... interact (for lack of a better word) more. I would've liked this one but it seems boring since not even walking is a normal function. You do interact a lot in this game and it is very beautiful to look at, but that doesn't make it adult. Even GR says "It's not as mature as it thinks." About the game: I don't think I'll be getting it after this review.
  • Axcleblade - February 10, 2010 7:47 p.m.

    From the one gameplay video I watched (It was of the scene in the mall), the voice acting seemed pretty bad, too. I'll wait for it to be in the $30-40 range.
  • iluvmyDS - February 10, 2010 8:26 p.m.

    Protip: 7 doesn't mean the game is bad. 10 point scale exists for a reason.
  • John-117 - February 10, 2010 8:35 p.m.

    This is easily the most discussed and disagreed games amoung my friends. Even more so between reviewers it seems. It's hard to write a objective review, and Heavy Rain seems make that even more difficult. It's just many of the points of argument surrounding this game are too subjective to really find a standard at which this game could be reviewed. I've been a pretty on a big media blackout regarding this game but I've read all the reviews and it seems to be split into two groups. Nothing seems to be able to nailed down, people love the writing/acting, some people find it atrocious. Others can't stand the way style and themes while they are lauded somewhere else. I haven't played the game, or the demo for that matter but from everything I've seen and read this game will greatly appeal to me though it doesn't seem to for you guys. While I don't agree with the review from all the clips I've recently seen(the temptation was too great!) and previews I've read, I think the main thing is that you're picking it apart based on really subjective things. I'll have to wait until I can actually play the game of course but I will have to say I'm on the other side of the fence of the Heavy Rain debate. It seems this game either gets a 7 or a 9/10, there is no objective review made for a game like this. None the less, the review was done tastefully; no real flamebaiting so that always gets marks from me.
  • Stabby_Joe - February 10, 2010 8:59 p.m.

    Wow, this is the lowest score by a lot on Metacritic... ...but hey you're a reviewer and its your opinion so screw the fanboys haha! I'll be getting this game on release!
  • crumbdunky - February 10, 2010 9:07 p.m.

    It's WAY better than the review makes out. WAY better. I can see why someone might not like the game and appreciate a lot of people won't get it or will get frustrated that it isn't what they expect of a game at all BUT it's just not a seven. I was fortunate enough to play the game early too and was blown away by the vast majority of QD achieved with it. Were I to complain about things I'd say a couple of the acting performances weren't up to scratch with either the visuals or the script-but there'#s still some great performances in the game from most actors even if ne or two voices can annoy the hell out of you! I just do not agree that it's badly written, however. Yes, there are inmstances where, because of the nature of the game itself, consessions have ben made ver moments that may or ,may not be seen depending on what you've done/killed so far but given they were doing what amouuntas to something noone ever has before I think the writing is deserving of WAY more praise than the formulaic, bog normal(but effective, necessary and totally right for an excellent SF and WRPG game)writing in Mass Effect2(again, not a dig but the writing in HR has a far harder job and attacks it with far more risks and joy than what has to happen in ME2)which is stilted by comparison. There are clumsy moments as there always is when you try something noone els has before and you're feeling your way but I fear it often gets a mark or two knocked off unfairly because editors don't know who best to review it whereas they do with other games more easily fitted into a genre. A lot of sites seem to have given the game to the local staff film buff as well(from reading remarks made by reviewers lately)and I think even that skews it's reviews as it's bound to have plot holes compared to a single story film isn't it? I just don't know if, unlike nearly EVERY miche game before it , it was given to the most sympathetic reviewers. that isn' to say that's the case here as we may just disagree but it's something I do think jhas happened a lot more for this game than any other I can think of since IP itself! Anyhow, GR, I respect your opinion but cannot agree with it and find myself thinking, yet again, that the whole review process is defunct-let alone the act of adding a score to "go" by. Everyomne uses a differewnt scale and often not even numbers. People give average games a seven, give "safe" sevens and all of that. Even though just the words here maay habve felt harsher I still have the nioggling thought that without the need for numbers at the end we'd have a better review nine times out of ten. Whatever, I woul tell most gamers that trying out HR is something that, even if you don't find blows you away, is well worth looking at. It may well be something tht cleanes your palette for more hectic games agan or might be just the more thoughtful thing you needed. Who can really tell? Whatever, it's a quality piece of work and something that I think will surprise a lot of gamers if they're brave enough to give it a go wih an open mind.
  • cazman619 - February 10, 2010 9:38 p.m.

    The fact that some will hate it and some will love it, leaves me to think that Nathan Irvine should have handled this review. It's such a niche game that it should be given to someone who is genuinely interested in it from the outset. If this is already the case then I take back my previous point. I am not taking any notice of the score, but I know many people will... and from the comments, it's put some people off the game entirely. I urge those people to read other reviews. It's been getting some really positive reviews all over. I also think the love/hate section at the end of the review is inconsistent. If it's emotional and engrossing... then it has done it's job. It tells a story. And if it engrossed you, then it shouldn't be a worry. Again, this is not about the score. A 7 is good. This is about my thoughts on perhaps the wrong reviewer and also some inconsistencies in the review.
  • DriveShaft - February 10, 2010 9:43 p.m.

    Glad that you summed it up at the end with the 'better than Indigo Prophecy', I'm a fan of it - but it also suffered from bad dialogue, plot holes and such. Once I Play the demo of Heavy Rain I'll decide whether I should rent it or buy it, I've been looking forward to this for a good 4 years so I hope it isn't a real letdown.
  • CAPST3R - February 10, 2010 10:13 p.m.

    This game was a stupid move by the developers, hopefully the industry will learn from this. Game players like the on-edge interactivity of the game. This, however, provides an interactive film. You'll get that from any trailer or review. Sure, some might be interested, but this new genre alsmost certainly won't catch on. It might have caught on if everything you did changed some of the future, i.e realism, but this is just a multiple choice, with no real affect on anything (those 2 trailers showed an ending with the same script). If this is ever going to succeed, it will need some extreme amounts of realism, both in effects of actions, and graphics. In games, it seems that whenever a player picks something up, it sticks to them.
  • Pocotron - February 10, 2010 10:29 p.m.

    Wait. Why does this sound familiar? *cough* inFamous *cough* JUSTSAYINLOL
  • garnsr - February 10, 2010 10:39 p.m.

    I'm often amazed at how much effort must go into making just a few things in a game really be affected by a players actions, I don't know how they could make several games worth of diverging stories based on what you do (I'd love to see it, though.) Some people will like this, some won't, but it's always good to have games that aren't just what's selling bets at the moment. We'd never have gotten so many FPSs if someone hadn't tried to make them in the first place. There's always room for something less popular, it doesn't stop the makers of best sellers from continuing to make them. I still think I'll pick this up, it's the sort of thing that PS3 has done fairly well in the last few years, giving us choices in games that aren't entirely for the masses.

Showing 1-20 of 125 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 23 2010 - PS3 (US)
Feb 26 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Quantic Dream
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
16+